Tri-City results

'KING' DOMINATES WORLD OF OUTLAWS' TRI-CITY FEATURE By Richard Day GRANITE CITY, IL (June 22) - Tri-City Speedway just seems to bring out the best in Steve Kinser. "The King of the Outlaws" has...

'KING' DOMINATES WORLD OF OUTLAWS' TRI-CITY FEATURE By Richard Day GRANITE CITY, IL (June 22) - Tri-City Speedway just seems to bring out the best in Steve Kinser. "The King of the Outlaws" has made a career of winning Copenhagen- Skoal Shootout "A" Features at the semi-banked, 1/2-mile oval. He won the first event the World of Outlaws ran at Tri-City on May 23, 1979, and added 13 victories in the next 15 years. He recorded his 15th "greatest show on dirt" victory at Tri-City Wednesday night when the World of Outlaws came calling for the 30th time. "We always seem to run well here," Kinser said in victory lane. "I'm just glad we were able to get this one in." Thunderstorms which hit areas surrounding Tri-City Speedway did not affect the races. The humid conditions did play havoc with the air-to-fuel mixture in several sprinters, however. The engine in Andy Hillenburg's #2 STP J&J exploded during hot laps, while Joe Gaerte's expired as he was taking time trials. Kinser's engine lost power during the final lap of the Vivarin Dash, allowing Greg Hodnett to pass him for the victory. With a new power plant in the #11 Valvoline Maxim, "The King of the Outlaws" raced around Hodnett from the outside pole within seconds after the green flag fell. Jeff Swindell steered the #7TW Gold Eagle Maxim to the rim to pass his Two Winners Racing teammate between turns one and two during the opening lap. With the right rear tire on the #10 Vivarin J&J losing air pressure, Hillenburg and Johnny Herrera relegated Dave Blaney to sixth place early in the second lap. Hillenburg was passing Hodnett later in the lap when the #2 and the #8TW Kele & Associates Maxim collided in the second corner. The collision sent Hodnett flipping into Sammy Swindell, Jeff Shepard, Jac Haudenschild, Gaerte and Kenny Jacobs before hitting the outside retaining wall. While Gaerte also flipped, Jacobs' #71M Ecowater Stealth turned over on its side. But when the race resumed, everybody restarted except Hodnett and Shepard. The green flag didn't replace the red for long, however, as Third Snap-on Tools Heat Race winner Sid Blandford allowed his #31 B&B Construction American Challenger to spin. Jac Haudenschild hit Blandford and crashed into Lee Dunn. After Blaney's crew changed his tires during the first red period, "The Buckeye Bullet" had the fastest car on the track during the final 28 laps. He roared back into sixth place by the sixth lap, and passed Mark Kinser for fifth deep in the first corner four laps later. Blaney caught Herrera the next time around, but it took him 11 laps to pass the #4A Pack Discount J&J. He took third place from Jeff Swindell with six laps remaining with a low move in the third corner. "The Buckeye Bullet" caught Hillenburg during the white-flag lap, but was unable to make the pass for the runner-up spot. Kinser was 10 car-lengths ahead of his closest pursuers five laps into the race, and entered lapped traffic the next time around. He padded his cushion to 20 car-lengths by lap 12. Blandford's fourth-corner spin tightened the field midway through the race, but there was no catching "The King of the Outlaws" when the green flag fell again. He opened an 