Perris Race Report

Lasoski Takes Points Lead With Perris Victory By Richard Day LAKE PERRIS, CA (February 26) -- The more things change, the more they stay the same. A year ago, Danny Lasoski won the season opener at...

Lasoski Takes Points Lead With Perris Victory By Richard Day LAKE PERRIS, CA (February 26) -- The more things change, the more they stay the same. A year ago, Danny Lasoski won the season opener at Kings Speedway and Johnny Herrera stood in victory lane at Perris Auto Speedway 24 hours later. "The Dude" followed Herrera's season-opening victory in Hanford with a $10,000 triumph at "The PAS" Saturday. Consistent top- three finishes allowed Lasoski to leave California with the points lead each time. "With the Pennzoil World of Outlaws in 2000, the name of the game is racing," Danny said. "You have to race hard every time you're on the track, and I think we can race as hard as anyone right now. Our goal is still the championship, and we're just glad to start the season off with good, consistent finishes." Lasoski, the eighth-fastest qualifier in the 39-car field, won the Fourth NAPA AUTO PARTS Heat Race and followed Randy Hannagan across the finish line in the Second Channellock Dash. Third NAPA Auto Parts Heat Race winner Craig Dollansky won the First Channellock Dash for the right to start the 30-lap main event on the pole. Hannagan drove the #8H Energy Release Eagle around Dollansky in the fourth corner as the green flag fell, only to have Brad Furr hit the wall in turn two and bring out the caution flag. A broken rear end kept Furr from restarting as the cars lined up side-by-side again. Dollansky kept pace with Hannagan on the ensuing restart and surged ahead in the first corner. The field completed the first lap just milliseconds before Brian Paulus crashed in turn four. Dollansky, the "A" Feature winner at Perris Auto Speedway last October 30th, raced away from the field on the ensuing single-file restart. His #7 Polydome Maxim was 15 car-lengths ahead of Hannagan when he entered lapped traffic six laps later. Lasoski, who passed Dale Blaney during the opening lap, challenged Hannagan for second place during the eighth lap. They raced wheel-to- wheel from the first corner to turn four during lap 11 before "The Dude" surged ahead. Jac Haudenschild, who started outside the fifth row, rode the rim around Blaney and Steve Kinser to move from seventh to fifth place the next time around. "The Wild Child" and Kinser exchanged the position during the next two laps before Haudenschild gained the advantage. Lasoski caught Dollansky early in the 17th lap, and took the lead with a high move in the second corner one lap later. Dollansky battled "The Dude" in dense lapped traffic for the next nine laps, but was unable to regain first place. A mechanical malfunction in the #15 ParkerStores Maxim forced Donny Schatz to stop in turn two midway through the 28th lap, taking the leaders out of lapped traffic. Peter Murphy spun in the first corner as the yellow flag waved. Sammy Swindell surrendered 15th place when he replaced his flat right front tire during the caution period. Lasoski drove the #83 Beef Packers Eagle away from Dollansky as the race resumed, and claimed the 24th "A" Feature of his Pennzoil World of Outlaws Series career with 10 car-lengths to spare. "We've never been very good here," Lasoski admitted. "This is the first time I can remember where the track's been tacky. "That last caution helped us a bunch. I was out of tear-offs, and it was getting pretty tough to see in traffic." Haudenschild steered the #22 Elden Racing Maxim into the high groove to pass Jeff Shepard for third place as they headed for the checkered flag. Steve Kinser finished fifth, ahead of Blaney, 14th-starting Brooke Tatnell, First NAPA AUTO PARTS Heat Race winner Daryn Pittman, Stevie Smith and Vivarin Fast-Time Award winner Joey Saldana. Saldana, who was also the fastest qualifier on opening night at Kings Speedway, circled Perris' semi-banked, 1/2-mile oval at an average speed of 127.932 m.p.h. His 14.070-second lap sliced .074 seconds off the record Mark Kinser set on November 1, 1996. After finishing fifth in the "B" Feature, Andy Hillenburg used a provisional to start the main event and finished in 23rd place. Herrera's car owner, Craig Cormack, will have a chance to try his luck with his favorite roulette/sprint car number this week as the Pennzoil World of Outlaws Series heads for Las Vegas Motor Speedway for a $133,385 event Thursday through Saturday. Dave Argabright will make his debut as a pit reporter when TNN televises Friday's race live, starting at 10 p.m. eastern time.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series World of Outlaws
Drivers Andy Hillenburg , Brad Furr , Mark Kinser , Danny Lasoski , Steve Kinser , Sammy Swindell , Craig Dollansky , Brian Paulus , Daryn Pittman , Joey Saldana , Randy Hannagan , Jac Haudenschild , Johnny Herrera , Peter Murphy