Sharon: Main event postponed

World of Outlaws postpones Sharon main event HARTFORD, OH (May 30) -- O'Reilly World of Outlaws Series officials threw the red flag on Friday's "A" Feature at Sharon Speedway when rain started falling seven laps into the race. The $51,600...

World of Outlaws postpones Sharon main event

HARTFORD, OH (May 30) -- O'Reilly World of Outlaws Series officials threw the red flag on Friday's "A" Feature at Sharon Speedway when rain started falling seven laps into the race.

The $51,600 event will be completed July 30th before the series runs another complete racing program at the Blaney Family's semi-banked, 3/8-mile oval.

Rob Chaney, who won the First Dash Race, burst into the lead from the pole as the green flag fell in the scheduled 30-lap main event. "B" Feature winner C.W. Harshman hit the retaining wall in the second corner, however, bringing out the caution flag and forcing a complete restart.

Chaney won a front-straightaway drag race with Dale Blaney when the race resumed to take the lead. Steve Kinser drove his #11 Quaker State Maxim past Joey Saldana -- the "A" Feature winner at Sharon Speedway last July 31st -- for fourth place late in the opening lap.

O'Reilly World of Outlaws Series points leader Danny Lasoski took the low line through turns one and two to pass Stevie Smith for fifth place the next time around.

Blaney, the Second Dash Race winner, rode the rim through the third and fourth corners to pass Chaney for the lead late in lap three.

Kinser, Saldana and Lasoski raced past Chaney during the fifth and sixth laps before rain made the track unsafe for racing.

Jimmy Hawley paced the 34-car qualifying session with a 100.238-M.P.H. lap. Saldana, Tim Shaffer, Chad Kemenah and Tyler Walker won the Heat Races.

As fans were leaving the grandstands, a lower walkway collapsed. Medical personnel reported no serious injuries, the worst being a broken ankle.

The O'Reilly World of Outlaws Series will run its 98th event at Eldora Speedway Saturday. WoO

2003 O'Reilly World of Outlaws Series
Sharon Speedway, Hartford, OH
Friday, May 30

1. Jimmy Hawley, Grove 70, 13.468
2. Danny Lasoski, Stewart 20, 13.510
3. Brian Ellenberger, Ellenberger 20E, 13.856
4. Brian Paulus, P and P Motorsports 28, 13.930
5. Daryn Pittman, Sher-Don Motorsports 21, 14.047
6. Steve Kinser, Kinser 11, 14.062
7. C.W. Harshman, Harshman 53, 14.071
8. Joey Saldana, Saldana 17, 14.077
9. Dale Blaney, Andrews 72, 14.080
10. Rob Chaney, SC Racing 9X, 14.089
11. Mark Kinser, Kinser 5M, 14.112
12. Brian Carlson, Carlson 18, 14.118
13. Ryan Coniam, Coniam 6C, 14.120
14. Stevie Smith, Smith 19, 14.148
15. Jason Johnson, Harrison 22, 14.182
16. Johnny Herrera, Wilburn 2W, 14.192
17. Paul McMahan, Helm 11H, 14.199
18. Tim Shaffer, Roth 83, 14.218
19. Craig Keel, Pottorff 9, 14.233
20. Randy Hannagan, TH Racing 1X, 14.238
21. Tyler Walker, C&W Motorsports 35, 14.257
22. Chad Kemenah, Harble 15K, 14.270
23. Bob Bennett, Acme Trailers 3, 14.345
24. Jack Sodeman Jr., Grove 54, 14.370
25. Mike Kekich, Kekich 5K, 14.490
26. Jeff Shepard, Miller 2, 14.502
27. Jason Sides, Sides Motorsports 7S, 14.523
28. Donny Schatz, Schatz 15, 14.546
29. Jason Meyers, Karavan Racing 7, 14.578
30. Jarod Larson, Larson 47, 14.651
31. Jason Jacoby, Jacoby 4J, 14.859
32. Brandon Wimmer, Two Winners 7TW, 14.863
33. Andrew Palker, Palker 57X, 15.065
34. Kevin Andrusky, Andrusky 7A, 15.661.

First Heat Race (eight laps):
1. Joey Saldana
2. Jack Sodeman Jr.
3. Paul McMahan
4. Dale Blaney
5. Johnny Herrera
6. Jason Meyers
7. Mike Kekich
8. Jimmy Hawley
9. Andrew Palker
(first five qualified for the "A" Feature)

Second Heat Race (eight laps):
1. Tim Shaffer
2. Jeff Shepard
3. Rob Chaney
4. Danny Lasoski
5. Jason Johnson
6. Jarod Larson
7. Bob Bennett
8. C.W. Harshman
9. Kevin Andrusky
(first five qualified for the "A" Feature)

Third Heat Race (eight laps):
1. Chad Kemenah
2. Craig Keel
3. Jason Sides
4. Steve Kinser
5. Stevie Smith
6. Brian Ellenberger
7. Mark Kinser
8. Jason Jacoby
(first five qualified for the "A" Feature)

Fourth Heat Race (eight laps):
1. Tyler Walker
2. Daryn Pittman
3. Randy Hannagan
4. Jason Johnson
5. Donny Schatz
6. Ryan Coniam
7. Brian Carlson
8. Brandon Wimmer
(first five qualified for the "A" Feature)

First Dash Race (five laps):
1. Rob Chaney
2. Joey Saldana
3. Danny Lasoski
4. Daryn Pittman
5. Tyler Walker
6. Paul McMahan
7. Craig Keel
8. Jason Johnson.

Second Dash (five laps):
1. Dale Blaney
2. Stevie Smith
3. Steve Kinser
4. Tim Shaffer
5. Brian Paulus
6. Donny Schatz
7. Johnny Herrera
8. Randy Hannagan.

B Feature (12 laps):
1. C.W. Harshman
2. Jason Meyers
3. Mark Kinser
4. Jimmy Hawley
5. Brian Carlson
6. Ryan Coniam
7. Brian Ellenberger
8. Bob Bennett
9. Jarod Larson
10. Andrew Palker
11. Mike Kekich
12. Brandon Wimmer
13. Kevin Andrusky.
(first four qualified for the "A" Feature)


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series World of Outlaws
Drivers Tim Shaffer , Mark Kinser , Danny Lasoski , Donny Schatz , Steve Kinser , Tyler Walker , Brian Carlson , Brian Paulus , Daryn Pittman , Jason Meyers , Jason Sides , Joey Saldana , Paul McMahan , Randy Hannagan , Johnny Herrera , Chad Kemenah , Jason Johnson
Teams HART