West Plains; Mike Kinser bursts into win column

Mark Kinser Bursts into Win Column at West Plains By Richard Day WEST PLAINS, MO (April 14) -- It was only a matter of time before Mark Kinser drove Karl Kinser's ...

Mark Kinser Bursts into Win Column at West Plains By Richard Day WEST PLAINS, MO (April 14) -- It was only a matter of time before Mark Kinser drove Karl Kinser's #5M Mopar Maxim into victory lane. The Pennzoil World of Outlaws Series' defending and two-time champion passed Daryn Pittman and Jac Haudenschild late in the 25th lap and led the final 10 1/4 laps to win Friday's "A" Feature at West Plains Motor Speedway. The $10,000 victory, Mark's first of the year, was his second in as many years at West Plains. "We've struggled a little bit to start the season," Mark admitted. "These Mopar motors have so much horsepower, it's hard to hook it all up to the ground. We tried an experimental kind of car, then we went back to the basics, and I think we're on the right track. "We have a great crew. It's hard to complain about Karl Kinser's car when you get out of it, so it's usually something the driver did wrong. I was beginning to think my job was on the line, but this win helps a bunch." Kinser, the third-fastest of four drivers breaking West Plains' previous single-lap record, finished second in the Third NAPA AUTO PARTS Heat Race and fourth in the Second CHANNELLOCK Dash for the right to start the 35-lap main event outside the second row. Pittman, who started outside the front row, raced around pole- sitter Dale Blaney in the fourth corner as the green flag fell in the "A" Feature. Kinser passed Haudenschild, then took the low line through the third and fourth corners to pass Blaney for second place late in the opening lap. Pittman had his #3 Sander Engineering J&J six car-lengths ahead of Kinser when he entered lapped traffic during the sixth lap. Kinser lined up behind Daryn two laps later, however, after Lance Blevins stopped on the back straightaway after turning a 360 in turn two. First CHANNELLOCK Dash winner Andy Hillenburg crashed his #2 Luxaire J&J into the wall in the fourth corner four laps later. Brian Paulus brought out the caution flag late in the 14th lap when he spun in turn two. Kinser kept pace with Pittman on each restart, and raced wheel- to-wheel with him through the first and second corners early in lap 18. Pittman was three car-lengths ahead of Kinser when he caught the backmarkers again two laps later. Haudenschild caught the leaders during the 23rd lap, and raced nose-to-tail with them in lapped traffic before taking the low line into turn four to pass Kinser for second place. Pittman, Haudenschild and Kinser raced wheel-to-wheel for much of the next two laps before Mark steered the #5M Mopar Maxim to the deepest point in the fourth corner to take the lead. Haudenschild also passed Pittman as all three positions changed within seconds. Kinser opened a 12-car-length advantage within six laps, only to have "The Wild Child" narrow the gap to seven car-lengths in dense lapped traffic by lap 34. Haudenschild gained on Kinser through the last three laps, but was two car-lengths behind at the checkered flag. "This race track was in perfect condition tonight, and I think it showed in the racing," Mark said. "Haud was going to be tough. He might have even won the race, but he decided to go to the top there in traffic. Daryn and I went low, and I came out with the lead." Pittman finished in third place, ahead of Blaney, Sammy Swindell, Tim Shaffer, Stevie Smith, Randy Hannagan, 12th-starting Steve Kinser and Pennzoil World of Outlaws Series points leader Danny Lasoski. Johnny Herrera was unable to start the First NAPA AUTO PARTS Heat Race when the engine malfunctioned in the #20 Networks Eagle. He raced past 10 cars to finish 13th in the main event. Blevins' #21 PC Joey Eagle bicycled, hit the wall and flipped in the first corner early in the first lap of the Third NAPA AUTO PARTS Heat Race. He brought out a backup car and started at the rear of the "A" Feature. Donny Schatz received his second Vivarin Fast-Time Award of the season for pacing the 23-car qualifying session. He drove the #15 Parker Stores Maxim around the semi-banked, 3/8-mile oval in a track record time of 10.909 seconds, an average speed of 123.751 m.p.h.

