Tri-report 98-06-20

Haudenschild Keeps Hot Streak Alive at Tri-City By Richard Day GRANITE CITY, IL (June 20) - Less than two weeks after their championship dreams turned into a nightmare, Jac Haudenschild and Jack Elden's Pennzoil team...

Haudenschild Keeps Hot Streak Alive at Tri-City By Richard Day GRANITE CITY, IL (June 20) - Less than two weeks after their championship dreams turned into a nightmare, Jac Haudenschild and Jack Elden's Pennzoil team have become the Pennzoil World of Outlaws Series' hottest combination. Haudenschild passed Greg Hodnett late in the ninth lap en route to his second "A" Feature victory in the last three races Saturday at Tri-City Speedway. It was Jac's fourth straight finish in the top three since he returned from a shoulder injury a week earlier. Winning for the fourth time this season gave Jac 25 career victories, tying him with Bobby Allen for ninth place on the World of Outlaws' all-time list. "The Pennzoil car was working really good tonight," Haudenschild said. "These Maxim chassis have been great all year. I have three of the best guys out there working for me (Dean Bruns, Dave Kinnard and Chris Hager), and I really have to thank Jack Elden. He's given me the best equipment for six years." Haudenschild, who also won a main event at Tri-City Speedway on May 13, 1995, was the fifth-fastest qualifier in the 24-car field. He beat Hodnett across the finish line in the Channellock Dash for the right to start the 30-lap "A" Feature on the pole. Haudenschild and Hodnett raced wheel-to-wheel around Tri- City's semi-banked, 1/2-mile oval as the green flag waved in the opening lap before Greg surged ahead in the third corner. Hodnett had the #11H Vivarin Eagle eight car-lengths ahead of Haudenschild when he entered lapped traffic five laps into the race. Danny Lasoski joined the leaders in dense traffic three laps later. Haudenschild caught Hodnett early in the ninth lap, and steered the #22 Pennzoil Maxim into the low groove between turns three and four to take the lead. Jac was increasing his advantage three laps later when Craig Dollansky took the #75 Mopar Schnee for a spin in the fourth corner. As the race resumed, Lasoski took the low line through turns one and two to pass Hodnett for second place. Haudenschild was six car-lengths ahead of Lasoski and the #83 Beef Packers Eagle when he caught the backmarkers again during lap 17. His lead vanished the next time around, however, when Tyler Walker stopped in the fourth corner with a flat left rear tire. Andy Hillenburg, who started inside the fifth row, used an inside move between turns one and two to pass Stevie Smith for fourth place as the green flag replaced the yellow. Stevie followed Andy past Hodnett in the second corner early in lap 20. Mark Kinser and Sammy Swindell, who ranked 1-2 in the Pennzoil World of Outlaws Series point standings before Friday's event at LaSalle Speedway, both stopped with engine problems late in the 21st lap. Neither was able to continue racing, allowing Steve Kinser to gain valuable points in the championship race. "The King of the Outlaws" was only 40 points behind his cousin when the series headed to Tri-State Speedway Sunday. Hillenburg was on the move again when the race resumed, driving his #2 J&J deep into the fourth corner to pass "The Dude" for the runner-up spot. Second Racing Champions Heat Race winner Johnny Herrera raced into fourth place the next time around, steering the #47 Casey's General Stores Maxim into the low groove between turns one and two to pass Hodnett and Dale Blaney. Haudenschild was 15 car-lengths ahead of Hillenburg when he entered lapped traffic again with six laps remaining. He maintained