Silver Dollar report 95-09-14

'Dude' Takes Gold Cup Opener By Richard Day CHICO, CA (September 14) - The ...

'Dude' Takes Gold Cup Opener By Richard Day CHICO, CA (September 14) - The #77 Cornwell Tools Maxim was the hottest sprinter at Silver Dollar Speedway Thursday when the World of Outlaws opened the 42nd Annual Gold Cup Race of Champions. In fact, it almost overheated as Danny Lasoski drove it to victory in the Preliminary Feature. "The motor was running hot, so I didn't want any more yellows," Lasoski said following his flag-to-flag victory. "I had a hard time taking off, the motor was so hot." After running caution-free through all four Snap-on Tools Heat Races, the Vivarin Dash and the "B" Feature, the yellow flag flew only four times in the 25-lap main event. But with the #77's water pump malfunctioning, the engine temperature soared to 300 degrees and used every drop of water in its cooling system. While the #77's engine held on long enough for "The Dude" to take the checkered flag, an electrical problem in the #10 Vivarin J&J put Skoal Outlaw Series points leader Dave Blaney in the pits midway through the race. Although the #10 started missing during hot laps, "The Buckeye Bullet" qualified fifth-quick, won the First Snap-on Tools Heat Race and finished third in the Vivarin Dash. His engine started losing power eight laps into the feature, and stopped two laps later. A couple of cautions gave Blaney's crew time to change the magneto, but he dropped out midway through the 12th lap. Blaney's misfortune allowed Jac Haudenschild to gain 21 points on him in their battle for the lead in the points race. Haudenschild had the #22 Pennzoil Maxim only one car-length behind when Lasoski took the checkered flag. "The Dude" raced high into the fourth corner to pass polesitter Paul McMahan as the green flag fell in the feature, and opened a six- car-length advantage within two laps. Haudenschild passed Blaney early in the first lap, and battled McMahan for five laps before taking over the runner-up spot with a fourth-corner pass in lapped traffic late in lap six. Blaney slowed in the low groove as George Koerber collided with Fourth Snap-on Tools Heat Race winner Greg Brown in the second corner early in the 10th lap. Lasoski raced away from the field as the race resumed, and opened a four-car-length lead within two laps. "The Wild Child" caught him as they entered lapped traffic during the 14th lap, however. Haudenschild tried to take the lead deep in turn two the next time around, but was unable to complete the pass. He was still challenging for the lead when Brown and Eric Rossi collided and spun in turn four with six laps remaining. The leaders caught the backmarkers again with two laps remaining. "The Wild Child" made one last attempt to steal the victory late in the final lap when he took the high road into turn three and raced wheel-to-wheel with Lasoski into the fourth corner. "The Dude" beat Haudenschild through turn four and was a car-length ahead when he crossed the finish line. McMahan held off EcoWater Fast-Time Award winner Kevin Pylant to finish in third place. Rounding out the top 10 were Steve Kent, Bobby McMahan, Glenn Boune, Third Snap-on Tools Heat Race winner Brent Kaeding, Greg Hodnett and Scooter Lambert. Mechanical problems kept Mark Monico and 1990 Gold Cup runner-up Randy Tiner in the pits throughout the opening-night festivities. WoO 1995 World of Outlaws/Skoal Outlaw Series 42nd Annual Gold Cup Race of Champions Silver Dollar Speedway, Chico, CA Thursday, September 14, Preliminary Program #1 Qualifications: 1. Kevin Pylant, Pylant 14P, 12.475; 2. Danny Lasoski, Hamilton 77, 12.501; 3. Steve Kent, Helm 11K, 12.506; 4. Paul