Wild Wild Northwest Tour Grays Harbor 2000-08-19

Wild Wild Northwest Tour - Pennzoil World of Outlaws Series Grays Harbor Raceway Park - Elma, WA August 19, 2000 Although the opening race of the Wild Wild Northwest Tour Pennzoil World of Outlaws Series at Grays Harbor Raceway Park in...

Wild Wild Northwest Tour - Pennzoil World of Outlaws Series
Grays Harbor Raceway Park - Elma, WA August 19, 2000

Although the opening race of the Wild Wild Northwest Tour Pennzoil World of Outlaws Series at Grays Harbor Raceway Park in Elma, WA on Friday was rained out, the fans were rewarded with some great racing as Memphis, TN great Sammy Swindell passed a hard running Randy Hannagan of San Jose, CA just past the mid-point of the 25 lap feature event to go on to the win. Swindell, who won the preliminary night race in 1999, and pole sitter Joey Saldana charged hard into the first turn at the green flag. Swindell got up on the berm and pitched sideways exiting turn two, getting together with Joey Saldana and sending Saldana flipping down the backstretch, collecting Tim Shaffer as well as the red flag flew. Shaffer and Saldana were done for the night. On the restart, Hannagan took the lead with Swindell seldom more than 3 to 4 car lengths behind as they raced around the three-eighths mile clay oval. Mark Kinser, who went from 6th to 3rd in two laps, made the top three a tight group as the field started to string out behind. A lap 9 red for Brian Paulus, who flipped in the first turn, closed the field but Hannagan again opened a small lead as Kinser moved on Swindell for the next three laps. Swindell and Hannagan were nearly even down the back chute and through turns three and four on lap 15 with Swindell taking the lead just before the finish line. On the 21st lap Kinser managed to get under Hannagan and took control of second place as they exited turn four. With the leaders in heavy traffic, Jac Haudenschild was hot on Daryn Pittman as they diced for fourth place close behind Hannagan as Stevie Smith and Donny Schatz trailed close behind. Entering turn three just 3laps from the checkered flag, Hannagan tangled with Shannon Wheatly and could only watch as Haudenschild, Pittman, Smith and Schatz sped by dropping him from third to seventh. Although Kinser closed to within less than a couple of car lengths in the corners in the final three laps, Swindell was not to be headed and went on to the preliminary night’s feature event win. Shawna Wilskey of Lake Stevens, WA was the night’s highest finishing local driver as she took the B-main win and then went on to finish 17th in the A-main. Just a couple of laps from the end of the race Wilskey and Chad Hillier gave the crowd a show when they did synchronized 360’s while running 1st and 2nd and kept on running with Wilskey keeping the lead and Hillier dropping one spot to third. At the start of the race Jay Cole and Rob Johnson got together at the start/finish line with Johnson out for the night. Cole continued but pitted late in the race with a flat tire. The Channellock Dash win went to Saldana over Swindell, Hannagan, Greg Hodnett and Haudenschild in the first five. The nights opening race was a fast paced 10 laps that had Hodnett taking the NAPA Heat one win with Danny Lasoski, M. Kinser, Dale Blaney and Shannon Wheatley also getting transfers to the feature. NAPA Heat two went to Saldana as Andy Hillenburg, Johnny Herrera, Shaffer and Pittman trailed in A-main transfer positions. As the third NAPA Heat got underway, Steve Kinser and Jac Haudenschild got together on the back straight, with Kinser spinning as Haudenschild nailed the throttle to straighten out his bouncing sprinter. Kinser restarted at the back and came back to a transfer spot by taking fifth. Haudenschild spun on lap 5 but recovered and held onto a fourth place finish as Jimmy Carr and Danny Wood went to 3rd and 4th. The final NAPA Heat race was very close with Sammy Swindell's last lap pass of Stevie Smith putting him on the pole in the Channellock Dash. Schatz, Dean Jacobs and Paulus collected the other transfer positions. Fast qualifier for the evening was Mark Kinser, who blasted to a new track record with a 12.173 second trip around the clay oval.


Fast Time - Mark Kinser 12.173 New Track Record

Heat 1 (8 laps) - Greg Hodnett, Danny Lasoski, Mark Kinser, Dale Blaney, Shannon Wheatly, Chad Hillier, Kirk Haefs, Donny Fry, Shawn Rice. (Top 5 finishers transferred to the feature).

Heat 2 (8 laps) - Joey Saldana, Andy Hillenburg, Johnny Herrera, Tim Shaffer, Daryn Pittman, Doug Lippencott, Glenn Borden, Jr., Jayme Barnes, Dan Dunlap. (Top 5 finishers transferred to the feature).

Heat 3 (8 laps) - Randy Hannagan, Jimmy Carr, Danny Wood, Jac Haudenschild, Steve Kinser, Greg Brown, Barry Martinez, Kirk Fellers, Rob Johnson. (Top 5 finishers transferred to the feature).

Heat 4 (8 laps) - Sammy Swindel, Stevie Smith, Donny Schatz, Dean Jacobs, Brian Paulus, Shawna Wilskey, Trevon Wilson, Steve Walker, John Tharp, Jay Cole. (Top 5 finishers transferred to the feature).

Dash (6 laps) - . Saldana, Swindell, Hannagan, Hodnett, Haudenschild, M. Kinser, Pittman, Schatz, Lasoski, Hillenburg. (Finishing order determined top 10 positions in the A-main.)

B-Main - Wilskey, Fellers, Hillier, Brown, Dunlap, Borden, Jr., Lippencott, Wilson, Haefs, Martinez, Walker, Tharp, Rice, Cole, Dunlap, Barnes, Johnson, Jeff Thompson.(12 laps)

A-main (25 laps) - Swindell, M. Kinser, Haudenschild, Schatz, Pittman, Smith, Hannagan, Blaney, Herrera, Hillenburg, Hodnett, S. Kinser, Lasoski, Wood, Jacobs, Carr, Wilskey, Hillier, Wheatly, Fellers, Paulus, Brown, Saldana, Shaffer.

Lap leaders: Randy Hannagan 1-14, Sammy Swindell 15 - 25

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series World of Outlaws
Drivers Andy Hillenburg , Tim Shaffer , Shawna Wilskey , Mark Kinser , Danny Lasoski , Donny Schatz , Steve Kinser , Sammy Swindell , Brian Paulus , Daryn Pittman , Dean Jacobs , Joey Saldana , Randy Hannagan , Jac Haudenschild , Johnny Herrera