Ransomville Thursday report

SMITH RECORDS FLAG-TO-FLAG VICTORY AT RANSOMVILLE By Richard Day RANSOMVILLE, NY (June 8) - Stevie Smith won a first-lap battle with Greg Hodnett for the lead, then held off all challengers to claim...

SMITH RECORDS FLAG-TO-FLAG VICTORY AT RANSOMVILLE By Richard Day RANSOMVILLE, NY (June 8) - Stevie Smith won a first-lap battle with Greg Hodnett for the lead, then held off all challengers to claim the World of Outlaws' "A" Feature at Ransomville Speedway Thursday. "The crew has done a good job," Smith said following his second victory of the year. "We've found some things that have helped the team in the last week, and we've made some improvements. I'm happy to win this one, and I hope we can win some more." Hodnett received his first Ecowater Fast-Time Award of the Year after breaking Ransomville's one-lap record with a 14.396-second qualifying run. Smith, the fourth-fastest of six drivers bettering the previous one-lap standard, earned the right to start the 25-lap main event on the pole by winning the Vivarin Dash. Hodnett raced around Smith from outside the front row as the green flag fell in the "A" Feature. The start was called back, however, when Skoal Outlaw Series point standings leader Jac Haudenschild slid into the guard rail in the second corner and turned over. After his crew replaced the top wing on the #22 Pennzoil Maxim, "The Wild Child" restarted the race at the back of the pack. As the green flag replaced the red, Smith drove the #71M Ecowater Systems Maxim into the lead only to have Hodnett pass him high in turn one. They raced wheel-to-wheel into the second corner, and Smith surged ahead as they headed down the back straightaway. Smith and Hodnett raced side-by-side for much of the first seven laps, before Stevie opened a two-car-length advantage. Andy Hillenburg and Steve Kinser traded third place twice during the race's middle stages before Andy steered his #2 STP J&J deep into turn four to pass Hodnett for the runner- up spot with 10 laps remaining. Stevie opened a half-straightaway advantage as the three-car battle for second raged. The field was even tighter after Aaron Berryhill brought out the caution flag with a third-corner spin late in the 24th lap. Hodnett was relegated to fifth place when the race resumed, as Kinser and his Two Winners Racing teammate, Jeff Swindell, took the high road around him in turn three. Smith quickly put six car-lengths between himself and the field, and maintained that margin throughout the final lap. "The car was set up to run the bottom, and it really performed well," Smith said in victory lane. Kinser and Hillenburg brought the standing-room-only crowd to its feet as they staged a final-lap drag race to the finish line, which Steve won by less than a car-length. Swindell earned his fourth Wells Lamont Hard Charger Award of the year for racing into fourth place from the fifth row. Rounding out the top 10 in the "A" Feature were Hodnett, Billy Pauch, First Snap-on Tools Heat Race winner Dave Blaney, Danny Lasoski, Fred Rahmer and Donnie Kreitz, Jr. By running seventh while "The Wild Child" finished 15th, "The Buckeye Bullet" closed to within 16 points of the lead in the Skoal Outlaw Series points race. Kinser also amazed the crowd during the Second Snap-on Tools Heat Race, driving over the bank in turn one and reappearing in the second corner. Fortunately for Steve, he earned a qualifying spot in the main event by finishing fourth as only