Rocky Mountain Tuesday report

UNCLE SAM(MY) WINS INDEPENDENCE DAY RACE By Richard Day DENVER, CO (July 4) - How appropriate it was that (Uncle) Sam(my) Swindell, independent sort that he is, completed his sweep of the World of ...

UNCLE SAM(MY) WINS INDEPENDENCE DAY RACE By Richard Day DENVER, CO (July 4) - How appropriate it was that (Uncle) Sam(my) Swindell, independent sort that he is, completed his sweep of the World of Outlaws' double-feature event at Rocky Mountain Speedway on July 4th. Swindell, who is splitting his 1995 racing schedule between the World of Outlaws and NASCAR's SuperTruck Series, put together a performance reminiscent of his championship seasons in 1981 and 1982, leading all 30 laps en route to his first "A" Feature victory of the year. Sammy earned the right to start the main event on the pole by beating Skoal Outlaw Series point standings leader Jac Haudenschild across the finish line in the Snap-on Tools Dash. He burst into the lead as the green flag fell in the "A" Feature, and opened a six-car- length advantage while Andy Hillenburg challenged "The Wild Child" for the runner-up spot during the first two laps. Haudenschild drove the #22 Pennzoil Maxim ahead of Hillenburg during the fourth lap, caught Swindell the next time around and raced wheel-to-wheel with him into lapped traffic late in lap six. Sammy managed to keep his #1 Hooters Gambler ahead of "The Wild Child" as they raced through heavy lapped traffic during the next four laps. Swindell and Haudenschild slowed behind a pack of backmarkers early in the 12th lap, allowing Hillenburg, Joe Gaerte and Dave Blaney to catch them and make it a five-car battle for the lead. Hillenburg steered his #2 STP J&J deep into the fourth corner and into second place late in the 13th lap, only to have "The Wild Child" pass him back high in turn two the next time around. At the same time, Sammy maneuvered through traffic with ease to put a half-straightaway between him and his closest pursuers. Swindell approached more heavy lapped traffic during lap 22, allowing Haudenschild to narrow the gap to six car-lengths. Sammy's lead disintegrated when his brother, Jeff, and Lance Blevins stopped on the racing surface with flat tires, bringing out the caution flag with three laps remaining. Hillenburg suffered the same fate as the race resumed, stopping in the second corner with a flat right rear tire. The next restart saw Tim Baker spin into Jeff Swindell and Sid Blandford in turn four and turn over, bringing out the red flag and setting up a three-lap dash to the checkered flag. Haudenschild attempted to take the high road into the lead as the race resumed, but Sammy was quicker out of the corners and won by five car-lengths. When asked about his tires after the race, Swindell, who played a major role in the development of Goodyear's dirt racing program, said, "It was getting critical there at the end, but we made it. I guess we made the right choice." Blaney finished the main event in third place, ahead of Gaerte, Smith, Greg Hodnett, Danny Lasoski, Hillenburg, Jeff and Randy Hannagan. Rickey Hood received the Wells Lamont Hard Charger Award for driving Joe Herrera's #45x Avenger into 11th place from his eighth-row starting position. Rick Montgomery was leading the First Heat Race when he ran over the cushion in turn three and crashed into the retaining wall. His crew was unable to get the mangled #9M sprinter ready in time for him to start the "B" Feature. TNN: The Nashville Network is televising the Amoco Knoxville Nationals "Live in '95." Be sure to tune in for the August 19th telecast between 10 p.m. and midnight (EDT). WoO 1995 WORLD OF OUTLAWS/SKOAL OUTLAW SERIES Rocky Mountain Speedway, Denver, CO Tuesday, July 4, Feature Program #37 Qualifications: 1. Dave Blaney, Luna 10, 15.892; 2. Greg Hodnett, Two Winners 8TW, 15.990; 3. Danny Lasoski, Sonner 47, 16.023; 4. Jeff Swindell, Two Winners 7TW, 16.223; 5. Stevie Smith, Motter 71M, 16.251; 6. Randy Hannagan, Hannagan 1x, 16.292; 7. Lance Blevins, Blevins 21L, 16.337; 8. Randy Roberts, Conklin 5D, 16.357; 9. Pat Bourke, B&B Excavating 27, 16.467; 10. Rick Montgomery, Pepping 9M, 16.568; 11. Nick LaSasso, LaSasso 51x, 16.684; 12. Jim Starr, Felix 15, 16.600; 13. Rickey Hood, Herrera 45x, 16.698; 14. Dion Hindi, Hindi 11H, 16.937; 15. Sid Blandford, Blandford 31, 16.940; 16. Kurt Osterbuhr, Kuhn 95K, 17.019; 17. Tim Baker, Baker 29, 17.112; 18. Greg Schaefer, Pemble 18x, 17.375; 19. Chuck Starr, Dyer 10C, 17.417; 20. Rick Salem, Herbst 18, 17.895; 21. Mark Wallender, Wallender 1M, 17.966; 22. Ray Evans, Knowlem 82, 18.118; 23. Marvin Slusser, Slusser 56, 18.651. First Heat Race (eight laps): 1. Jeff Swindell, 2. Dave Blaney, 3. Lance Blevins, 4. Rickey Hood, 5. Kurt Osterbuhr, 6. Chuck Starr, 7. Ray Evans, 8. Rick Montgomery ($10). (first five qualified for the "A" Feature) Second Heat Race (eight laps): 1. Stevie Smith, 2. Randy Roberts, 3. Greg Hodnett, 4. Dion Hindi, 5. Tim Baker, 6. Nick LaSasso, 7. Rick Salem, 8. Marvin Slusser. (first five qualified for the "A" Feature) Third Heat Race (eight laps): 1. Danny Lasoski, 2. Jim Starr, 3. Randy Hannagan, 4. Pat Bourke, 5. Sid Blandford, 6. Greg Schaefer, 7. Mark Wallender. (first five qualified for the "A" Feature) Finishing 1-4 in Monday's Preliminary Feature automatically qualified Sammy Swindell, Jac Haudenschild, Joe Gaerte and Andy Hillenburg for the first four starting positions in the Snap-on Tools Dash. Snap-on Tools Dash (five laps): 1. Sammy Swindell, 2. Jac Haudenschild, 3. Andy Hillenburg, 4. Joe Gaerte, 5. Dave Blaney, 6. Greg Hodnett. (finish determined the first six starting positions in the "A" Feature) B Feature (12 laps): 1. Rick Salem, 2. Nick LaSasso, 3. Ray Evans, 4. Greg Schaefer, 5. Marvin Slusser, 6. Mark Wallender ($210); 7. Chuck Starr ($185). (first five qualified for the "A" Feature) A Feature (30 laps): 1. Sammy Swindell ($9,000); 2. Jac Haudenschild ($5,000); 3. Dave Blaney ($3,310); 4. Joe Gaerte ($3,000); 5. Stevie Smith ($2,260); 6. Greg Hodnett ($2,085); 7. Danny Lasoski ($1,810); 8. Andy Hillenburg ($1,700); 9. Jeff Swindell ($1,510); 10. Randy Hannagan ($1,410); 11. Rickey Hood ($1,210); 12. Pat Bourke ($1,110); 13. Lance Blevins ($1,060); 14. Nick LaSasso ($1,030); 15. Jim Starr ($710); 16. Dion Hindi ($610); 17. Ray Evans ($530); 18. Greg Schaefer ($530); 19. Marvin Slusser ($530); 20. Tim Baker ($510); 21. Sid Blandford ($510); 22. Randy Roberts ($510); 23. Rick Salem ($530); 24. Kurt Osterbuhr ($510). Lap leader: Sammy Swindell 1-30 Wells Lamont Hard Charger Award winner: Rickey Hood WoO*eot

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series World of Outlaws
Drivers Tim Baker , Andy Hillenburg , Danny Lasoski , Sammy Swindell , Greg Schaefer , Randy Hannagan , Dave Blaney , Jac Haudenschild , Jeff Swindell