Ransombille report 97-07-28

Andy Hillenburg Wins Rough Ransomville Race By Richard Day RANSOMVILLE, NY (July 28) - Andy Hillenburg and his ...

Andy Hillenburg Wins Rough Ransomville Race By Richard Day RANSOMVILLE, NY (July 28) - Andy Hillenburg and his #2 STP J&J have taken their share of bumps and bruises over the years. It was Hillenburg who stayed out of trouble Monday and won the Pennzoil World of Outlaws Series "A" Feature at Ransomville Speedway, however. "It was tough all the way around there," Hillenburg said following his first victory in a 1997 World of Outlaws main event. "We really needed this win. I have to thank STP, John Christner Trucking and Wesmar. "They call this the month of money. Maybe this is the start we need to get back up front." Hillenburg didn't start the Pennzoil World of Outlaws Series' 47th "A" Feature of the year "up front." His 15.382-second qualifying lap was 1.017 seconds off the pace set by Channellock Fast-Time Award winner Mark Kinser and only the 11th-fastest in the 28-car field, putting him inside the sixth row in the lineup. Kinser's 14.365-second lap around the semi-banked, 1/2-mile oval lowered Ransomville's single-lap standard by .031 seconds. Mark gave former one-lap record holder Greg Hodnett the luxury of starting the Vivarin Dash on the pole by picking the #6 inversion pill. Hodnett won the five-lap race for the right to start the 25-lap main event on the pole. Hodnett drove the #11H Selma Shell Maxim into the lead as the green flag fell in the "A" Feature. Johnny Herrera, Paul McMahan and Don Kreitz, Jr., tangled on the front straightaway, however, forcing a complete restart. Outside polesitter Sammy Swindell burst into the lead as the race resumed. Steve Kinser passed Dave Blaney on the front stretch to take over third place as Swindell steered his #1 Channellock Gambler into the low groove in turn one. Swindell was racing away from the 24-car field when Mike Stelter brought out the caution flag with a first-corner spin late in lap four. Three laps later, the #7TW Gold Eagle J&J suffered a broken shock absorber, causing Jeff Swindell to stop in the fourth corner. His crew as unable to fix the problem in time for Swindell to restart the race, forcing Jeff to settle for a 24th-place finish. Steve Kinser passed Hodnett during the ensuing restart and was challenging Swindell for the lead the next time around when he allowed his #11 Quaker State Maxim to hit the guardrail in turn three. Although Kinser's crew managed to repair the #11 in time for him to restart the race, "The King of the Outlaws" was forced to restart at the back of the pack. Swindell raced away from the field again as the race resumed. Mark Kinser executed an inside move on the front straightaway to pass Blaney for third place early in the 10th lap. Hillenburg passed six cars within nine laps, then relegated "The Buckeye Bullet" to fifth place three laps later. Pennzoil World of Outlaws Series Rookie of the Year candidate Donny Schatz drove his family's #15 Blue Beacon Gambler into eighth place from outside the ninth row during the first 12 laps. The leaders were approaching lapped traffic late in lap 13 when Mike Stelter and Mike Lauterborn collided in turn three. Swindell and Hodnett were unable to avoid the crash and Mark Kinser suffered a flat left front tire in the melee. Hillenburg, running in fourth place when the crash occurred, was the leader when the green flag replaced the yellow. He took control of the race, catching the backmarkers during the 20th lap and taking the checkered flag with eight car-lengths to spare. "It seemed like all the lapped cars were running the same line we were, but we managed to get through," Hillenburg said. "I thought we were doing pretty well to get up to fourth, and then those guys had trouble up in (turn) three. That was obviously the break we needed." Blaney finished the main event in second