World of Outlaws at Dixie Speedway on Saturday, April 10th

Mark Kinser Completes Dixie Speedway Sweep By Richard Day WOODSTOCK, GA (April 10) - Georgia hasn't been on Mark Kinser's mind very often in his racing career, but he has fond memories of the state. ...

Mark Kinser Completes Dixie Speedway Sweep By Richard Day WOODSTOCK, GA (April 10) - Georgia hasn't been on Mark Kinser's mind very often in his racing career, but he has fond memories of the state. Kinser, who shared the 1984 Pennzoil World of Outlaws Series Rookie award with Greg Wooley, won his first "A" Feature at Lanier Speedway in Gainesville on March 24, 1985. He added to those memories Saturday by completing his sweep of a rain-delayed, double-feature event at Dixie Speedway. The feature program was originally scheduled for March 13th. "I'd like to thank (track owner) Mike (Swims) and his crew," Mark said graciously. "He has a nice facility and this was the best I've ever seen this track." The #5M Mopar Maxim, prepared by Mark's father, 15-time Pennzoil World of Outlaws Series champion Karl Kinser, was as strong as it's been all season. Mark won the Channellock Dash for the right to start on the pole and led all 30 laps in the "A" Feature. Mark's third main event victory of the season pushed him to within one point of second place in the point standings. Kinser burst into the lead as the green flag fell in the "A" Feature. Cousin Steve Kinser took over second place late in the opening lap by passing outside polesitter Joey Saldana with a low move in turn three. Rookie Travis Whitney brought out the caution flag late in the second lap when he took his family's #7S Aamco Transmissions Maxim for a spin in the fourth corner. Vivarin Fast-Time Award winner Tyler Walker took the low line into turn one to pass Saldana for third place within seconds after the race resumed. Stevie Smith, who started inside the fourth row, relegated Saldana to fifth with a fourth-corner pass later in lap three. Terry McCarl and Craig Dollansky collided in turn four late in the sixth lap. McCarl was uninjured in the crash, but lost 10th place and was unable to restart the race. Third NAPA Auto Parts Heat Race winner Sammy Swindell took the low line between the third and fourth corners to pass Saldana for seventh place late in lap nine. Dollansky brought out the caution flag again with a turn-four spin the next time around. Swindell collided with 17th-starting Andy Hillenburg in the second corner early in lap 11, allowing Donny Schatz to pass them both and take over seventh place. The collision damaged the #1 Channellock Stealth and caused Swindell to fade for several laps. Mark was a full straightaway ahead of Steve when he entered lapped traffic midway through the race. Steve drove his #11 Quaker State Maxim to within eight car-lengths in dense traffic eight laps later. Steve narrowed the gap to four car-lengths, but had problems passing several backmarkers in turn four late in the 25th lap. Mark took advantage and quickly opened a 15-car-length lead. Walker steered his family's #35 Air Sep Maxim to the deepest point in the second corner early in lap 27 to pass "The King of the Outlaws" for the runner-up spot. Tyler was racing through turn four when Mark took the checkered flag. "The Mopar car was really good tonight - really comfortable," Mark said. "The traffic was tough, but we were able to keep the car under us and get through. My crew made the right choices with the chassis and tires all night long." Steve's third-place finish gave him a 14-point lead over Danny Lasoski in their battle for the lead in the Pennzoil World of Outlaws Series point standings. Smith finished fourth, ahead of Johnny Herrera, Schatz, Second NAPA Auto Parts Heat Race winner Daryn Pittman, Hillenburg, Joe Gaerte and Lasoski. Jeff Swindell, the 18th-fastest qualifier, raced into 15th place from outside the 11th row to maintain his slim advantage over brother Sammy in the standings. Walker received his first Vivarin Fast-Time Award of the year after pacing the qualifying session with a 12.365-second lap around the high-banked, 3/8-mile oval. The 109.179-m.p.h. lap lowered the single-lap record Mark Kinser set March 12th by .763 seconds. Next on the Pennzoil World of Outlaws Series schedule is a $42,100 event at Bloomington Speedway Wednesday. From Steve Kinser's hometown, the series heads to Kentucky Lake Motor Speedway in Calvert City, KY, Friday, then to West Plains Motor Speedway Saturday. WoO

