Syracuse report 95-10-07

Steve Kinser Takes Champion Spark Plugs Nationals By Richard Day SYRACUSE, NY (October 7) - Lightning can strike twice in the same place. Just ask Dave Blaney. "The Buckeye Bullet" was on the verge of...

Steve Kinser Takes Champion Spark Plugs Nationals By Richard Day SYRACUSE, NY (October 7) - Lightning can strike twice in the same place. Just ask Dave Blaney. "The Buckeye Bullet" was on the verge of stealing the Champion Spark Plugs Nationals championship last year when a case of bad luck forced him to settle for second place. He suffered the same fate again Saturday at New York State Fair Speedway. Blaney steered the #10 Vivarin J&J high into the third corner to pass Steve Kinser for the lead with less than half a lap remaining in the race. But just as he cleared "The King of the Outlaws," Blaney collided with Bob Bennett, allowing Kinser to regain the lead and claim the $26,025 first prize. "I knew Dave was out there; I saw him go wide," Kinser said in victory lane. "I was hoping the guy (Bennett) would slide up in front of him, and he did." A similar twist of fate allowed Blaney to win the World of Outlaws' New York tour opener at Orange County Speedway in June. Kinser was trying to take the lead from his cousin, Mark, when they collided with the checkered flag in sight, allowing Blaney to win. The victory was the first of three for "The Buckeye Bullet" during the five-stop tour. Kinser was lucky to take the green flag in Saturday's 35-lap race, let alone the checkered. The engine in his #11 Quaker State Maxim exploded during the final hot-lap session. But his crew, led by Scott Gerken, changed his power plant in 20 minutes. They tested the new engine as "The King of the Outlaws" was introduced on the front straightaway. Jeff Swindell, the fastest qualifier in the 33-car field, started the main event on the pole and burst into the lead as the green flag fell. He opened a 2 1/2-second advantage as Blaney challenged Kinser for the runner-up spot during the first two laps, and caught the backmarkers two laps later. Kinser narrowed the gap to three car-lengths during lap 11 as Jeff toiled in dense lapped traffic. "The King of the Outlaws" took the high line into the lead four laps later as Swindell steered the #7TW Gold Eagle Maxim into the low groove in turn one to pass Bill Brian, Jr. The caution flag was flying five laps later when the #10T Tanner Speed Equipment Buckley suffered a broken coupler, causing Rod George to stop in the fourth corner. The red flag replaced the yellow to allow the teams to refuel their sprinters. Swindell was trying to keep pace with Kinser when he spun to a stop in turn four less than two laps after the race resumed. He restarted at the back of the pack and finished in 17th place. Blaney, who inherited the runner-up spot, was 1 1/2-seconds behind "The King of the Outlaws" with 11 laps remaining. He cut the margin in half as Kinser entered lapped traffic four laps later, however. The white flag was flying as Kinser approached Bennett in the second corner. Blaney caught them on the back straightaway, and passed Kinser high in turn three as Steve took the low line to pass Bennett. The Skoal Outlaw Series points leader didn't expect Bennett to slide in front of him, however. Their collision allowed Kinser to regain the lead, and win the race with 15 car-lengths to spare. Rounding out the top 10 were Andy