Southern Oregon Speedway Results 1999-08-25

'King of the Outlaws' Wins Southern Oregon Feature By Richard Day MEDFORD, OR (August 25) - At first glance, Steve Kinser leading all 30 laps en route to his 10th "A" Feature victory of the year would...

'King of the Outlaws' Wins Southern Oregon Feature By Richard Day MEDFORD, OR (August 25) - At first glance, Steve Kinser leading all 30 laps en route to his 10th "A" Feature victory of the year would lead fans to think the Pennzoil World of Outlaws Series "A" Feature at Southern Oregon Speedway was totally one-sided. By "King of the Outlaws" proportions, the 434th victory of his career was anything but easy. Kinser, who collided with Randy Tiner late in the seventh lap, nursed a left rear tire during the final 15 laps. "We got into a little trouble there in lapped traffic," Steve said as his left rear tire lost all its air pressure in victory lane. "A couple of cars just about died right in front of us, but the biggest concern was that tire going down. We've been having trouble winning races here lately. "My guys gave me a great car tonight, I just wasn't sure the tire was going to make it, but we were going to run it until it went flat." Kinser, the 12th-fastest qualifier in the 26-car field, won the First NAPA Auto Parts Heat Race and his eighth Channellock Dash of the year for the right to start the "A" Feature on the pole. "The King of the Outlaws" drove his #11 Quaker State Maxim into the lead as the green flag fell in the main event. He was six car- lengths ahead of outside polesitter Brent Kaeding when he entered lapped traffic six laps into the race. Kinser collided with Tiner between the third and fourth corners the next time around, allowing Kaeding to catch him. Dale Blaney, who started outside the second row, caught Kaeding during the 10th lap, and raced nose-to-tail with the leaders two laps later. Kaeding's son, Tim, collided with Mark Cooper in turn three midway through the race, causing the #10 Pioneer sprinter to turn over. Daryn Pittman took the #47 Casey's General Stores Maxim for a spin in the fourth corner as the green flag replaced the red. Pennzoil World of Outlaws Series points leader Mark Kinser jumped the cushion in the second corner at the same time. He surrendered his eighth-place running position when he stopped the #5M Mopar Maxim on the back straightaway. Sammy Swindell, who won an "A" Feature at Southern Oregon Speedway on August 27, 1997, collided with Third NAPA Auto Parts Heat Race winner Lance Blevins in turn two early in the 16th lap, allowing Vivarin Fast-Time Award winner Danny Lasoski to take over fifth place. Kinser was 15 car-lengths ahead of Kaeding when the caught the backmarkers again two laps later. Kaeding threaded the #2M M&M Racing Maxim between Cooper and Tiner to stay within striking distance of Kinser with 11 laps remaining. Shawna Wilskey tangled with a lapped car and spun on the back stretch three laps later, bringing out the caution flag and tightening the field. Kinser controlled the ensuing restart, however, and opened a full straightaway advantage within four laps. Swindell collided with Blaney as he tried to pass him for third place entering the first corner the next time around, and both cars spun out of the top five. "The King of the Outlaws" roared ahead of the field as the race resumed and took the checkered flag with 10 car-lengths to spare. Kinser also won the Pennzoil World of Outlaws Series' inaugural main event at Southern Oregon Speedway on August 29, 1996. "I'm just glad to get the Quaker State, Franklin Power Products car in the winner's circle," Steve said. "Now we go down to San Jose. We usually run pretty good there, so maybe we can win another one." Blevins came back to claim third place, tying his career-best finish in a Pennzoil World of Outlaws Series "A" Feature. Lasoski closed to within 92 points of first place in the driver standings by finishing fourth. Completing the top 10 in the series' 55th event of the year were Randy Hannagan, Tim Shaffer, Kevin Gobrecht, Stevie Smith, 18th-starting Andy Hillenburg and Johnny Herrera. Lasoski received his 11th Vivarin Fast-Time Award of the season for pacing the qualifying session with an 11.724-second lap around the high-banked, 1/3-mile oval. The 102.354-m.p.h. lap lowered the single- lap record Jac Haudenschild set two years ago by .238 seconds. WoO

