Outlaws at State Fair Speedway Race Report 2000-06-22

Hillenburg Extends Streak in Bud Carson Memorial By Richard Day OKLAHOMA CITY, OK (June 22) -- Andy Hillenburg doesn't get to race in his home state very often. When the opportunity presents itself,...

Hillenburg Extends Streak in Bud Carson Memorial By Richard Day OKLAHOMA CITY, OK (June 22) -- Andy Hillenburg doesn't get to race in his home state very often. When the opportunity presents itself, he and his crew members do everything they can to make the most of it. Hillenburg won his second straight "A" Feature Thursday when the Pennzoil World of Outlaws Series sanctioned the O'Reilly's Auto Parts Bud Carson Memorial at State Fair Speedway. It marked the first time an Oklahoman has won the race honoring promoter Shane Carson's father. "This is really good," Hillenburg said. "I'm really happy to get a win here, and I'm glad Shane could finally get a show in. It's a shame we can't race here two or three times a year, but I'm really glad to get one for Oklahoma." Inclement weather, which kept the series from racing at Oklahoma City's semi-banked, 1/2-mile oval all last season, forced officials to postpone the race from Wednesday to Thursday. Hillenburg, who also won a Preliminary and "A" Feature at the O'Reilly's Auto Parts Sunflower Shootout at Heartland Park Topeka last weekend, closed to within 34 points of sixth place Dale Blaney in the point standings. Hillenburg, the third-fastest qualifier in the 38-car field, drove his #2 Luxaire J&J into second place in the Third NAPA AUTO PARTS Heat Race. His runner-up run in the First CHANNELLOCK Dash gave him the second row inside starting position the 30-lap main event. CHANNELLOCK Dash winners Steve Kinser and Stevie Smith race wheel- to-wheel down the front straightaway as the green flag fell in the "A" Feature, but Travis Rilat's second-corner spin forced a restart. Smith drove his #19 Ingersoll-Rand Black Bandit around Kinser high in the fourth corner to take the lead as the green flag replaced the yellow, only to have Wayne Johnson crash in turn two. Smith took the lead again when the race resumed, and Fourth NAPA AUTO PARTS Heat Race winner Jac Haudenschild passed Kinser with an inside move between the first and second corners. Smith was building a comfortable advantage when Larry Neighbors stopped on the front straightaway after tangling with Mike Goodman. The defending Bud Carson Memorial champion raced away from the field on the ensuing restart, and was 12 car-lengths ahead of Haudenschild when he entered lapped traffic five laps later. Kinser challenged Haudenschild for second place during the 10th lap, then dropped back to fifth when Sammy Swindell and Hillenburg passed him during the next two laps. "The Wild Child" caught Smith early in the 15th lap, and took the lead deep in the fourth corner. Hillenburg used a similar move in turn three to pass Swindell for third several seconds later. Haudenschild, Smith and Hillenburg raced three-abreast through the third corner as they battled for the lead late in lap 22, but each driver maintained his position. Hillenburg won a back-straightaway drag race with Smith two laps later, and took the lead when engine trouble in the #22 fetchOmatic.com Maxim caused Haudenschild to slow late in the 25th lap. Haudenschild dropped out the next time around. Kinser, the Pennzoil World of Outlaws Series' points leader, passed Smith for second place with an inside move between turns three and four late in lap 29. He was five car-lengths behind when Hillenburg took the checkered flag. "Our car was pretty tight early in the race," Andy said. "It was a real handful for a while, but then we got some of the fuel burned off and got working pretty well. "'Diesel' (Keith Carlson) and Jason (Hageman) do a great job keeping things working here. Now we get to drive to Nebraska and try to get another one (at the Eagle Nationals)." Smith finished in third place, ahead of Swindell, Third NAPA AUTO PARTS Heat Race Mark Kinser, Tim Shaffer, Vivarin Fast-Time Award winner Danny Lasoski, 21st-starting Danny Wood, Donny Schatz and Daryn Pittman of Owasso, OK. Lasoski received his first Vivarin Fast-Time Award of the season for pacing the qualifying session with a 110.940-m.p.h. lap. WoO

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series World of Outlaws
Drivers Andy Hillenburg , Tim Shaffer , Mark Kinser , Danny Lasoski , Donny Schatz , Steve Kinser , Sammy Swindell , Larry Neighbors , Travis Rilat , Jac Haudenschild , Wayne Johnson