11-car-length advantage within a lap, and was 20 car-lengths ahead of Hillenburg three laps later. Kinser caught the backmarkers again with 10 laps remaining. Hillenburg was reeling in the leader with eight laps remaining, but was forced to slam on the brakes when Blandford hit the outside retaining wall between turns three and four. Andy was racing out of the fourth corner when Kinser took the checkered flag. Blaney finished the main event in third place, ahead of Jeff Swindell, Herrera, Mark Kinser, Jacobs, Sammy Swindell, Randy Smith and Gaerte. Mark's 17.328-second qualifying lap - only .022 seconds off the record time he set on May 13, 1993 - earned him his fifth Ecowater Fast-Time Award of the Year. WoO 1994 WORLD OF OUTLAWS/COPENHAGEN-SKOAL SHOOTOUT Tri-City Speedway, Granite City, IL Wednesday, June 22, Feature Program #31 Qualifications: 1. Mark Kinser, Kinser 5M, 17.328; 2. Greg Hodnett, Two Winners 8TW, 17.385; 3. Jeff Swindell, Two Winners 7TW, 17.491; 4. Steve Kinser, Kinser 11, 17.511; 5. Andy Hillenburg, Hillenburg 2, 17.530; 6. Dave Blaney, Luna 10, 17.542; 7. Johnny Herrera, Pack 4A, 17.571; 8. Stevie Smith, Veilhauer 12x, 17.711; 9. Donnie Beechler, Black 1x, 17.738; 10. Jeff Shepard, Hamilton 77, 17.755; 11. Jac Haudenschild, Elden 22, 17.784; 12. Randy smith, Smith 0, 17.806; 13. Sammy Swindell, Gilliam 1, 17.873; 14. Kenny Jacobs, Motter 71M, 17.971; 15. Sid Blandford, Blandford 31, 18.075; 16. Craig Keel, Keel 8, 18.214; 17. Steve Dyer, Dyer 9A, 18.444; 18. Joe Gaerte, Two Winners 9TW, 17.862; 19. J.C. Sulawske, Gates 1C, 18.899; 20. Lee Dunn, Dunn 81, 19.140; 21. Steve Beitler, Beitler 21, no time. First Snap-on Tools Heat Race (eight laps): 1. Sammy Swindell, 2. Johnny Herrera, 3. Jeff Shepard, 4. Craig Keel, 5. Steve Kinser, 6. J.C. Sulawske, 7. Mark Kinser. (first seven qualified for the "A" Feature) Second Snap-on Tools Heat Race (eight laps): 1. Kenny Jacobs, 2. Greg Hodnett, 3. Steve Dyer, 4. Jac Haudenschild, 5. Lee Dunn, 6. Stevie Smith, 7. Andy Hillenburg. (first seven qualified for the "A" Feature) Third Snap-on Tools Heat Race (eight laps): 1. Sid Blandford, 2. Donnie Beechler, 3. Dave Blaney, 4. Jeff Swindell, 5. Randy Smith, 6. Joe Gaerte, 7. Steve Beitler. (first seven qualified for the "A" Feature) Vivarin Dash (five laps): 1. Greg Hodnett, 2. Steve Kinser, 3. Dave Blaney, 4. Jeff Swindell, 5. Mark Kinser, 6. Andy Hillenburg, 7. Johnny Herrera, 8. Stevie Smith. (finish determined the first eight starting positions in the "A" Feature) A Feature (30 laps): 1. Steve Kinser ($5,210); 2. Andy Hillenburg ($3,510); 3. Dave Blaney ($2,510); 4. Jeff Swindell ($2,210); 5. Johnny Herrera ($2,110); 6. Mark Kinser ($2,010); 7. Kenny Jacobs ($1,610); 8. Sammy Swindell ($1,510); 9. Randy Smith ($1,410); 10. Joe Gaerte ($1,310); 11. Jac Haudenschild ($1,110); 12. J.C. Sulawske ($1,010); 13. Steve Dyer ($810); 14. Sid Blandford ($610); 15. Lee Dunn ($490); 16. Donnie Beechler ($410); 17. Craig Keel ($360); 18. Stevie Smith ($360); 19. Greg Hodnett ($360); 20. Jeff Shepard ($360); 21. Steve Beitler ($360). Lap leader: Steve Kinser 1-30 Ecowater Fast-Time Award winner: Mark Kinser WoO*eot

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series World of Outlaws
Drivers Donnie Beechler , Andy Hillenburg , Mark Kinser , Steve Kinser , Sammy Swindell , Kenny Jacobs , Dave Blaney , Jac Haudenschild , Johnny Herrera , Jeff Swindell