Riverside report 96-08-27

Mark Kinser Dominates Riverside Event By Richard Day COTTAGE GROVE, OR (August 27) - For having never raced in the Pacific Northwest before, Mark Kinser is definitely making the most of the Skoal Outlaw Series' Third...

Mark Kinser Dominates Riverside Event By Richard Day COTTAGE GROVE, OR (August 27) - For having never raced in the Pacific Northwest before, Mark Kinser is definitely making the most of the Skoal Outlaw Series' Third Annual Wild Wild Northwest Tour. The World of Outlaws points leader won his second "A" Feature in the first three on the four-race tour Tuesday, dominating the Riverside Speedway event before a standing-room-only crowd. It marked the sixth time in the last 13 events Mark has earned the EcoWater Quick-Time Award while winning the Vivarin Dash and the "A" Feature. "Was anybody close to me?" Kinser asked Skoal Outlaw Series Director of Competition Bob Jackson after taking the checkered flag with more than a straightaway to spare. "I thought there might have been with all the lapped traffic." All Jackson could say was, "No Mark, you were all by yourself." Kinser was in a zone of his own in qualifying, too, setting his 14th one-lap record of the year with a 10.734-second trip around the semi-banked, 1/4-mile oval. He was rewarded for the effort with his 32nd EcoWater Quick-Time Award of the season. Mark did himself a favor when it came time to determine the Vivarin Dash lineup, too. He put himself on the pole by picking the #0 pill, then led all seven laps for the right to start inside the front row in the main event. Kinser burst into the lead as the green flag fell in the "A" Feature and Sammy Swindell passed outside polesitter Stevie Smith for the runner-up spot during the opening lap. Mark was five car-lengths ahead of his closest pursuers when he entered lapped traffic by lap five. Smith drove the #71M EcoWater Systems Maxim past Swindell on the front straightaway to regain second place the next time around. The battle for fourth place raged for two laps before Dave Blaney took the high line around Jeff Swindell in the second corner early in the sixth lap. "The Buckeye Bullet," winner of the World of Outlaws' inaugural event at Riverside Speedway in 1994, continued his run toward the front with a turn-four pass of Sammy Swindell two laps later. Kinser's lead slowly diminished in lapped traffic, and Smith caught him as Mark slowed behind a pack of backmarkers during lap 10. Steve Kinser, winner of last year's Riverside event, drove his #11 Quaker State Maxim into fourth place two laps later. Mark increased his advantage to six car-lengths as Blaney challenged Smith for second place during the 14th lap. His lead completely disintegrated three laps later when Sammy Swindell suffered a flat right front tire and spun to a stop in turn four. Five lapped cars restarted between Kinser and Smith, however, allowing Mark to open a full-straightaway lead within a lap after the race resumed. "The King of the Outlaws" passed Blaney for third place with a high move through turn four late in the 23rd lap. Having lapped half the field within 28 laps, Mark caught another pack of backmarkers, allowing his pursuers to narrow the gap again. "The Buckeye Bullet" regained third place with 11 laps remaining, then steered the #10 Vivarin J&J deep into turn four to take over the runner-up spot. It was too late, however, as Mark had already returned to his full-straightaway comfort zone. Blaney was racing down the back stretch when Mark took the checkered flag. Kinser lapped 18 of the 24 cars in the field. Mark's 22nd "A" Feature victory of the year increased his advantage to 371 points in the Skoal Outlaw Series standings. It marked the third time in the last four events Blaney finished in second place. Smith held off "The King of the Outlaws" for third, while Jeff Swindell, 14th-starting Andy Hillenburg, Johnny Herrera, Third Quaker State Heat Race