Kris Meeke, Paul Nagle and Citroën on podium in Argentina

Third of the Rallye Monte-Carlo early in the season, Kris Meeke and Paul Nagle put again their Citroën DS3 WRC podium on Rally Argentina.

Wounded in the hand by a return to flying in SS9 yesterday afternoon Mads Østberg began the day trying to withstand the pain. Suffering preventing it from defending his chances, the Norwegian was arrested after SS12, in agreement with the team.

Entrenched in third place since Friday, Kris Meeke and Paul Nagle followed their clearly established strategy making no mistakes. And they were dropping a second podium with the Citroën DS3 WRC.

After the fifth round, Mads Østberg sharing third place (48 points) World Championship Rally. With this podium, Kris Meeke takes the sixth position (32 points). The Citroën Total World Rally Team Abu Dhabi consolidates his second place in the constructors' standings.

The next event will be held from 6 to 8 June in Sardinia.

Kris Meeke: "I really wanted to get a good result on Rally Argentina. I used to ride as accurately as possible to take no risk. I used every second to me for me to reach the finish. It was difficult but this is fantastic. I dedicate it to all members of the team. They trusted me. I had them! "

Mads Østberg: "Yesterday, in the penultimate stage, I took a back wheel in the right hand. We tried to continue today despite the injury. By serving me with my left hand, it was too dangerous and too painful. It was not safe to continue. We spoke with the team and we decided to stop after the first pass. "

Marek Nawarecki (Deputy Team Principal Citroën Racing): "It was a particularly difficult rally. Kris discovered Argentina in the World Championship. He assimilated special, validated his notes and found a good rhythm. Once he moved to third place, he remarkably managed its position on the podium. Mads on the first tests show that his injury is not too serious. He will enter a recovery period to prepare the Rally Sardinia. The aim now is to see both teams display the same regularity in the vanguard at the next round. "


ES11- Giulio Cesare - Mina Clavero 1 (22.07 km) - By opening the road on a very slippery surface, Mikko Hirvonen signed the first fastest time of the day. Latvala accentuated their lead 16 seconds ahead of the rally. Through the fog, Kris Meeke kept his position while Mads Østberg ensured despite severe pain in his right hand.

SS12 - El Condor - Copina 1 (16.32 km) - No change overall in the first pass through El Condor. Mikko Hirvonen was fastest while Kris Meeke and Mads Østberg retained their position again.

SS13 - Giulio Cesare - Mina Clavero 2 (22.07 km) - Always first on the road, Mikko Hirvonen was the scratch. Mads Østberg did not take the start and returned directly to the service park to treat his injured hand.

SS14 - El Condor Power Stage (16.32 km) - Still in a fog, Sébastien Ogier scored three more points by being the fastest of the Power Stage to Mikko Hirvonen and Jari-Matti Latvala, winner of the rally. Seventh of the last lap, Kris Meeke could celebrate his first podium on earth.


1. Jari-Matti Latvala / Miikka Anttila (Volkswagen Polo R WRC) 4:41:24.8
2. Sébastien Ogier / Julien Ingrassia (Volkswagen Polo R WRC) +1:26.9
3. Kris Meeke / Paul Nagle (Citroën DS3 WRC) +5:54.7
4. Andreas Mikkelsen / Mikko Markkula (Volkswagen Polo R WRC) +6:18.3
Thierry Neuville 5 / Nicolas Gilsoul (Hyundai i20 WRC) +8:25.8.
6. Robert Kubica / Maciej Szczepaniak (Ford Fiesta RS WRC) +10:08.0
Elfyn Evans 7 / Daniel Barritt (Ford Fiesta RS WRC) +10:32.2.
/ 8. Martin Prokop January Tomanek (Ford Fiesta RS WRC) +12:03.9
/ Jarmo Lehtinen 9. Mikko Hirvonen (Ford Fiesta RS WRC) +19:54.8
10. Nasser Al-Attiyah / Giovanni Bernacchini (Ford Fiesta RRC) +23:10.2 ...


Jari-Matti Latvala 5, 4 Sebastien Ogier, Mikko Hirvonen 3, Andreas Mikkelsen and Thierry Neuville 1.


ES 1 and 2, 4 Sébastien Ogier
ES 3, 5-14 (arrival): Jari-Matti Latvala


1. Sebastien Ogier 112 items
2. Jari-Matti Latvala 88 points
3. Mads Østberg and Mikkelsen 48 points
Mikko Hirvonen 40 points 5.
6. Kris Meeke 32 points
Thierry Neuville items 7. 31
8. Elfyn Evans 26 points ...


1. Volkswagen Motorsport 187 points
2. Citroën Total World Rally Team Abu Dhabi 90 points
3. M-Sport World Rally Team 68 points
4. Shell Hyundai World Rally Team 55 points
Volkswagen Motorsport II 52 points 5.
6. Jipocar ​​Czech National Team 24 Points
RK M-Sport World Rally Team Points. 7 12

Citroën Racing

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series WRC
Drivers Kris Meeke , Jari-Matti Latvala , Mikko Hirvonen , Robert Kubica , Nasser Al-Attiyah , Jarmo Lehtinen , Miikka Anttila , Giovanni Bernacchini , Mikko Markkula , Daniel Barritt , Paul Nagle , Martin Prokop , Andreas Mikkelsen , Sébastien Ogier , Julien Ingrassia , Thierry Neuville , Nicolas Gilsoul , Elfyn Evans
Teams Citroën World Rally Team , M-Sport , Volkswagen Motorsport
Article type Race report
Tags argentina, citroen, kris meeke, paul nagle, wrc