Hillenburg, Jac Haudenschild, Stevie Smith, Ed Lynch, Jr., Greg Hodnett, defending champion Billy Pauch, Danny Lasoski and Johnny Herrera. Swindell earned his third EcoWater Fast-Time Award of the year by circling the "Moody Mile" in 26.639 seconds, an average speed of 135.140 m.p.h. The #22 Pennzoil Maxim, owned by Jack Elden and driven by Haudenschild, received the Best Appearing Car and Crew Award. WoO 1995 World of Outlaws/Skoal Outlaw Series 18th Annual Champion Spark Plugs Nationals New York State Fair Speedway, Syracuse, NY Friday-Saturday, October 6-7, Feature Program #68 Qualifications: 1. Jeff Swindell, Two Winners 7TW, 26.639; 2. Steve Kinser, Kinser 11, 26.883; 3. Dave Blaney, Luna 10, 27.075; 4. Jac Haudenschild, Elden 22, 27.271; 5. Greg Hodnett, Two Winners 8TW, 27.678; 6. Andy Hillenburg, Hillenburg 2, 27.739; 7. Stevie Smith, Motter 71M, 27.782; 8. Ed Lynch, Jr., Lunch 2L, 27.791; 9. Randy Hannagan, Hannagan 1x, 27.959; 10. Billy Pauch, Zemaitis 1z, 28.149; 11. Danny Lasoski, Hamilton 77, 28.309; 12. Johnny Herrera, Forbrook 5, 28.370; 13. Rick Hench, Henchcraft 5H, 28.385; 14. Rod George, Thompson 10T, 28.570; 15. Keith Kauffman, Sonner 47, 28.762; 16. Bill Brian, Jr., Brian 16, 28.766; 17. Mike Woodring, Woodring 19, 28.885; 18. Tim Dietz, Weikert 29, 29.087; 19. Bob Bennett, Mickle 3M, 29.191; 20. Rob Hart, Hart 86, 29.728; 21. Phil Walter, Walter 88, 30.112; 22. Alan Cole, Cole 17C, 30.272; 23. Lance Yonge, Yonge 17, 30.438; 24. Wayne Patterson, Patterson 33, 30.550; 25. Tommy Allen, Allen 27A, 30.748; 26. Mark Bragman, Bragman 3, 30.931; 27. Jerry Dinnen, Dinnen 16D, 31.190; 28. John Karklin, Jr., Karklin 1K, 31.449; 29. Rick Hart, Hart 51, 32.208; 30. Kenny Townsend, Townsend 58, 32.535; 31. Larry Hoyt, Hoyt 27, 34.629; 32. Brian Paulus, Paulus/Pender 28, no time; 33. Kramer Williamson, Williamson 1W, no time. B Feature (10 laps): 1. Mike Woodring, 2. Tim Dietz, 3. Bob Bennett, 4. Alan Cole, 5. Rob Hart, 6. Tommy Allen, 7. Lance Yonge, 8. Wayne Patterson, 9. Mark Bragman, 10. Rick Hart, 11. John Karklin, 12. Brian Paulus, 13. Jerry Dinnen, 14. Kenny Townsend, 15. Larry Hoyt, 16. Phil Walter, 17. Kramer Williamson. Championship Feature (35 laps): 1. Steve Kinser ($26,025); 2. Dave Blaney ($15,000); 3. Andy Hillenburg ($10,000); 4. Jac Haudenschild ($6,000); 5. Stevie Smith ($4,000); 6. Ed Lynch, Jr. ($3,000); 7. Greg Hodnett ($2,500); 8. Billy Pauch ($2,000); 9. Danny Lasoski ($1,700); 10. Johnny Herrera ($1,600); 11. Randy Hannagan ($1,500); 12. Keith Kauffman ($1,400); 13. Bill Brian, Jr. ($1,300); 14. Mike Woodring ($1,200); 15. Tim Dietz ($1,100); 16. Bob Bennett ($1,000); 17. Jeff Swindell ($2,350); 18. Rob Hart ($1,000); 19. Rod George ($1,000); 20. Tommy Allen ($1,000); 21. Rick Hench ($1,000); 22. Alan Cole ($1,000); 23. Rick Hart ($1,000); 24. Brian Paulus ($1,000); 25. John Karklin, Jr. ($1,000); 26. Phil Walter ($1,000); 27. Wayne Patterson ($1,000); 28. Mark Bragman ($1,000); 29. Lance Yonge ($1,000); 30. Kramer Williamson ($1,000). Lap leaders: Jeff Swindell 1-14, Steve Kinser 15-35 EcoWater Fast-Time Award winner: Jeff Swindell Wells Lamont Hard Charger Award winner: Brian Paulus WoO

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series World of Outlaws
Drivers Andy Hillenburg , Danny Lasoski , Steve Kinser , Brian Paulus , Randy Hannagan , Billy Pauch , Dave Blaney , Jac Haudenschild , Johnny Herrera , Jeff Swindell
Teams Williams