Riverside report 95-08-30

Kinser Claims Wild Wild Northwest Tour Finale By Richard Day COTTAGE GROVE, OR (August 30) - There's a reason why the World of Outlaws calls its series of races at Magic City Speedway, Skagit Speedway...

Kinser Claims Wild Wild Northwest Tour Finale By Richard Day COTTAGE GROVE, OR (August 30) - There's a reason why the World of Outlaws calls its series of races at Magic City Speedway, Skagit Speedway and Riverside Speedway the Wild Wild Northwest Tour. The bullrings hosting these events produce some of the wildest racing of the year. Steve Kinser pulled off his second victory of the three-race tour Tuesday when a standing-room-only crowd packed Riverside Speedway. He slid out of first place late in the ninth lap, but regained the lead with 13 laps remaining to claim his 14th victory of the year. "The race track was really tricky," Kinser said in victory lane. "As soon as the sun went down, the moisture came back up. It was slick in (turns) three and four, but tacky in one and two. It was hard to set up the car up for it." Kinser received his ninth EcoWater Fast-Time Award of the year after pacing the qualifying session with an 11.775-second qualifying run, then earned the right to start the 40-lap "A" Feature on the pole by winning the Vivarin Dash. The main event got off to a raucous start as the caution flag replaced the green twice before the first lap was completed. Third Snap-on Tools Heat Race winner Randy Hannagan took his #1x Maxim for a spin in the first corner, while Keith Kauffman allowed the #47 Casey's General Stores Maxim to spin and turn over in turn three on the ensuing restart. "The King of the Outlaws" burst into the lead when the green flag replaced the yellow, and opened a six-car-length advantage within three laps. He caught the backmarkers during the fourth lap. Jac Haudenschild, who started next to Kinser on the front row, steered the #22 Pennzoil Maxim high into the first corner to take the lead early in lap six. The pass was nullified, however, when Jay Follman spun in turn three just ahead of the leaders. Kinser restarted at the front of the 24-car field, and was six car-lengths ahead of his closest pursuers when he entered lapped traffic early in the eighth lap. But he lost the lead the next time around when he allowed the #11 Quaker State Maxim to slide over the bank in turn two. "The Wild Child" and Danny Lasoski raced past, relegating him to third place. "The King of the Outlaws" regained the runner-up spot early in the 10th lap, just seconds before a power outage hit Riverside Speedway. After a 40-minute delay, Lasoski passed Kinser while Jeff Swindell took fourth place from Andy Hillenburg on the ensuing restart. Kinser passed "The Dude" again early in lap 13, and caught Haudenschild in lapped traffic three laps later. Kinser was searching for a route around "The Wild Child" when Lasoski passed him again for second place the next time around. Haudenschild was trying to lap Wells Lamont Hard Charger Award winner Travis Cram late in the 22nd lap when Lasoski steered the #77 Cornwell Tools J&J deep into the third corner to pass them both. "The Wild Child" struggled to pass Cram for three more laps, allowing Kinser and Swindell to relegate him to fourth place. Lasoski was mired in dense lapped traffic when Kinser regained the lead with a high move into turn four late in the 28th lap. Four laps later, a third-corner crash involving Dave Blaney, Randy Ridge and Rick Fauver took the leaders out of lapped traffic and tightened the field. Blaney surrendered 10th place and was forced to watch the final nine laps from the pits as the #10 Vivarin J&J suffered extensive front-end damage in the incident. Kinser raced away from the field as the race resumed, and was six car-lengths ahead of Lasoski when he took the checkered flag. Swindell held off "The Wild Child" for third place. Rounding out the top 10 in the main event were