place, ahead of Jac Haudenschild, Schatz and Stevie Smith. "The King of the Outlaws" raced back through the field to finish sixth. His 42nd top-10 finish of the season pushed him back into first place in the World of Outlaws' driver standings. Craig Dollansky, making his debut in Jim Wahlie's #1W Conn West Maxim, won the "B" Feature and finished seventh in the main event. Joe Gaerte finished eighth, while Mark Kinser passed Billy Pauch during the final lap to claim ninth place. WoO 1997 Pennzoil World of Outlaws Series Ransomville Speedway, Ransomville, NY Monday, July 28, Feature Program #47 Qualifications: 1. Mark Kinser, Kinser 5M, 14.365 (new one- lap record); 2. Steve Kinser, Kinser 11, 14.838; 3. Stevie Smith, Smith 19, 14.888; 4. Craig Dollansky, Wahlie 1W, 14.965; 5. Sammy Swindell, Swindell 1, 15.050; 6. Dave Blaney, Blaney/Hylton 10, 15.098; 7. Greg Hodnett, Helm 11H, 15.162; 8. Jac Haudenschild, Elden 22, 15.277; 9. Tim Kuhn, Kuhn 2C, 15.316; 10. Billy Pauch, Zemaitis 1Z, 15.365; 11. Andy Hillenburg, Hillenburg 2, 15.382; 12. Joe Gaerte, Gaerte 3G, 15.462; 13. Johnny Herrera, Sonner 47, 15.532; 14. Dion Hindi, Hindi 11D, 15.572; 15. Don Kreitz, Jr., Kreitz 69K, 15.588; 16. Paul McMahan, Stanton 75, 15.626; 17. Jeff Swindell, Two Winners 7TW, 15.818; 18. Donny Schatz, Schatz 15, 15.941; 19. Mike Woodring, Woodring 19W, 16.133; 20. Mike Lauterborn, Lauterborn 41, 16.311; 21. Phil Mott, Mott 15M, 16.700; 22. Rob Hart, Hart 5H, 16.766; 23. Mike Stelter, Stelter 63, 17.353; 24. Barry Knause, Knause 8, 17.386; 25. Lee Sanders, Sanders 26, 17.430; 26. Bob Mesmer, Mesmer 20, 17.657; 27. Dennis Brookman, Brookman 14, 17.830; 28. George Schuldt, Schuldt 03, no time. First Heat Race (eight laps): 1. Johnny Herrera, 2. Mark Kinser, 3. Paul McMahan, 4. Greg Hodnett, 5. Billy Pauch, 6. Mike Woodring, 7. Craig Dollansky, 8. Lee Sanders, 9. Rob Hart, 10. George Schuldt. (first six qualified for the "A" Feature) Second Heat Race (eight laps): 1. Jeff Swindell, 2. Steve Kinser, 3. Andy Hillenburg, 4. Dion Hindi, 5. Jac Haudenschild, 6. Sammy Swindell, 7. Mike Lauterborn, 8. Mike Stelter, 9. Bob Mesmer. (first six qualified for the "A" Feature) Third Heat Race (eight laps): 1. Don Kreitz, Jr., 2. Dave Blaney, 3. Donny Schatz, 4. Stevie Smith, 5. Joe Gaerte, 6. Tim Kuhn, 7. Phil Mott, 8. Barry Knause, 9. Dennis Brookman. (first six qualified for the "A" Feature) Vivarin Dash (five laps): 1. Greg Hodnett, 2. Sammy Swindell, 3. Dave Blaney, 4. Steve Kinser, 5. Mark Kinser, 6. Jac Haudenschild, 7. Stevie Smith, 8. Tim Kuhn. (finish determined the first eight starting positions in the "A" Feature) B Feature (12 laps): 1. Craig Dollansky, 2. Rob Hart, 3. Mike Stelter, 4. Lee Sanders, 5. Phil Mott, 6. Mike Lauterborn, 7. Barry Knause ($200); 8. Bob Mesmer ($180); 9. Dennis Brookman ($150); 10. George Schuldt ($110). (first six qualified for the "A" Feature) A Feature (25 laps): 1. Andy Hillenburg ($7,000); 2. Dave Blaney ($4,000); 3. Jac Haudenschild ($3,000); 4. Donny Schatz ($2,500); 5. Stevie Smith ($2,300); 6. Steve Kinser ($2,200); 7. Craig Dollansky ($2,120); 8. Joe Gaerte ($2,000); 9. Mark Kinser ($1,700); 10. Billy Pauch ($1,600); 11. Don Kreitz, Jr. ($1,200); 12. Mike Woodring ($1,150); 13. Paul McMahan ($1,100); 14. Sammy Swindell ($1,050); 15. Tim Kuhn ($1,000); 16. Lee Sanders ($720); 17. Dion Hindi ($600); 18. Rob Hart ($520); 19. Greg Hodnett ($500); 20. Johnny Herrera ($500); 21. Mike Lauterborn ($520); 22. Mike Stelter ($520); 23. Phil Mott ($520); 24. Jeff Swindell ($500). Lap leaders: Sammy Swindell 1-13, Andy Hillenburg 14-25 Channellock Fast-Time Award winner: Mark Kinser WoO

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series World of Outlaws
Drivers Andy Hillenburg , Mark Kinser , Donny Schatz , Steve Kinser , Sammy Swindell , Craig Dollansky , Paul McMahan , Billy Pauch , Dave Blaney , Jac Haudenschild , Johnny Herrera , Jeff Swindell