Results World of Outlaws - Yakima, WA

Wild Wild Northwest Tour - Pennzoil World of Outlaws Central State Fair Speedway, Yakima, WA - August 22, 2000 When the "Wild Wild Northwest Tour" and the "Pennzoil World of Outlaws" paid their first to Central Washington State Fair ...

Wild Wild Northwest Tour - Pennzoil World of Outlaws Central State Fair Speedway, Yakima, WA - August 22, 2000

When the "Wild Wild Northwest Tour" and the "Pennzoil World of Outlaws" paid their first to Central Washington State Fair Raceway in Yakima, WA, Brownsburg, IN driver Joey Saldana went into the record books as the first World of Outlaws feature event winner at the newly constructed track. Going into the evenings program, Mark Kinser was on a roll having won both the Billings, MT and Elma, WA feature events. Although he set fast time and a new track record with a 14.110 second trip around the three-eighths mile oval, Kinser lost the race to the first turn on the initial green flag, and Saldana led wire to wire in his first World of Outlaws feature event win of 2000. Although Kinser did close on the leader at times, his chance for three straight was gone when he got high and into loose clay while trying to put Shawna Wilskey a lap down and dropped back to fifth. The evenings lone red flag stopped the action when Danny Lasoski tangled with Doug Lippencott on lap 7 and flipped. Lasoski returned to the action, but later retired for the night when he lost the left front wheel the same time as Brian Paulus clipped an infield tire marker and also retired a couple of laps later. Saldana's biggest challenge came from Donny Schatz, who dogged the leader the last half of the 30 lap event and made several tries at taking the point position from leader Saldana. A late race yellow on the white flag lap gave Schatz another chance at the lead but a high side pass out of turn two on the restart failed and he had to settle for second at the checkered flag. After Kinser had dropped to 5th, Sammy Swindell held second spot until Schatz made the pass for the spot while going into the third turn on lap 22 and began his march to catch the leader. Swindell held third to the finish with Tim Shaffer getting fourth. Saldana kept Steve Kinser at bay for ten laps, to take the first heat race of the night. Heat two had Dale Blaney taking the win with a good battle for second between Shaffer and Jac Haudenschild n the opening laps. Stevie Smith lost his third place start to Daryn Pittman at the start but got it back by going low in turn four mid race. While Schatz was going to the win of the final heat with Swindell following, Andy Hillenburg and Johnny Herrera were giving the crowd the best race as they diced for third. At the finish, Hillenburg had the spot with Herrera fourth. In the Channellock Dash, Blaney, while running second, spun in turn four as they were going for the white flag. His bad luck continued in the main when he suffered a flat tire. The top six in the dash were Saldana, Schatz, Swindell, Shaffer, Mark Kinser and Steve Kinser. The final Wild Wild Northwest Tour race featuring the Pennzoil World of Outlaws Series will be at Riverside Speedway in Cottage Grove, OR on August 29. 2000. <pre> SUMMARY

Fast Time - Mark Kinser, Kinser 14.110 New Track Record

First NAPA heat race (8 laps)--1) Joey Saldana 2) Steve Kinser 3) Danny Lasoski 4) Mark Kinser 5) Brian Paulus 6) Barry Martinez 7) Donny Fry 8) Greg Hodnett

Second NAPA heat race (8 laps)--1) Dale Blaney 2) Tim Shaffer 3) Jac Haudenschild 4) Stevie Smith 5) Daryn Pittman 6) Randy Hannagan 7) Shawna Wilskey 8) Doug Lippincott

Third NAPA heat race (8 laps)--1) Donny Schatz 2) Sammy Swindell 3) Andy Hillenburg 4) Johnny Herrera 5) Danny Wood 6) Jimmy Carr 7) Dean Jacobs

CHANNELLOCK DASH (6 laps) 1) Joey Saldana 2) Mark Kinser 3) Donny Schatz 4) Sammy Swindell 5) Steve Kinser 6) Tim Shaffer 7) Danny Lasoski 8) Johnny Herrera 9) Jac Haudenschild 10) Dale Blaney (Finishing order determined top 10 starting positions in the A feature)

A-main (30 laps)--1) Joey Saldana 2) Donny Schatz 3) Sammy Swindell 4) Tim Shaffer 5) Mark Kinser 6) Steve Kinser 7) Johnny Herrera 8) Stevie Smith 9) Jac Haudenschild 10) Andy Hillenburg 11) Daryn Pittman 12) Dean Jacobs 13) Greg Hodnett 14) Randy Hannagan 15) Dale Blaney 16) Danny Wood 17) Jimmy Carr 18) Shawna Wilskey 19) Barry Martinez 20) Brian Paulus 21) Danny Lasoski 22) Doug Lippincott 23) Donny Fry

Lap leaders: Joey Saldana 1-30

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series World of Outlaws
Drivers Andy Hillenburg , Tim Shaffer , Shawna Wilskey , Mark Kinser , Danny Lasoski , Donny Schatz , Steve Kinser , Sammy Swindell , Brian Paulus , Daryn Pittman , Dean Jacobs , Joey Saldana , Randy Hannagan , Jac Haudenschild , Johnny Herrera