Second Harvest Classic Prelim, 9/2 report

Haudenschild Sweeps Harvest Classic Prelims By Richard Day CALISTOGA, CA (September 2) -- Jac Haudenschild, winless through the Pennzoil World of Outlaws Series' first 24 Preliminary Features in 2000,...

             Haudenschild Sweeps Harvest Classic Prelims

By Richard Day

CALISTOGA, CA (September 2) -- Jac Haudenschild, winless through the Pennzoil World of Outlaws Series' first 24 Preliminary Features in 2000, won twice at Calistoga Speedway Saturday. "The Wild Child," who passed nine cars to win the First Preliminary Feature, passed pole-sitter Johnny Herrera during an 18th- lap restart to complete his sweep of the Eighth Annual Harvest Classic Preliminary Features. Sammy Swindell won both Preliminary Features as well as the Harvest Classic finale in 1997 and Dave Blaney swept the 1995 preliminary races en route to Pennzoil World of Outlaws Series championships. "We learned a lot about the race track from the first race," Haudenschild said. "My crew (Ricky Warner, Todd Devnich and Billy Gaule) did a great job giving me a fast race car. "We really didn't change anything after the first race. I just hope we can come back and get another one tomorrow. This fetchOmatic Maxim felt great all night long, and I have to thank Jack Elden for giving me the best equipment money can buy." Elden was equally pleased with Haudenschild's preliminary victories. "Jac and I have been together for nine years now, and I don't think we've had a single argument the entire time," the car owner said. "I'm very proud of him and this entire team. They've done a wonderful job." Haudenschild qualified 12th-quick, won the Fourth NAPA AUTO PARTS Heat Race and received the luxury of starting the 20-lap Preliminary Feature outside the front row by following Johnny Herrera across the finish line in the CHANNELLOCK Dash. Herrera drove the #20 Networks Eagle ahead of the field as the green flag fell in the evening's main event. Second NAPA AUTO PARTS Heat Race winner Stevie Smith took the high through turns one and two to pass Mark Kinser for sixth place during the second lap. Smith continued his run toward the front during the next five laps, passing Dale Blaney late in the fifth lap and steering his #19 Ingersoll-Rand Black Bandit deep into the second corner to pass Vivarin Fast-Time Award winner Greg Hodnett for fourth place two laps later. The leaders were approaching lapped traffic early in the eighth lap when Peter Murphy spun in turn three. Smith challenged First NAPA AUTO PARTS Heat Race winner Danny Lasoski for third place as the green flag replaced the yellow. Andy Hillenburg tightened the field late in lap nine when spun in the third corner. Hodnett and Blaney regained fourth and fifth place, respectively, when Smith had problems on the ensuing restart. Pennzoil World of Outlaws Series points leader Steve Kinser challenged Swindell, the defending Harvest Classic champion, for eighth place on the back straightaway late in the 13th lap. Herrera was three car-lengths ahead of Haudenschild when he entered lapped traffic with 3 1/2 laps remaining. "B" Feature winner Eric Rossi opened the track ahead of the leaders with a fourth-corner spin the next time around, however. Herrera's right rear tire started losing air pressure during the caution period, but he restarted ahead of the field. "The Wild Child" passed Herrera and Hodnett drove the #V12 Wirtgen America Maxim past Herrera and Lasoski to take over second place as the race resumed. Herrera's right rear tire was completely flat when he stopped in turn three late in the 19th lap, setting up a two-lap dash to the checkered flag. Hodnett challenged Haudenschild for the lead on the final restart, but was unable to surge ahead. "The Wild Child" quickly opened a comfortable advantage as Lasoski battled Hodnett for the runner-up spot and took the checkered flag with 15 car-lengths to spare. Smith finished in fourth place, ahead of Blaney and Swindell. Brian Paulus, who started inside the ninth row, passed "The King of the Outlaws" late in the final lap, while Mark Kinser and Daryn Pittman completed the top 10. Hodnett received his first Vivarin Fast-Time Award of the season for pacing the qualifying session with a 107.443-m.p.h. lap around the semi-banked, 1/2-mile oval. WoO

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series World of Outlaws
Drivers Andy Hillenburg , Mark Kinser , Danny Lasoski , Steve Kinser , Sammy Swindell , Brian Paulus , Dave Blaney , Jac Haudenschild , Johnny Herrera , Peter Murphy