Outlaws' 'Mean 15' to invade Lawrenceburg Speedway

LAWRENCEBURG, IN (May 5) -- It didn't take Paul McMahan long to show what he could do in the ...

LAWRENCEBURG, IN (May 5) -- It didn't take Paul McMahan long to show what he could do in the #11H Selma Shell Maxim last year. McMahan, who car owner David Helm hired a little more than a week before, won the World of Outlaws Sprint Series "A" Feature at Lawrenceburg Speedway last May 6th in only his third race with the team.

"Man, this is awesome!" McMahan yelled to the largest crowd to ever watch a race at Lawrenceburg Speedway. "My guys worked their tails off to give me a good car tonight. The Selma Shell car was just perfect. Dave Helm and the Selma Shell team gave me an opportunity to drive this car, and Sonny (Kratzer) has been great to work with. I just wish he was here to celebrate with us tonight. We're all pretty much on even ground here, but it's really nice to be able to win. The last time I raced here, I won the Hoosier Fall Classic, and to be able to come back and win with the Outlaws is a pretty cool deal. I'd just like to thank the fans for coming out here tonight."

McMahan, the only driver in the World of Outlaws Sprint Series top 10 without a top-five finish this season, would love to make it two straight victories at Lawrenceburg Speedway when the "Mean 15" and a strong supporting cast return to the semi-banked, ¼-mile oval Thursday. When Kentucky Lake Motor Speedway hosts the fire-breathing, mudslinging sprint cars Saturday, it will be the World of Outlaws Sprint Series' first event at Calvert City's high-banked, 3/8-mile oval in four years.

The Outdoor Channel will tape all the action at Lawrenceburg Speedway for its May 26th "Wednesday Night Horsepower" show. The one-hour telecast will be one of 35 The Outdoor Channel will air every Wednesday from 8 p.m. to 9 p.m. Eastern Time between March 31st and November 24th. Additional replays will be aired Saturdays at 8 a.m. Eastern Time and Thursdays at 10 p.m. Pacific Time.

McMahan, who also won at Tri-City Speedway last season, raced into the top 10 in seven of the first nine "A" Features. Paul ranks eighth in the World of Outlaws Sprint Series point standings, only one point behind Craig Dollansky.

Dollansky set Lawrenceburg's qualifying record with a 10.175-second lap last May. "The Crowd Pleaser," who won the main event at I-55 Raceway April 17th, finished sixth at Lawrenceburg in 2003.

Danny Lasoski, Tim Shaffer, Donny Schatz, Daryn Pittman, Kraig Kinser and Jason Sides are the other drivers ranking in the World of Outlaws Sprint Series top 10 without an "A" Feature victory.

Lasoski has chopped 44 points off standings leader Steve Kinser's advantage in the last three races. "The Dude" drove 2002 NASCAR Nextel Cup champion Tony Stewart's #20 J.D. Byrider Eagle into fourth place at the Talladega Short Track and third place at Knoxville Raceway.

Shaffer has driven the #83 Beef Packers Eagle into the top 10 in eight main events, including five in the top five. "The Steel City Outlaw" raced into fourth place from inside the 11th row in the Budweiser Spring Classic at Knoxville Raceway last Saturday.

Schatz has recorded nine top-10 finishes -- three in the top five -- through the first 11 "A" Features. The 1997 Kevin Gobrecht Rookie of the Year drove the #15 Parker Store J&J into second place in the Texas Shootout at Houston Raceway Park March 27th.

Pittman, who received the Manufacturers' Hard Charger Award in 2002, has driven the #21 Hop & Sack CMC into the top 10 in nine main events. Daryn was only 10 car-lengths behind when Dollansky took the checkered flag at I-55 Raceway.

Kraig Kinser, the leader in the Kevin Gobrecht Rookie of the Year race, led the first 27¾ laps before settling for a second-place finish in the NGK Spark Plugs Shootout at the Texas Motor Speedway Dirt Track April 3rd. Kraig ranks sixth in the point standings with eight top-10 finishes.

Sides, the 2003 Rookie of the Year, drove the #7S Sides Motorsports Maxim into fourth place in the Cactus Classic at Manzanita Speedway and fourth place at I-55 Raceway.

Steve Kinser, who leads the standings by 55 points over Lasoski, won the inaugural World of Outlaws Sprint Series race at Lawrenceburg Speedway on May 11, 1979. "The King of the Outlaws" has driven his #11 Quaker State Maxim to victory in five main events this season, including the 500th of his career.

Jason Meyers drove the #14 Elite Landscaping Maxim to victory in the Snap-on Tools Shootout at Perris Auto Speedway and at the Talladega Short Track.

Hot laps at Lawrenceburg Speedway start at 6 p.m., with qualifying to follow. The green flag will drop for the First Heat Race at 7:30 p.m.

Adult reserved seats are going for $32, and $30 for general admission. Children 6-12 will be admitted for $15 and pit combos are $35. Pit passes on race day cost $40.


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series World of Outlaws
Drivers Tony Stewart , Tim Shaffer , Danny Lasoski , Donny Schatz , Steve Kinser , Craig Dollansky , Daryn Pittman , Jason Meyers , Jason Sides , Kraig Kinser , Paul McMahan