1999 Pennzoil World of Outlaws Series Southern Oregon Speedway, Medford, OR Wednesday, August 25, Feature Program #55 Vivarin qualifications: 1. Danny Lasoski, Roth 83, 11.724 (new single-lap record); 2. Mark Kinser, Kinser 5M, 11.764; 3. Sammy Swindell, Swindell 1, 11.818; 4. Lance Blevins, Blevins 21, 11.930; 5. Dale Blaney, Holbrook 8H, 11.960; 6. Randy Hannagan, TH Racing 1x, 12.013; 7. Tim Shaffer, Helm 11H, 12.026; 8. Kevin Gobrecht, Hylton/ Blaney 93, 12.030; 9. Stevie Smith, Smith 19, 12.049; 10. Shawna Wilskey, MK Inc. 8W, 12.066; 11. Brent Kaeding, M&M Racing 2M, 12.112; 12. Steve Kinser, Kinser 11, 12.127; 13. Johnny Herrera, DOCC Motorsports 1BK, 12.132; 14. Jeff Swindell, Two Winners 104+, 12.269; 15. Brooke Tatnell, Tatnell 7K, 12.326; 16. Donny Schatz, Schatz 15, 12.328; 17. Brad Furr, Furr 2F, 12.365; 18. Andy Hillenburg, Hillenburg 2, 12.381; 19. Tim Kaeding, Pioneer 10, 12.479; 20. Jason Meyers, Carter 14, 12.483; 21. Randy Tiner, Steck 8B, 12.579; 22. Manny Gobel, Gobel 5x, 13.614; 23. Mark Cooper, Cooper 5, 13.704; 24. Pat Desbiens, Desbiens 4D, 13.853; 25. Cale Carder, Carder 7, 14.040; 26. Daryn Pittman, Sonner 47, no time. First NAPA Auto Parts Heat Race (10 laps): 1. Steve Kinser, 2. Danny Lasoski, 3. Tim Shaffer, 4. Randy Hannagan, 5. Tim Kaeding, 6. Johnny Herrera, 7. Donny Schatz, 8. Manny Gobel, 9. Cale Carder. (first six qualified for the "A" Feature) Second NAPA Auto Parts Heat Race (10 laps): 1. Brent Kaeding, 2. Dale Blaney, 3. Mark Kinser, 4. Kevin Gobrecht, 5. Jeff Swindell, 6. Jason Meyers, 7. Brad Furr, 8. Daryn Pittman, 9. Mark Cooper. (first six qualified for the "A" Feature) Third NAPA Auto Parts Heat Race (10 laps): 1. Lance Blevins, 2. Shawna Wilskey, 3. Stevie Smith, 4. Brooke Tatnell, 5. Sammy Swindell, 6. Randy Tiner, 7. Andy Hillenburg, 8. Pat Desbiens. (first six qualified for the "A" Feature) Channellock Dash (seven laps): 1. Steve Kinser, 2. Brent Kaeding, 3. Lance Blevins, 4. Dale Blaney, 5. Danny Lasoski, 6. Sammy Swindell, 7. Randy Hannagan, 8. Mark Kinser. (finish determined the first eight starting positions in the "A" Feature) B Feature (12 laps): 1. Donny Schatz, 2. Andy Hillenburg, 3. Brad Furr, 4. Daryn Pittman, 5. Mark Cooper, 6. Pat Desbiens, 7. Cale Carder ($200); 8. Manny Gobel ($180). (first six qualified for the "A" Feature) A Feature (30 laps): 1. Steve Kinser ($8,000); 2. Brent Kaeding ($4,000); 3. Lance Blevins ($3,000); 4. Danny Lasoski ($2,500); 5. Randy Hannagan ($2,300); 6. Tim Shaffer ($2,200); 7. Kevin Gobrecht ($2,100); 8. Stevie Smith ($2,000); 9. Andy Hillenburg ($1,820); 10. Johnny Herrera ($1,700); 11. Jeff Swindell ($1,400); 12. Brooke Tatnell ($1,200); 13. Jason Meyers ($1,100); 14. Brad Furr ($1,070); 15. Donny Schatz ($1,020); 16. Dale Blaney ($900); 17. Shawna Wilskey ($700); 18. Mark Kinser ($550); 19. Sammy Swindell ($550); 20. Daryn Pittman ($570); 21. Mark Cooper ($570); 22. Pat Desbiens ($570); 23. Randy Tiner ($550); 24. Tim Kaeding ($550). Lap leader: Steve Kinser 1-30 Vivarin Fast-Time Award winner: Danny Lasoski WoO

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series World of Outlaws
Drivers Andy Hillenburg , Tim Shaffer , Shawna Wilskey , Brad Furr , Mark Kinser , Danny Lasoski , Donny Schatz , Steve Kinser , Sammy Swindell , Brooke Tatnell , Daryn Pittman , Jason Meyers , Randy Hannagan , Jac Haudenschild , Johnny Herrera , Tim Kaeding , Jeff Swindell