Tucson preview

World of Outlaws Thunder into USA Race Park on Friday March 2 Tucson, AZ -- Feb. 28, 2007 -- March will come in like roaring like a lion for the World of Outlaws on Friday as they return to USA Race Park in Tucson, for the sixth event of the ...

World of Outlaws Thunder into USA Race Park on Friday March 2

Tucson, AZ -- Feb. 28, 2007 -- March will come in like roaring like a lion for the World of Outlaws on Friday as they return to USA Race Park in Tucson, for the sixth event of the season.

After thrilling wins by Tim Kaeding and Joey Saldana last weekend at Thunderbowl Raceway in California, five different drivers have now picked up checkered flags so far in 2007. In total, seven drivers have led laps, with Kaeding on top of that list. He was in front for all 40 laps last Saturday night. Also, five drivers have set fast time this season, in addition to the same number of drivers winning dashes to earn pole positions in A-Feature events.

Last season the series made their inaugural visit USA Race Park, a state-of-the-art 3/8-mile facility in the Arizona desert. Paul McMahan driving for two-time NASCAR Champion Tony Stewart led all 30 laps in that event to pick up the win. In the fall, reigning World of Outlaws Champion Donny Schatz scored an emotional win as he too led all 30 laps, and dedicated the triumph to World of Outlaws founder Ted Johnson, who had passed away the day before.

Schatz enters the event this weekend as the current leader in the World of Outlaws Championship standings. He has a 25 point lead on Terry McCarl who finished second last Saturday night. Schatz, a native of Fargo, North Dakota has racked up four Top-10 finishes in the first five races of the campaign. He won the season opener at Volusia Speedway Park on February 9 and has held the point lead ever since.

McCarl, a native of Altoona, Iowa also has four Top-10 finishes to-date. Joey Saldana, who won last Friday night driving for NASCAR star Kasey Kahne, is third in points, only two markers behind McCarl. Right behind them is Craig Dollansky, who has solidly picked up three Top-10 finishes on the year. Daryn Pittman who won the finale of the DIRTcar Nationals on February 11 is tied with Dollansky, as they are only 44 points out of the lead.

Brooke Tatnell has had a very strong start to the season. He has recorded four Top-10 finishes and is sixth in points, in his first season driving for Larry Woodward Racing. Just behind him in seventh is 2001 World of Outlaws Champion Danny Lasoski, who started the year off with three straight Top-10 efforts in the Florida DIRTcar Nationals.

Jac Haudenschild on the strength of three Top-10 finishes is eight overall in points. The fan favorite was the runner-up last Friday night as he completed the last handful of laps with a quickly deflating left rear tire. He then charged from the 19th starting spot on Saturday night to come home sixth.

Kerry Madsen, who won in Florida, is the current leader in the battle for the Kevin Gobrecht Rookie of the Year Award, and is ninth overall in points. Tim Kaeding on the strength of three Top-10 finishes is 10th in the championship standings.

Several drivers will make their first ever visit to USA Race Park on Friday, including 20-Time World of Outlaws Champion Steve Kinser. The native of Bloomington, Indiana enters the event with 533 career A-Feature wins to his credit. He finished ninth last Saturday night at Thunderbowl Raceway after winning the fourth heat and qualifying for the dash.

Also taking the green flag for the first time at the racy 3/8-mile track in the Arizona desert will be Tim Kaeding, who drives for Steve Kinser Racing. The win for Kaeding last weekend at Thunderbowl was extra special for the third generation driver, as his grandmother had passed away earlier in the week, and he dedicated the victory to her. The native of San Jose, California also has an O'Reilly All Star Circuit of Champions win under his belt. That came at Volusia Speedway Park during the Florida DIRTcar Nationals.

Kerry Madsen, one of only two Australian born drivers to have won an A-Feature with the World of Outlaws will also be making his first appearance at the desert track, as will Jason Meyers, a native of Clovis, California, who finished second in World of Outlaws points in 2005. Tim Shaffer, the 1999 World of Outlaws Kevin Gobrecht Rookie of the Year will also visit USA Race Park for the first time on Friday.

-credit: woo

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series World of Outlaws
Drivers Tony Stewart , Tim Shaffer , Danny Lasoski , Donny Schatz , Steve Kinser , Craig Dollansky , Brooke Tatnell , Daryn Pittman , Jason Meyers , Joey Saldana , Kerry Madsen , Paul McMahan , Jac Haudenschild , Tim Kaeding