2000 Pennzoil World of Outlaws Series West Plains Motor Speedway, West Plains, MO Friday, April 14, Feature Program #9 Vivarin qualifications: 1. Donny Schatz, Schatz 15, 10.909 (new single-lap record); 2. Sammy Swindell, Swindell 1, 10.947; 3. Mark Kinser, Kinser 5M, 10.955; 4. Joey Saldana, Saldana 17, 11.026; 5. Brian Paulus, P&P Motorsports 28, 11.107; 6. Tim Shaffer, Helm 11H, 11.144; 7. Jac Haudenschild, Elden 22, 11.147; 8. Daryn Pittman, Pittman 3, 11.168; 9. Randy Hannagan, Holbrook 8H, 11.195; 10. Dale Blaney, DB Racing 93, 11.207; 11. Greg Hodnett, Millennium Racing V12, 11.217; 12. Steve Kinser, Kinser 11, 11.228; 13. Johnny Herrera, DOCC Motorsports 20, 11.230; 14. Danny Lasoski, Roth 83, 11.265; 15. Donnie Crawford, Hillenburg 1H, 11.309; 16. Andy Hillenburg, Hillenburg 2, 11.314; 17. Danny Wood, Woodburn 21W, 11.340; 18. Christi Passmore, GAP Roofing 1A, 11.440; 19. Brooke Tatnell, Parsons 6, 11.455; 20. Stevie Smith, Smith 19, 11.459; 21. Bryan Grimes, Campbell 7, 11.847; 22. Randy Combs, Combs 1C, 12.002; 23. Lance Blevins, Blevins 21, no time. First NAPA AUTO PARTS Heat Race (eight laps): 1. Dale Blaney, 2. Jac Haudenschild, 3. Donny Schatz, 4. Andy Hillenburg, 5. Joey Saldana, 6. Bryan Grimes, 7. Christi Passmore, 8. Johnny Herrera. (first three to Second CHANNELLOCK Dash, second three to First CHANNELLOCK Dash) Second NAPA AUTO PARTS Heat Race (eight laps): 1. Daryn Pittman, 2. Brian Paulus, 3. Sammy Swindell, 4. Greg Hodnett, 5. Danny Lasoski, 6. Brooke Tatnell, 7. Danny Wood, 8. Randy Combs. (first three to Second CHANNELLOCK Dash, second three to First CHANNELLOCK Dash) Third NAPA AUTO PARTS Heat Race (eight laps): 1. Randy Hannagan, 2. Mark Kinser, 3. Tim Shaffer, 4. Steve Kinser, 5. Stevie Smith, 6. Donnie Crawford, 7. Lance Blevins. (first three to Second CHANNELLOCK Dash, second three to First CHANNELLOCK Dash) First CHANNELLOCK Dash (eight laps): 1. Andy Hillenburg, 2. Greg Hodnett, 3. Steve Kinser, 4. Danny Lasoski, 5. Stevie Smith, 6. Brooke Tatnell, 7. Joey Saldana, 8. Bryan Grimes, 9. Donnie Crawford. (finish determined positions 10-18 in the "A" Feature) Second CHANNELLOCK Dash (eight laps): 1. Dale Blaney, 2. Daryn Pittman, 3. Jac Haudenschild, 4. Mark Kinser, 5. Randy Hannagan, 6. Sammy Swindell, 7. Donny Schatz, 8. Tim Shaffer, 9. Brian Paulus. (finish determined positions 1-9 in the "A" Feature) A Feature (35 laps): 1. Mark Kinser ($10,000); 2. Jac Haudenschild ($5,000); 3. Daryn Pittman ($3,000); 4. Dale Blaney ($2,500); 5. Sammy Swindell ($2,300); 6. Tim Shaffer ($2,200); 7. Stevie Smith ($2,100); 8. Randy Hannagan ($2,000); 9. Steve Kinser ($1,800); 10. Danny Lasoski ($1,700); 11. Greg Hodnett ($1,400); 12. Donny Schatz ($1,200); 13. Johnny Herrera ($1,100); 14. Joey Saldana ($1,050); 15. Brooke Tatnell ($1,000); 16. Danny Wood ($900); 17. Donnie Crawford ($700); 18. Brian Paulus ($600); 19. Lance Blevins ($600); 20. Christi Passmore ($600); 21. Andy Hillenburg ($600); 22. Bryan Grimes ($600); 23. Randy Combs ($600). Lap leaders: Daryn Pittman 1-24, Mark Kinser 25-35 Vivarin Fast-Time Award winner: Donny Schatz

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series World of Outlaws
Drivers Andy Hillenburg , Tim Shaffer , Mark Kinser , Danny Lasoski , Donny Schatz , Steve Kinser , Sammy Swindell , Christi Passmore , Brian Paulus , Brooke Tatnell , Daryn Pittman , Joey Saldana , Randy Hannagan , Jac Haudenschild , Johnny Herrera
Teams Millennium Racing