Mexico WRC: Latvala continues to dominate, Mikkelsen out

Rally Mexico leader Jari-Matti Latvala went unbeaten in the three main stages of Saturday's afternoon loop.

Latvala's lead, as such, has risen to 1m36.3s over Sebastien Ogier as a result, the Frenchman insisting, admittedly, that he is not fighting for the win anymore.

"The fight is out, all I can do now is finish the rally," said Ogier. "There's nothing more for me to get now. Tomorrow, of course, I'm going to push for the Power Stage points."

Dani Sordo continued to produce consistent performances and his overall third place was cemented when Andreas Mikkelsen went off the road and retired in SS15.

M-Sport driver Mads Ostberg and Hyundai's Hayden Paddon both moved up to fourth and fifth as a result, separated by almost a minute.

Dmack's Ott Tanak and privateer Martin Prokop held sixth and seventh respectively, with only the top seven now within less than 10 minutes behind Latvala.

Lorenzo Bertelli, dominant WRC2 leader Teemu Suninen and Valeriy Gorban on the the old Mini Cooper WRC machine completed the top 10.

There are now five stages to go in Rally Mexico, with three short super-special runs on Saturday evening followed by the mammoth 80km Guanajuato and the 16km Power Stage on Sunday.

Standings after SS16:

Pos. Driver / Co-Driver Car Time/Delay

 Jari-Matti Latvala

 Miikka Anttila

VW 3h22m44.8s

 Sebastien Ogier

 Julien Ingrassia

VW 1m36.3s
3  Dani Sordo

 Marc Marti

Hyundai 2m41.6s

 Mads Ostberg

 Ola Floene

Ford 4m46.3s

 Hayden Paddon

 John Kennard

Hyundai 5m41.5s

 Ott Tanak

 Raigo Molder

Ford 7m47.1s

 Martin Prokop

 Jan Tomanek

Ford 9m21.8s

 Lorenzo Bertelli

 Simone Scattolin

Ford 10m17.4s

 Teemu Suninen

 Mikko Markkula

Skoda 12m20.6s

Valeriy Gorban

Volodymyr Korsia

Mini 27m38.1s
Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series WRC
Event Rally Mexico
Sub-event Leg two
Drivers Jari-Matti Latvala
Teams Volkswagen Motorsport
Article type Leg report