Pauch and Lasoski passed him. WoO 1995 WORLD OF OUTLAWS/SKOAL OUTLAW SERIES Ransomville Speedway, Ransomville, NY Thursday, June 8, Feature Program #26 Qualifications: 1. Greg Hodnett, Two Winners 8TW, 14.396 (new one-lap record); 2. Danny Lasoski, Sonner 47, 14.425; 3. Andy Hillenburg, Hillenburg 2, 14.450; 4. Stevie Smith, Motter 71M, 14.498; 5. Todd Shaffer, Beam 88, 14.559; 6. Donnie Kreitz, Jr., Kreitz 69K, 14.560; 7. Dave Blaney, Luna 10, 14.582; 8. Steve Kinser, Kinser 11, 14.592; 9. Jeff Swindell, Two Winners 7TW, 14.647; 10. Fred Rahmer, Apple 12, 14.669; 11. Billy Pauch, Zemaitis 1Z, 14.702; 12. Aaron Berryhill, Berryhill 97, 14.731; 13. Joe Gaerte, Hamilton 77, 14.833; 14. Jac Haudenschild, Elden 22, 14.834; 15. Randy Hannagan, Hannagan 1x, 14.902; 16. George Koerber, Koerber 5K, 14.975; 17. Lance Blevins, Blevins 15.017; 18. Brian Paulus, Paulus 28, 15.202; 19. Alan Cole, Cole 17, 15.346; 20. Tim Kuhn, Kuhn 11K, 15.356; 21. Mike Woodring, Woodring 19, 15.371; 22. Bob Bennett, Mickle 3, 15.387; 23. Gus Wasson, Wasson 4G, 15.389; 24. George Suprick, Suprick 87, 15.706; 25. Gary Drum, Drum 22x, 15.825; 26. Jon Banas, Banas 45, 16.890; 27. Bobby Beehler, Beehler 98, 16.890; 28. Bob Mesner, Mesner 20, 17.606. First Snap-on Tools Heat Race (eight laps): 1. Dave Blaney, 2. Joe Gaerte, 3. Fred Rahmer, 4. Greg Hodnett, 5. Stevie Smith, 6. Alan Cole, 7. George Koerber, 8. Gary Drum, 9. Bob Mesner. (first six qualified for the "A" Feature) Second Snap-on Tools Heat Race (eight laps): 1. Jac Haudenschild, 2. Billy Pauch, 3. Danny Lasoski, 4. Steve Kinser, 5. Todd Shaffer, 6. Lance Blevins, 7. Gus Wasson, 8. Tim Kuhn, 9. Jon Banas. (first six qualified for the "A" Feature) Third Snap-on Tools Heat Race (eight laps): 1. Randy Hannagan, 2. Jeff Swindell, 3. Aaron Berryhill, 4. Andy Hillenburg, 5. Donnie Kreitz, Jr., 6. Brian Paulus, 7. Mike Woodring, 8. George Suprick, 9. Bobby Beehler. (first six qualified for the "A" Feature) Vivarin Dash (five laps): 1. Stevie Smith, 2. Greg Hodnett, 3. Andy Hillenburg, 4. Steve Kinser, 5. Danny Lasoski, 6. Donnie Kreitz, Jr., 7. Dave Blaney, 8. Todd Shaffer. (finish determined the first eight starting positions in the "A" Feature) B Feature (12 laps): 1. Mike Woodring, 2. George Koerber, 3. Bob Bennett, 4. Tim Kuhn, 5. Gary Drum, 6. Gus Wasson, 7. George Suprick ($210); 8. Jon Banas ($185); 9. Bobby Beehler ($160); 8. Bob Mesner ($110). (first six qualified for the "A" Feature) A Feature (25 laps): 1. Stevie Smith ($6,010); 2. Steve Kinser ($3,510); 3. Andy Hillenburg ($2,510); 4. Jeff Swindell ($2,210); 5. Greg Hodnett ($2,110); 6. Billy Pauch ($2,010); 7. Dave Blaney ($1,610); 8. Danny Lasoski ($1,510); 9. Fred Rahmer ($1,410); 10. Donnie Kreitz, Jr. ($1,310); 11. Joe Gaerte ($1,160); 12. Todd Shaffer ($1,110); 13. Randy Hannagan ($1,060); 14. Brian Paulus ($1,010); 15. Jac Haudenschild ($710); 16. Tim Kuhn ($530); 17. Gus Wasson ($430); 18. Lance Blevins ($410); 19. Alan Cole ($410); 20. Aaron Berryhill ($410); 21. George Koerber ($430); 22. Bob Bennett ($430); 23. Gary Drum ($430); 24. Mike Woodring ($430). Lap leader: Stevie Smith 1-25 Wells Lamont Hard Charger Award winner: Jeff Swindell Ecowater Fast-Time Award winner: Greg Hodnett WoO

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series World of Outlaws
Drivers Andy Hillenburg , Danny Lasoski , Steve Kinser , Gus Wasson , Aaron Berryhill , Brian Paulus , Randy Hannagan , Billy Pauch , Dave Blaney , Jac Haudenschild , Jeff Swindell