winner Joey Saldana, Joe Gaerte and Sammy Swindell completed the top 10. WoO 1996 World of Outlaws/Skoal Outlaw Series Riverside Speedway, Cottage Grove, OR Tuesday, August 27, Feature Program #52 Qualifications: 1. Mark Kinser, Kinser 5M, 10.734 (new one- lap record); 2. Joe Gaerte, Gaerte 3G, 10.879; 3. Stevie Smith, Motter 71M, 10.917; 4. Sammy Swindell, Swindell 1, 10.970; 5. Jeff Swindell, Two Winners 7TW, 11.030; 6. Dave Blaney, Luna 10, 11.114; 7. Johnny Herrera, Herrera 47, 11.190; 8. Greg Hodnett, Helm 11H, 11.198; 9. Steve Beitler, Beitler 21B, 11.222; 10. Steve Kinser, Kinser 11, 11.229; 11. Lance Blevins, Blevins 21, 11.261; 12. Travis Cram, Cram 92, 11.268; 13. Brian Paulus, P&P Motorsports 28, 11.286; 14. Andy Hillenburg, Hillenburg 2, 11.314; 15. Joey Saldana, Stanton 75, 11.327; 16. Jim Carr, McCarr 7M, 11.335; 17. Greg Brown, Pagel 44B, 11.378; 18. Bill Nutter, Lowther Brothers 3N, 11.481; 19. Dale Smith, Smith 75S, 11.521; 20. Butch Gilbert, Gilbert 04, 11.724; 21. Chad Hillier, Hillier 24, 11.730; 22. Marvin Smith, Jeremiah 65, 11.734; 34. Monty Cox, Carlton 19, 11.818; 24. Casey Diemert, Diemert 73, 11.847; 25. David Sims, ATR Enterprises 4S, 11.891; 26. Jeff Thompson, Thompson 7T, 11.940; 27. Pat Desbiens, Desbiens 4D, 11.966; 28. Todd Von Stroberg, Von Stroberg 9, 11.998; 29. John McDonald, McDonald 78, 12.016; 30. Tye Mayden, Mayden 28x, 12.062; 31. Brian Harvey, Harvey 16, 12.115; 32. Mike Griffith, Griffith 21x, 12.267; 33. Wes Kelley, Perfor 4, 12.490. First Quaker State Heat Race (10 laps): 1. Brian Paulus, 2. Jeff Swindell, 3. Mark Kinser, 4. Greg Brown, 5. Steve Beitler, 6. Wes Kelley, 7. Chad Hillier, 8. David Sims, 9. John McDonald. (first five qualified for the "A" Feature) Second Quaker State Heat Race (10 laps): 1. Andy Hillenburg, 2. Steve Kinser, 3. Joe Gaerte, 4. Dave Blaney, 5. Marvin Smith, 6. Jeff Thompson, 7. Tye Mayden, 8. Bill Nutter. (first five qualified for the "A" Feature) Third Quaker State Heat Race (10 laps): 1. Joey Saldana, 2. Lance Blevins, 3. Stevie Smith, 4. Johnny Herrera, 5. Dale Smith, 6. Monty Cox, 7. Brian Harvey, 8. Pat Desbiens. (first five qualified for the "A" Feature) Fourth Quaker State Heat Race (10 laps): 1. Jim Carr, 2. Butch Gilbert, 3. Greg Hodnett, 4. Travis Cram, 5. Sammy Swindell, 6. Casey Diemert, 7. Todd Von Stroberg, 8. Mike Griffith. (first five qualified for the "A" Feature) Vivarin Dash (seven laps): 1. Mark Kinser, 2. Stevie Smith, 3. Sammy Swindell, 4. Jeff Swindell, 5. Dave Blaney, 6. Joe Gaerte, 7. Johnny Herrera, 8. Greg Hodnett. (finish determined the first eight starting positions in the "A" Feature) B Feature (12 laps): 1. Casey Diemert, 2. Bill Nutter, 3. Monty Cox, 4. Jeff Thompson, 5. John McDonald ($210); 6. David Sims ($185); 7. Tye Mayden ($160); 8. Mike Griffith ($110); 9. Brian Harvey ($100); 10. Chad Hillier ($90); 11. Wes Kelley ($70); 12. Todd Von Stroberg ($60); 13. Pat Desbiens ($60). (first four qualified for the "A" Feature) A Feature (40 laps): 1. Mark Kinser ($4,010); 2. Dave Blaney ($3,510); 3. Stevie Smith ($2,510); 4. Steve Kinser ($2,210); 5. Jeff Swindell ($2,110); 6. Andy Hillenburg (2,010); 7. Johnny Herrera ($1,610); 8. Joey Saldana ($1,510); 9. Joe Gaerte ($1,410); 10. Sammy Swindell ($1,310); 11. Greg Hodnett ($1,160); 12. Steve Beitler ($1,110); 13. Travis Cram ($1,060); 14. Brian Paulus ($1,010); 15. Greg Brown ($710); 16. Jim Carr ($510); 17. Lance Blevins ($410); 18. Casey Diemert ($430); 19. Jeff Thompson ($430); 20. Dale Smith ($410); 21. Marvin Smith ($410); 22. Butch Gilbert ($410); 23. Bill Nutter ($430); 24. Monty Cox ($430). Lap leader: Mark Kinser 1-40 EcoWater Quick-Time Award winner: Mark Kinser WoO

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series World of Outlaws
Drivers Andy Hillenburg , Mark Kinser , Steve Kinser , Sammy Swindell , Brian Paulus , Joey Saldana , Dave Blaney , Butch Gilbert , Johnny Herrera , Brian Harvey , Jeff Swindell