Kubica, Bouffier headline entry list for Monte Carlo

Former Formula 1 driver Robert Kubica will return to the World Rally Championship in the season-opening Rally Monte Carlo despite uncertainty having surrounded his future at the end of the 2015 season.

The Polish racer had expressed his desire to stay in the championship but has not confirmed his 2016 plans and a full-time campaign is still yet to be announced, despite his upcoming participation in Monaco.

Kubica will continue to pilot a Ford Fiesta alongside co-driver Maciej Szczepaniak, the duo making up one of the 14 WRC entries.

Monaco specialist Bryan Bouffier will enter the event with M-Sport for the third year in a row, joining Mads Ostberg and WRC debutant Eric Camilli at the team, while Ott Tanak and Lorenzo Bertelli will also drive Fords.

As expected, Volkswagen and Hyundai both start the season with unchanged trios, while Kris Meeke and Stephane Lefebvre will run in Citroens for Abu Dhabi Total WRT.

The WRC2 field sees an increase in numbers with 16 drivers starting in the category, including Elfyn Evans, who was unable to secure a seat in the main class for the season opener, and JWRC champion Quentin Gilbert.

Former WRC frontrunner Francois Delecour, Finnish rising star Esapekka Lappi and Max Vatanen are among other notable drivers entered into the event.

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series WRC
Event Rally Monte Carlo
Drivers Robert Kubica , Bryan Bouffier
Article type Breaking news