2015 World RX boasts increased teams entry

Six two-car teams contested last year’s inaugural 12-round World RX – a number which has swelled to eight teams for 2015.

IMG is delighted to announce a significant increase in the number of teams contesting the FIA World Rallycross Championship presented by Monster Energy.

Six two-car teams contested last year’s inaugural 12-round World RX – a number which has swelled to eight teams for 2015 as the burgeoning championship further lives up to its reputation as the world’s fastest growing major international motor sport series.

Topping the teams entered into all 13-rounds of the expanded 2015 World RX is defending champion Petter Solberg’s own SDRX organisation. 2014 Team Champions Olsbergs MSE AB returns with its Ford Fiestas and joined in the entry by, Marklund Motorsport and Team Peugeot-Hansen, which also won rounds in 2014.

World RX just gets stronger and stronger,

Martin Anayi

This proven quartet now is joined by four ambitious new teams all seeking success of their own: World RX Team Austria; Volkswagen Team Sweden; ALL-INKL Münnich Motorsport and EKS. Adding to the competition and spectacle, these eight teams will be joined by two individual entries that will be contesting the entire calendar and thus eligible for points in the Drivers’ World Championship. Robin Larsson has already confirmed his participation and a further single-car entry will be announced shortly.

In total, 18 entries – up from 15 in 2014 – will compete for World Championship honours in 2015. No fewer than five major automotive brands – Audi, Citroen, Ford, Peugeot and Volkswagen – are represented in the enlarged entry, too.

The eight teams will contest the coveted FIA World Rallycross Teams Championship, but the drivers’ championship is also open to ‘wild card’ and privateer entries meaning the World RX regulars will face additional competition at most events.

“World RX just gets stronger and stronger,” confirmed Martin Anayi, World RX Managing Director for IMG. “The Championship got off to an incredibly fast start in 2014 and we are now building on that considerable success. In recent weeks we have announced massively increased television figures as well as exciting new rounds at prominent circuits such as Hockenheim and Barcelona. Now we can add a significantly increased number of competing teams to that flourishing list of really positive news stories.”

The eagerly anticipated 2015 Championship blasts off in Portugal later this month and includes rounds at renowned F1 venues Hockenheim, Barcelona and Istanbul as well as at the sport’s spiritual home, Lydden Hill in the UK. Other countries visited are Belgium, Sweden, Canada, Norway, France, Italy and, finally, Argentina.

2015 FIA World Rallycross Championship for teams

ALL-INKL Münnich Motorsport    Audi S3
EKS                                                    Audi S1
Marklund Motorsport                   Volkswagen Polo
Oslbergs MSE AB                            Ford Fiesta ST
SDRX                                                Citroen DS3
Team Peugeot-Hanson                 Peugeot 208
Volkswagen Team Sweden           Volkswagen Polo
World RX Team Austria                 Ford Fiesta

FIA World Rallycross Championship

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series World Rallycross
Drivers Petter Solberg
Article type Breaking news
Tags audi, citroen, ford fiesta, peugeot, volkswagen