Red River Valley report 97-07-12

Kinser Takes Points Lead; Smith Wins at Red River Valley By Richard Day WEST FARGO, ND (July 12) - There's a new leader in the Pennzoil World of Outlaws Series driver point standings. Although Steve Kinser is leading...

Kinser Takes Points Lead; Smith Wins at Red River Valley By Richard Day WEST FARGO, ND (July 12) - There's a new leader in the Pennzoil World of Outlaws Series driver point standings. Although Steve Kinser is leading the points race, if Stevie Smith keeps up his current pace he could supplant "The King of the Outlaws." With Smith and Kinser finishing 1-2 and Sammy Swindell suffering a blown engine in the "A" Feature Saturday at Red River Valley Speedway, the World of Outlaws' points race has taken on a whole new look. The series' 14-time champion is 13 points ahead of Swindell, while only four points separate Sammy, Dave Blaney and Jac Haudenschild. Smith, who started a team with his father during the off- season, would be among the leaders in the standings had he not suffered through such a horrendous start. Since the first four events, Stevie has scored the fifth-most points. In the last 19 events, only Blaney has more victories. "I've gotten around here pretty well before, but tonight's the best this track has ever been," Smith said following his third victory of the year. "Don Mack and his guys did a great job." Smith also deserves a pat on the back for a job well done at Red River Valley. He led all but one of the 50 laps in the two feature races. Only a last-lap pass by "The King of the Outlaws" in the Preliminary Feature kept him from sweeping the $75,000 event. "I have to give all the credit to my crew," Smith said graciously. "They've had this car working pretty good lately. "We're looking at a couple of things for sponsorship, but we don't have anything definite yet. These $10,000 wins are keeping us out here on the road." Smith's victory from outside the front row in the Vivarin Dash gave him the luxury of starting the 30-lap "A" Feature on the pole. He drove his #19 sprinter into the lead as the green flag fell and entered lapped traffic with an eight car-length advantage four laps into the main event. Smith was 12 car-lengths ahead of his closest pursuers when Haudenschild started challenging defending World of Outlaws champion Mark Kinser for fourth place during the seventh lap. Mark took the low line into turn four to pass Swindell for third place late in lap 10. "The Wild Child" was challenging Sammy for fourth when the engine in the #1 Channellock Gambler started losing power. Sammy held on for three laps before stopping on the back straightaway with a blown engine midway through the 16th lap. Smith raced away from the field as the green flag replaced the yellow, only to have Jon LaBine stop on the back stretch with mechanical problems three laps later. Haudenschild, who received his 13th Channellock Fast-Time Award of the year earlier in the evening, challenged Mark for third during the ensuing restart. Andy Hillenburg started battling "The Wild Child" for fourth while the Kinser cousins diced for the runner-up spot as the race reached the 20-lap mark. No more than two car-lengths separated Steve and Mark between laps 22 and 26 as Mark steered the #5M Wirtgen Maxim all over Red River Valley's high-banked, 1/2-mile oval as he tried to pass his cousin. Mark tried to sneak by in the low groove on the front straightaway early in the 22nd lap, then attempted a high move through turns three and four the next time around. Two more attempts in the low groove on the front stretch failed, so Mark was forced to settle for third place. Smith built a comfortable advantage as the Kinser cousins battled for the runner-up spot, and took the checkered flag as Steve raced through turn three. Hillenburg drove his #2 STP J&J past Haudenschild with two laps remaining to claim fourth place. Completing the top 10 in the Pennzoil World of Outlaws Series' 42nd "A" Feature of the year were Greg Hodnett, Donny Schatz, Blaney, Second Heat Race winner Johnny Herrera and Jeff Swindell. The World of Outlaws' fire-breathing, mudslinging sprint car racing teams are scheduled to return to action Monday at Cedar Lake Speedway in Somerset, WI. WoO 1997 Pennzoil World of Outlaws Series Red River Valley Speedway, West Fargo, ND Saturday, July 12, Feature Program #42 Qualifications: 1. Jac Haudenschild, Elden 22, 15.807; 2. Andy Hillenburg, Hillenburg 2, 16.929; 3. Paul McMahan, Stanton 75, 16.060; 4. Greg Hodnett, Helm 11H, 16.086; 5. Donny Schatz, Schatz 15, 16.095; 6. Danny Lasoski, Wahlie 1W, 16.185; 7. Dave Blaney, Blaney/Hylton 10, 16.264; 8. Johnny Herrera, Sonner 47, 16.360; 9. Jeff Swindell, Two Winners 7TW, 16.408; 10. Joe Gaerte, Gaerte 3G, 16.597; 11. Tim Baker, Vandenheem 29, 16.914; 12. Dion Hindi, Hindi 11D, 17.073; 13. Dave Ekern, Ekern 11E, 17.163; 14. Pat Miller, Miller 12, 17.541; 15. Tim Mulvaney, Mulvaney 3M, 17.940; 16. Jon LaBine, LaBine 7, 18.053; 17. John Stengrim, Stengrim 54, 18.437. First Heat Race (eight laps): 1. Jac Haudenschild, 2. Donny Schatz, 3. Dave Blaney, 4. Jeff Swindell, 5. Paul McMahan, 6. Tim Baker, 7. Dave Ekern, 8. Tim Mulvaney, 9. John Stengrim. (first nine qualified for the "A" Feature) Second Heat Race (eight laps): 1. Johnny Herrera, 2. Danny Lasoski, 3. Greg Hodnett, 4. Andy Hillenburg, 5. Joe Gaerte, 6. Dion Hindi, 7. Jon LaBine, 8. Pat Miller. (first eight qualified for the "A" Feature) Finishing 1-4 in Friday's Preliminary Feature automatically qualified Steve Kinser, Stevie Smith, Mark Kinser and Sammy Swindell for the first four starting positions in the Vivarin Dash. Vivarin Dash (five laps): 1. Stevie Smith, 2. Steve Kinser, 3. Sammy Swindell, 4. Mark Kinser, 5. Andy Hillenburg, 6. Jac Haudenschild. (finish determined the first six starting positions in the "A" Feature) A Feature (30 laps): 1. Stevie Smith ($10,000); 2. Steve Kinser ($6,000); 3. Mark Kinser ($3,500); 4. Andy Hillenburg ($3,200); 5. Jac Haudenschild ($3,000); 6. Greg Hodnett ($2,500); 7. Donny Schatz ($2,300); 8. Dave Blaney ($2,200); 9. Johnny Herrera ($2,100); 10. Jeff Swindell ($2,000); 11. Danny Lasoski ($1,500); 12. Paul McMahan ($1,400); 13. Joe Gaerte ($1,300); 14. Dion Hindi ($1,200); 15. Tim Baker ($1,000); 16. Pat Miller ($1,000); 17. Jon LaBine ($800); 18. Sammy Swindell ($600); 19. Dave Ekern ($600); 20. John Stengrim ($600); 21. Tim Mulvaney ($600). Lap leader: Stevie Smith 1-30 Channellock Fast-Time Award winner: Jac Haudenschild WoO

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series World of Outlaws
Drivers Tim Baker , Andy Hillenburg , Mark Kinser , Danny Lasoski , Donny Schatz , Steve Kinser , Sammy Swindell , Paul McMahan , Dave Blaney , Jac Haudenschild , Johnny Herrera , Jeff Swindell