Williams Grove Summer Nationals Friday rained out

Conclusion of Summer Nationals' Second Night At Williams Grove Pushed to Saturday Mechanicsburg, PA -- July 22, 2005 -- Heavy thunderstorms Friday night at Williams Grove Speedway gave way to intermittent rain and forced the conclusion of the ...

Conclusion of Summer Nationals' Second Night At Williams Grove Pushed to Saturday

Mechanicsburg, PA -- July 22, 2005 -- Heavy thunderstorms Friday night at Williams Grove Speedway gave way to intermittent rain and forced the conclusion of the second night of the Cleveland Brothers Summer Nationals to be pushed to Saturday.

The B-main and the A-main from Night Two will be run before the full program on Saturday, which contains heats, a B-main, the Stacker 2® Dash and the $20,000-to-win main event. Qualifying points will be tallied following the conclusion of the delayed second-night events to set the field for the finale.

Craig Dollansky and Paul McMahan captured the Dashes Friday night and will start on the front row in the delayed preliminary feature.

After the first night of competition, preliminary feature winner Jason Johnson unofficially led Steve Kinser by nine qualifying points in an effort to race into one of the top four positions in the Stacker 2® Dash to set the top six spots in the A-feature Saturday night.


* A three-night event requires a unique scoring system. Teams earn qualifying points during the first two programs, with the top four in qualifying points after the second preliminary feature locked into the first four starting positions of the finale's Stacker 2® Dash. The remainder of the field will be placed into heat races, lined up according to qualifying points with no inversion. Of the heat race cars, the highest two in qualifying points that transfer from the heats will start fifth and sixth in the Stacker 2® Dash. Starting positions 7-24 in the A-feature will be lined up according to qualifying points from the first two nights. Also, teams can't use provisionals in either of the preliminary features.

* Steve Kinser, the Outlaws points leader, paced the 42 cars that went through time trials Friday with a lap around the paperclip half-mile oval in 17.132 seconds at 105.067 mph. It was the fifth time this season Kinser has led the field in time trials. Kraig Kinser returned to action and posted the third fastest lap in time trials one night after a broken fuel line ignited his car and left him with a severely burned left thumb. Brian Paulus set the record of 16.140 seconds on April 26, 2002.

* Heat race winners included Greg Hodnett, Mark Smith, Tim Shaffer and Jason Solwold.

* Tim Shaffer's victory Tuesday night in the Silver Cup was third of the season, going with wins Lake Ozark Speedway and Thunderbowl Raceway. Steve Kinser earned his series-leading 14th A-feature victory Saturday night by winning the Kings Royal. Kinser also has a preliminary feature win this season in the Eagle Nationals at Eagle Raceway. When Stevie Smith took the checkered flag at Attica Raceway Park, he became the 14th different A-feature winner this season. Kraig Kinser won his fourth A-feature of the season in June at Knoxville Raceway. He also has a preliminary feature win at Las Vegas. Jason Meyers earned his fourth win of the season July 2 at Red River Valley Speedway in West Fargo, N.D. Donny Schatz also has four A-feature victories, at Parramatta, Las Vegas and Houston and Joliet, Ill. Brian Paulus won June 28 at Huset's Speedway for his second victory of the season, and picked up a preliminary feature win in the following race at Red River Valley Speedway. Sammy Swindell won his second A-feature of the season June 4 at Eldora Speedway. Swindell also has a preliminary feature win April 8 at Eldora. Craig Dollansky has won two features, most recently at Powercom Park, and he also has two preliminary feature wins. Single-event winners include Tim Kaeding June 11 at Sheboygan County Fair Park, Daryn Pittman April 23 at 81 Speedway in Wichita, Brooke Tatnell July 4 at Cedar Lake Speedway, Chad Kemenah July 9 at I-55 Raceway, and Jeff Shepard Feb. 11 at Volusia Speedway Park. In Preliminary Features, Danny Lasoski has won twice, Joey Saldana and Jason Johnson have won once.

* Williams Grove Speedway is a half-mile oval. Including preliminary features, the series has raced 21 times this year on half-mile circuits with Steve Kinser winning six times (Volusia, Eldora three times, Knoxville and Williams Grove), Sammy Swindell winning three times (twice at Eldora, once at Hagerstown), Craig Dollansky winning twice (Manzanita and Williams Grove), Kraig Kinser winning twice (Las Vegas, Knoxville), Jason Meyers winning twice (Granite City and Red River Valley), Donny Schatz winning twice (Las Vegas and Route 66 Raceway), and Brian Paulus (Red River Valley), Danny Lasoski (Knoxville), Jeff Shepard (Volusia) and Jason Johnson (Williams Grove) each winning once.

* The Outlaws return Saturday to Williams Grove Speedway to finish off Friday's program before competing in the finale of the Cleveland Brothers Summer Nationals. Afterward, the series heads north for a one-night event July 25 at Fulton Speedway in Fulton, N.Y., then returns to Michigan for an SLS Promotions race July 27 at Hartford Speedway Park, before heading to Minnesota for the July 29-30 SLS Promotions' Princeton National.

* The Outdoor Channel will air at 8 p.m. (ET) July 27 and Aug. 3 all of last weekend's action from Eldora Speedway. The Outdoor Channel will then broadcast the Silver Cup at 8 p.m. (ET) on Aug. 10. The Outdoor Channel will air the Cleveland Brothers Summer Nationals from Williams Grove at 8 p.m. (ET) on Aug. 17.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series World of Outlaws
Drivers Tim Shaffer , Danny Lasoski , Donny Schatz , Steve Kinser , Sammy Swindell , Craig Dollansky , Brian Paulus , Brooke Tatnell , Daryn Pittman , Jason Meyers , Joey Saldana , Kraig Kinser , Paul McMahan , Chad Kemenah , Tim Kaeding , Jason Johnson
Teams Williams