a comfortable lead and claimed the $7,000 first prize with 15 car-lengths to spare. "Greg (Hodnett) got away from us a little on the start," Haudenschild admitted. "We were finally able to catch up with him in traffic, and I think the car got better as the race went on. "We're just going to go on over there (to Tri-State Speedway) tomorrow night and try to get another one." Lasoski held off Herrera to finish in third place. Completing the top 10 in the "A" Feature were Smith, Hodnett, Blaney, Steve Kinser, 18th-starting Danny Smith and Donny Schatz. Mark Kinser received his eighth Vivarin Fast-Time Award of the year after pacing the qualifying session with a 16.865-second lap. WoO 1998 Pennzoil World of Outlaws Series Tri-City Speedway, Granite City, IL Saturday, June 20, Feature Program #29 Qualifications: 1. Mark Kinser, Kinser 5M, 16.865; 2. Sammy Swindell, Swindell 1, 17.011; 3. Danny Lasoski, Roth 83, 17.040; 4. Stevie Smith, Smith 19, 17.228; 5. Jac Haudenschild, Elden 22, 17.272; 6. Greg Hodnett, Helm 11H, 17.281; 7. Dale Blaney, Hylton-Blaney 93, 17.324; 8. Tyler Walker, Walker 35, 17.342; 9. Andy Hillenburg, Hillenburg 2, 17.417; 10. Steve Kinser, Kinser 11, 17.437; 11. Johnny Herrera, Sonner 47, 17.520; 12. Joe Gaerte, Holbrook 8H, 17.526; 13. Lance Blevins, Blevins 21, 17.578; 14. Craig Dollansky, Stanton 75, 17.582; 15. Jeff Swindell, Two Winners 104+, 17.699; 16. Brooke Tatnell, Tatnell 7K, 17.720; 17. Donny Schatz, Schatz 15, 17.826; 18. Danny Smith, Brazier 21S, 17.872; 19. Ryan Jamison, Jamison 51J, 18.085; 20. Tommy Scott, Scott 4S, 18.431; 21. Terry Babb, Babb 88, 18.606; 22. Eddie Lynch, Lynch 29L, 19.259; 23. Wayne Sternbergh, Sternbergh 14S, 19.412; 24. Wayne Barnes, Barnes 86, no time. First Racing Champions Heat Race (eight laps): 1. Lance Blevins, 2. Steve Kinser, 3. Mark Kinser, 4. Dale Blaney, 5. Stevie Smith, 6. Brooke Tatnell, 7. Ryan Jamison, 8. Eddie Lynch. (all eight qualified for the "A Feature) Second Racing Champions Heat Race (eight laps): 1. Johnny Herrera, 2. Craig Dollansky, 3. Tyler Walker, 4. Donny Schatz, 5. Jac Haudenschild, 6. Sammy Swindell, 7. Wayne Sternbergh, 8. Tommy Scott. (all eight qualified for the "A Feature) Third Racing Champions Heat Race (eight laps): 1. Jeff Swindell, 2. Andy Hillenburg, 3. Danny Lasoski, 4. Greg Hodnett, 5. Joe Gaerte, 6. Wayne Barnes, 7. Terry Babb, 8. Danny Smith. (all eight qualified for the "A Feature) Channellock Dash (five laps): 1. Jac Haudenschild, 2. Greg Hodnett, 3. Stevie Smith, 4. Danny Lasoski, 5. Mark Kinser, 6. Sammy Swindell, 7. Dale Blaney, 8. Tyler Walker. (finish determined the first eight starting positions in the "A" Feature) A Feature (30 laps): 1. Jac Haudenschild ($7,000); 2. Andy Hillenburg ($4,000); 3. Danny Lasoski ($3,000); 4. Johnny Herrera ($2,500); 5. Stevie Smith ($2,300); 6. Greg Hodnett ($2,200); 7. Dale Blaney ($2,100); 8. Steve Kinser ($2,000); 9. Danny Smith ($1,700); 10. Donny Schatz ($1,600); 11. Jeff Swindell ($1,200); 12. Brooke Tatnell ($1,150); 13. Joe Gaerte ($1,100); 14. Craig Dollansky (1,050); 15. Tyler Walker ($1,000); 16. Lance Blevins ($700); 17. Terry Babb ($600); 18. Ryan Jamison ($500); 19. Tommy Scott ($500); 20. Wayne Sternbergh ($500); 21. Sammy Swindell ($500); 22. Mark Kinser ($500); 23. Eddie Lynch ($500); 24. Wayne Barnes ($500). Lap leaders: Greg Hodnett 1-8, Jac Haudenschild 9-30 Vivarin Fast-Time Award winner: Mark Kinser WoO

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series World of Outlaws
Drivers Andy Hillenburg , Mark Kinser , Danny Lasoski , Donny Schatz , Steve Kinser , Sammy Swindell , Craig Dollansky , Tyler Walker , Brooke Tatnell , Jac Haudenschild , Johnny Herrera , Jeff Swindell