1999 Pennzoil World of Outlaws Series Dixie Speedway, Woodstock, GA Saturday, April 10, Feature Program #8

Vivarin Qualifications: 1. Tyler Walker, Walker 35, 12.365 (new single-lap record); 2. Terry McCarl, McCarl 24, 12.378; 3. Stevie Smith, Smith 19, 12.483; 4. Dale Blaney, Hylton/Blaney 93, 12.491; 5. Joe Gaerte, Holbrook 8H, 12.503; 6. Danny Lasoski, Roth 83, 12.512; 7. Donny Schatz, Schatz 15, 12.526; 8. Daryn Pittman, Sonner 47, 12.648; 9. Sammy Swindell, Swindell 1, 12.677; 10. Jimmy Carr, Blevins 21, 12.694; 11. Brooke Tatnell, Tatnell 7K, 12.827; 12. Frankie Kerr, Shoff 23S, 12.888; 13. Andy Hillenburg, Hillenburg 2, 12.910; 14. Tim Shaffer, Helm 11H, 12.916; 15. Travis Whitney, Whitney 7S, 12.951; 16. Craig Dollansky, Dollansky 7, 13.047; 17. Jeff Shepard, L&L Racing 4J, 13.053; 18. Jeff Swindell, Two Winners 104+, 13.133; 19. Johnny Bridges, Bridges 07, 13.627; 20. Randy Helton, Helton 27, 14.547; 21. Pete Walton, Walton 10, no time. First NAPA Auto Parts Heat Race (10 laps): 1. Frankie Kerr, 2. Danny Lasoski, 3. Andy Hillenburg, 4. Tyler Walker, 5. Craig Dollansky, 6. Johnny Bridges, 7. Donny Schatz. (first seven qualified for the "A" Feature) Second NAPA Auto Parts Heat Race (10 laps): 1. Daryn Pittman, 2. Brooke Tatnell, 3. Joe Gaerte, 4. Terry McCarl, 5. Randy Helton, 6. Tim Shaffer, 7. Jeff Shepard. (first seven qualified for the "A" Feature) Third NAPA Auto Parts Heat Race (10 laps): 1. Sammy Swindell, 2. Stevie Smith, 3. Jimmy Carr, 4. Dale Blaney, 5. Jeff Swindell, 6. Travis Whitney, 7. Pete Walton. (first seven qualified for the "A" Feature) Finishing 1-4 in the March 12th Preliminary Feature automatically qualified Mark Kinser, Joey Saldana, Steve Kinser and Johnny Herrera for the first four starting positions in the Channellock Dash. Channellock Dash (seven laps): 1. Mark Kinser, 2. Steve Kinser, 3. Joey Saldana, 4. Tyler Walker, 5. Johnny Herrera, 6. Terry McCarl. (finish determined the first six starting positions in the "A" Feature) A Feature (30 laps): 1. Mark Kinser ($10,000); 2. Tyler Walker ($6,000); 3. Steve Kinser ($3,500); 4. Stevie Smith ($3,200); 5. Johnny Herrera ($3,000); 6. Donny Schatz ($2,500); 7. Daryn Pittman ($2,300); 8. Andy Hillenburg ($2,200); 9. Joe Gaerte ($2,100); 10. Danny Lasoski ($2,050); 11. Joey Saldana ($2,000); 12. Dale Blaney ($1,600); 13. Frankie Kerr ($1,500); 14. Sammy Swindell ($1,200); 15. Jeff Swindell ($1,100); 16. Jimmy Carr ($1,000); 17. Tim Shaffer ($900); 18. Johnny Bridges ($700); 19. Jeff Shepard ($700); 20. Craig Dollansky ($700); 21. Brooke Tatnell ($700); 22. Pete Walton ($700); 23. Travis Whitney ($700); 24. Randy Helton ($700); 25. Terry McCarl ($700). Lap leader: Mark Kinser 1-30 Vivarin Fast-Time Award winner: Tyler Walker WoO

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series World of Outlaws
Drivers Andy Hillenburg , Tim Shaffer , Mark Kinser , Danny Lasoski , Donny Schatz , Steve Kinser , Sammy Swindell , Craig Dollansky , Tyler Walker , Brooke Tatnell , Daryn Pittman , Joey Saldana , Johnny Herrera , Jeff Swindell