Hillenburg, Stevie Smith, Kauffman, "B" Feature winner Paul McMahan, Greg Hodnett and Joe Gaerte. Haudenschild's fourth-place run, coupled with Blaney's 20th-place finish, narrowed the gap between the leaders in the Skoal Outlaw Series point standings to 130 points. WoO 1995 World of Outlaws/Skoal Outlaw Series Riverside Speedway, Cottage Grove, OR Tuesday, August 29, Feature Program #57 Qualifications: 1. Steve Kinser, Kinser 11, 11.775; 2. Jac Haudenschild, Elden 22, 12.047; 3. Jeff Swindell, Two Winners 7TW, 12.068; 4. Paul McMahan, Lamar 3, 12.205; 5. Greg Hodnett, Two Winners 8TW, 12.290; 6. Keith Kauffman, Sonner 47, 12.338; 7. Andy Hillenburg, Hillenburg 2, 12.347; 8. Danny Lasoski, Hamilton 77, 12.348; 9. Stevie Smith, Motter 71M, 12.353; 10. Dave Blaney, Luna 10, 12.363; 11. Joe Gaerte, Ulyate 3DB, 12.404; 12. Randy Hannagan, Hannagan 1x, 12.484; 13. Greg Brown, BJ Equipment 44B, 12.526; 14. Rick Fauver, Rotary Corp. 39, 12.614; 15. Dale Smith, Smith 75, 12.770; 16. Casey Diemert, Diemert 73, 12.798; 17. Steve Beitler, Beitler 21, 12.821; 18. Randy Ridge, Kahne 23K, 12.926; 19. Jay Follman, Follman 7F, 13.007; 20. Butch Gilbert, Gilbert 04, 13.013; 21. Mike Griffith, Griffith 21M, 13.113; 22. Jeff Thompson, Thompson 7T, 13.173; 23. Travis Cram, Cram 92, 13.185; 24. Monty Cox, Calton 19, 13.293; 25. Wes Kelley, Performance Associates 25, 13.582; 26. Bruce Gieg, Beverly Motorsports 14, 13.664; 27. Michael Morelock, H&H Motorsports 10R, 13.700; 28. Gene Jones, Jones 69, 14.052; 29. Kenny Cope, Pederson 5, 14.829; 30. Richard Jackson, Jackson 76, no time. First Snap-on Tools Heat Race (10 laps): 1. Dave Blaney, 2. Andy Hillenburg, 3. Steve Kinser, 4. Greg Brown, 5. Jay Follman, 6. Casey Diemert, 7. Gene Jones, 8. Jeff Thompson, 9. Paul McMahan, 10. Wes Kelley. (first six qualified for the "A" Feature) Second Snap-on Tools Heat Race (10 laps): 1. Danny Lasoski, 2. Greg Hodnett, 3. Jac Haudenschild, 4. Joe Gaerte, 5. Steve Beitler, 6. Rick Fauver, 7. Butch Gilbert, 8. Travis Cram, 9. Bruce Gieg, 10. Kenny Cope. (first six qualified for the "A" Feature) Third Snap-on Tools Heat Race (10 laps): 1. Randy Hannagan, 2. Dale Smith, 3. Keith Kauffman, 4. Jeff Swindell, 5. Stevie Smith, 6. Randy Ridge, 7. Mike Griffith, 8. Michael Morelock, 9. Monty Cox, 10. Richard Jackson. (first six qualified for the "A" Feature) Vivarin Dash (seven laps): 1. Steve Kinser, 2. Jac Haudenschild, 3. Keith Kauffman, 4. Danny Lasoski, 5. Greg Hodnett, 6. Andy Hillenburg, 7. Jeff Swindell, 8. Stevie Smith. (finish determined the first eight starting positions in the "A" Feature) B Feature (12 laps): 1. Paul McMahan, 2. Jeff Thompson, 3. Travis Cram, 4. Butch Gilbert, 5. Bruce Gieg, 6. Monty Cox, 7. Kenny Cope ($210); 8. Michael Morelock ($185); 9. Richard Jackson ($160); 10. Gene Jones ($110); 11. Wes Kelley ($100); 12. Mike Griffith ($90). (first six qualified for the "A" Feature) A Feature (40 laps): 1. Steve Kinser ($6,010); 2. Danny Lasoski ($3,510); 3. Jeff Swindell ($2,510); 4. Jac Haudenschild ($2,210); 5. Andy Hillenburg ($2,110); 6. Stevie Smith ($2,010); 7. Keith Kauffman ($1,610); 8. Paul McMahan ($1,530); 9. Greg Hodnett ($1,410); 10. Joe Gaerte ($1,310); 11. Steve Beitler ($1,160); 12. Randy Hannagan ($1,110); 13. Greg Brown ($1,060); 14. Casey Diemert ($1,010); 15. Travis Cram ($730); 16. Butch Gilbert ($530); 17. Randy Ridge ($410); 18. Jay Follman ($410); 19. Jeff Thompson ($430); 20. Dave Blaney ($410); 21. Rick Fauver ($410); 22. Monty Cox ($430); 23. Dale Smith ($410); 24. Bruce Gieg ($430). Lap leaders: Steve Kinser 1-8, 28-40; Jac Haudenschild 9-21, Danny Lasoski 22-27 EcoWater Fast Time Award winner: Steve Kinser Wells Lamont Hard Charger Award winner: Travis Cram WoO

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series World of Outlaws
Drivers Andy Hillenburg , Danny Lasoski , Steve Kinser , Paul McMahan , Randy Hannagan , Dave Blaney , Butch Gilbert , Jac Haudenschild , Jeff Swindell