McMahan, Lamar 3, 12.534; 5. Dave Blaney, Luna 10, 12.594; 6. Jac Haudenschild, Elden 22, 12.608; 7. Eric Rossi, Lovell 71, 12.611; 8. Glenn Boune, Fauver 64x, 12.706; 9. Bobby McMahan, Bumgarner 88, 12.709; 10. Greg Hodnett, Two Winners 8TW, 12.838; 11. Scooter Lambert, Gordon 1C, 12.896; 12. Tyler Walker, Walker 35, 12.915; 13. Bob Walker, Walker 98, 13.014; 14. Emory Gray, Gray 82, 13.075; 15. Brent Kaeding, Kaeding 69, 13.114; 16. Marc Zeske, Prather 22P, 13.204; 17. Chad Riolo, Riolo 17R, 13.227; 18. Dan Belton, Belton 28, 13.327; 19. Jimmy Trulli, Trulli 33T, 13.365; 20. Keith Kauffman, Sonner 47, 13.379; 21. Mark Abouzeid, Abouzeid 27, 13.379; 22. Jim Richardson, Richardson 8R, 13.398; 23. Casey Diemert, Diemert 73, 13.418; 24. Greg Brown, CB Equipment 44B, 13.495; 25. Ron McBride, Hodges 31, 13.503; 26. Graydon Cross, Cross 8, 13.506; 27. Rick Williams, Williams 6, 13.527; 28. George Koerber, Koerber 5K, 13.543; 29. Bill Nutter, Nutter 3N, 13.716; 30. Jamie Hood, Hood 33, 13.841; 31. Ryan Bailey, Bailey 17R, 13.850; 32. Tom Esposito, Esposito 99, 13.394; 33. Jack Clark, Clark 41S, 14.508; 34. Randy Tiner, Orth 24, no time; 35. Mark Monico, ATM Motorsports 21, no time. First Snap-on Tools Heat Race (10 laps): 1. Dave Blaney, 2. Bobby McMahan, 3. Mark Abouzeid, 4. Kevin Pylant, 5. Chad Riolo, 6. Bill Nutter, 7. Ron McBride, 8. Jack Clark, 9. Bob Walker. (first five qualified for the Preliminary Feature) Second Snap-on Tools Heat Race (10 laps): 1. Emory Gray, 2. Jac Haudenschild, 3. Jim Richardson, 4. Greg Hodnett, 5. Danny Lasoski, 6. Graydon Cross, 7. Jamie Hood, 8. Dan Belton. DNS - Randy Tiner. (first five qualified for the Preliminary Feature) Third Snap-on Tools Heat Race (10 laps): 1. Brent Kaeding, 2. Scooter Lambert, 3. Jimmy Trulli, 4. Steve Kent, 5. Eric Rossi, 6. Casey Diemert, 7. Rick Williams, 8. Ryan Bailey. DNS - Mark Monico. (first five qualified for the Preliminary Feature) Fourth Snap-on Tools Heat Race (10 laps): 1. Greg Brown, 2. Keith Kauffman, 3. Paul McMahan, 4. Glenn Boune, 5. Marc Zeske, 6. George Koerber, 7. Tyler Walker, 8. Tom Esposito. (first five qualified for the Preliminary Feature) Vivarin Dash (seven laps): 1. Paul McMahan, 2. Danny Lasoski, 3. Dave Blaney, 4. Jac Haudenschild, 5. Kevin Pylant, 6. Eric Rossi, 7. Glenn Boune, 8. Steve Kent. (finish determined the first eight starting positions in the Preliminary Feature) B Feature (12 laps): 1. Casey Diemert, 2. Bob Walker, 3. George Koerber, 4. Bill Nutter, 5. Graydon Cross ($160); 6. Ryan Bailey ($135); 7. Dan Belton ($110); 8. Rick Williams ($85); 9. Tom Esposito ($70); 10. Tyler Walker (60); 11. Jack Clark ($50); 12. Ron McBride ($50); 13. Jamie Hood ($50). DNS - Randy Tiner, Mark Monico. (first four qualified for the Preliminary Feature) Preliminary Feature (25 laps): 1. Danny Lasoski ($4,010); 2. Jac Haudenschild ($2,310); 3. Paul McMahan ($1,610); 4. Kevin Pylant ($1,410); 5. Steve Kent ($1,260); 6. Bobby McMahan ($1,160); 7. Glenn Boune ($1,110); 8. Brent Kaeding ($1,060); 9. Greg Hodnett ($1,035); 10. Scooter Lambert ($1,010); 11. Emory Gray ($910); 12. Bob Walker ($730); 13. Chad Riolo ($610); 14. Keith Kauffman ($510); 15. Jimmy Trulli ($310); 16. Marc Zeske ($310); 17. Bill Nutter ($280); 18. George Koerber ($280); 19. Jim Richardson ($260); 20. Casey Diemert ($280); 21. Eric Rossi ($260); 22. Greg Brown ($260); 23. Dave Blaney ($260); 24. Mark Abouzeid ($260). Lap leader: Danny Lasoski 1-25 EcoWater Fast-Time Award winner: Kevin Pylant WoO

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series World of Outlaws
Drivers Danny Lasoski , Jim Richards , Tyler Walker , Paul McMahan , Dave Blaney , Rick Williams , Jac Haudenschild , Bobby McMahan
Teams Williams