2015 WRC format changes rejected, schedule revealed

The 2015 WRC schedule was released along with F1 today.

The proposal regarding the addition of a final shootout stage in the WRC is not happening to the surprise of many insiders.

The idea was supposed to take the top three drivers and place them in a one-stage fight for the overall win to end it, which is known as the 'powerstage.' The remaining positions would be decided in a similar fashion with the battles for fourth, seventh, and tenth all being made up by groups of three. The concept for a final-stage dash was conceived out of the notion that WRC needs more nail-bitters to end their rallies.

The controversial concept has infuriated many traditional rally fans and racers alike, so now the FIA has decided to trash those plans. The official 2015 schedule has been announced as well; there are no new events.

Rally 2, which is the regulation allowing retired competitors the chance to restart the following leg (pending technical approval), is now included in the Monte-Carlo event. The system was previously utilized in every event with the exception of the season-opener.

25 January - Rally Monte-Carlo *

15 February - Rally Sweden

08 March - Rally Mexico

19 April - Rally Argentina

24 May - Rally Portugal

14 June - Rally Italy

05 July - Rally Poland

02 August - Rally Finland

23 August - Rally Germany *

13 September - Rally Australia

04 October - Rally France *

25 October - Rally Spain

15 November - Rally Great Britain

* Subject to Promotion Agreement

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series WRC
Article type Breaking news