Wild West Northwest Tour Grays Harbor 2000-08-20

Wild Wild Northwest Tour - Pennzoil World of Outlaws Series Grays Harbor Raceway Park - Elma, WA August 20, 2000 Mark Kinser is beginning to make the Pennzoil World of Outlaws Series running in the 2000 Wild Wild Northwest Tour look like...

Wild Wild Northwest Tour - Pennzoil World of Outlaws Series
Grays Harbor Raceway Park - Elma, WA August 20, 2000

Mark Kinser is beginning to make the Pennzoil World of Outlaws Series running in the 2000 Wild Wild Northwest Tour look like 1999 all over again. After winning the tours opening race in Billings, MT, Kinser then nailed down the Saturday night feature event win at Grays Harbor Raceway Park in Elma, WA with Sammy Swindell, the Friday night preliminary winner. The year 2000 is an exact repeat as the Oolitic, IN driver once again stepped into the winner’s circle after a tightly contested battle among the top three positions, mostly with Friday night’s preliminary winner, Swindell. Mark Kinser took the lead at the green to go the entire 40 lap distance on the point in a race slowed only by two early yellows. The first flew when Donny Schatz and Andy Hillenburg tangled while racing for 6th on lap 2. Hillenburg spun and collected Greg Hodnett to receive enough damage to put the #2 out for the night while Hodnett restarted. The leaders were back in traffic within four laps as Swindell dogged Kinser for second as Steve Kinser worked to hold on to third as Stevie Smith put the pressure on “The King’ for the spot until lap 9 saw another yellow with the cars of Hodnett and Dean Jacobs parked in the fourth turn. Within four laps the leaders were again back in the thick of traffic as Swindell continually closed the gap in the corners only to have M. Kinser open a small lead on the straights. Mid-race, S. Kinser closed on Swindell in heavy traffic as Smith was slowly reeling them both in. At the end of lap 26 Steve had but inches over Smith at the line and heading onto the back straight it was Smith in third with S. Kinser fourth. While the battle was on for the lead, and equally exciting run mid pack was being made for 10th through 16th between Brian Paulus, Shawna Wilskey, Dale Blaney, Joey Saldana, Danny Lasoski and Randy Hannagan. Much to the delight of the local fans, Wilskey maintained position through out the race and pressured Blaney several times for his 11th place position. As the final 10 laps went into the books, the top three were seldom far apart as M. Kinser continued to be able to out pull Swindell out of the corners as Smith kept trying to get past Swindell. On the last lap, Smith squeezed under Swindell as the went into turn one. Swindell tried to cut him off, but Smith held his line, they bumped and Smith had the spot out of the corner. Another five laps may have given Smith a chance at the leading Kinser, but it was not to happen as Mark went on to become the only two time Outlaws feature night winner at Grays Harbor Raceway Park. At the checkered flag the top six read M. Kinser, Smith, Swindell, S. Kinser, Jac Haudenschild and Danny Wood. The B-main event went yellow on the second lap when Kirk Fellers got sideways and spun in the first turn. This brought three other cars to a stop also, but all were able to continue. On the restart, Barry Martinez got the #6pk up on the left side wheels of the Doug Lippencott car as they headed into the first turn. He managed to ride there for several feet before nosing into the track and go for a snap roll flip to end the night for both drivers. From the restart on, Daryn Pittman led the way to the finish over Shannon Wheatley with Chad Hillier and Jay Cole also picking up transfers to the A-main. The first heat broke into two groups early on with Steve Kinser, Shaffer, Saldana and Lasoski leading in the front group. Pittman was more or less the meat in the sandwich as Shawn Rice , Kirk Haefs and John Tharp made up the back group. Shaffer was slowed by another car as they went into the first turn, but Shaffer managed to slip by and out run Saldana for second place. Andy Hillenburg cranked up the #2 in the second race of the night, taking the heat win over Herrera, Hodnett, and Hannagan with all four into the night’s A-main Stevie Smith gave some indication that he might be good in the feature event when he dominated the third heat as he led Paulus, Jacobs and Randy Ridge into A-feature event spots. The Outlaws’ 42 year old ‘Rookie of the Year’ contender, Danny Wood, picked up the pace early as he opened a 10 car length lead over Jimmy Carr, Blaney and Wilskey to win the final heat. Sammy Swindell took the dash win in a six lap race slowed twice when Donny Schatz and Andy Hillenburg spun 2 laps apart at almost the same spot on the track. Although the track went dry slick during the heats and dash, additional watering had the surface in fairly good condition when the 24 car field took the A-feature event green flag, with good traction the first half of the event.


Fast Time - Steve Kinser 12.452

First NAPA Heat race (10 laps)--1)Steve Kinser 2) Tim Shaffer 3) Joey Saldana 4) Danny Lasoski 5) Daryn Pittman6) Shawn Rice 7) Kirk Haefs 8) John Tharp (Top 4 finishers qualified for A feature)

Second NAPA heat race (10 laps)--1) Andy Hillenburg 2) Johnny Herrera 3) Greg Hodnett 4) Randy Hannagan 5) Barry Martinez 6) Donny Fry 7) Jay Cole 8) Trev Wilson (Top 4 finishers qualified for A feature)

Third NAPA heat race (10 laps)--1) Stevie Smith 2) Brian Paulus 3) Dean Jacobs 4) Randy Ridge 5) Doug Lippincott 6) Dan Dunlap 7) Shannon Wheatly (Top 4 finishers qualified for A feature)

Fourth NAPA heat race (10 laps)--1) Danny Wood 2) Jimmy Carr 3) Dale Blaney 4) Shawna Wilskey 5) Chad Hillier 6) Steve Walker 7) Kirk Fellers (Top 4 finishers qualified for A feature)

CHANNELLOCK dash (6 laps)--1) Sammy Swindell 2) Mark Kinser 3) Steve Kinser 4) Jac Haudenschild 5) Stevie Smith 6) Donny Schatz 7) Danny Wood 8) Andy Hillenburg (Finishing order determined top 8 starting spots in the feature event)

B-main (12 laps)--1) Daryn Pittman 2) Shannon Wheatly 3) Chad Hillier 4) Jay Cole 5) Steve Walker 6) Kirk Fellers 7) Donny Fry 8) John Tharp 9) Kirk Haefs 10) Trev Wilson 11) Dan Dunlap 12) Doug Lippincott 13) Barry Martinez 14) Shawn Rice (Top 4 finishers qualified for A feature)

A-main (40 laps)--1) Mark Kinser 2) Stevie Smith 3) Sammy Swindell 4) Steve Kinser 5) Jac Haudenschild 6) Danny Wood 7) Johnny Herrera 8) Donny Schatz 9) Tim Shaffer 10) Brian Paulus 11) Dale Blaney 12) Shawna Wilskey 13) Joey Saldana 14) Randy Hannagan 15) Danny Lasoski 16) Daryn Pittman 17) Greg Hodnett 18) Jimmy Carr 19) Dean Jacobs 20) Chad Hillier 21) Randy Ridge 22) Jay Cole 23) Shannon Wheatly 24) Andy Hillenburg

Lap leaders: Mark Kinser 1-40

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series World of Outlaws
Drivers Andy Hillenburg , Tim Shaffer , Shawna Wilskey , Mark Kinser , Danny Lasoski , Donny Schatz , Steve Kinser , Sammy Swindell , Brian Paulus , Daryn Pittman , Dean Jacobs , Joey Saldana , Randy Hannagan , Jac Haudenschild , Johnny Herrera