Outlaws at Devil''s Bowl, Race Report 2000-03-11

'Dude' Defends Spring Nationals Championship By Richard Day MESQUITE, TX (March 11) -- Finishing second doesn't sit very well with Danny Lasoski. Although he was "pretty happy" with the...

'Dude' Defends Spring Nationals Championship By Richard Day MESQUITE, TX (March 11) -- Finishing second doesn't sit very well with Danny Lasoski. Although he was "pretty happy" with the successful season the Beef Packers team enjoyed in 1999, he will settle for nothing less than "bringing the first Pennzoil World of Outlaws Series championship of the new millennium back to Missouri." "The Dude" kept pace with Jac Haudenschild in the point standings Saturday by successfully defending his Spring Nationals title at Devil's Bowl Speedway. He executed a daring, second-corner move to pass series points leader in dense lapped traffic with less than seven laps remaining en route to the $10,000 victory. "Things are getting so equal with the Pennzoil World of Outlaws Series, sometimes it's better when you're running second in situations like that," Danny said. "We knew we had to get by Jac, or we'd have that many more points to make up. "With the Pennzoil World of Outlaws Series, you don't win as a driver; you win as a team. My guys (Mark Ellis, Jack Hickman and Craig Stevens) work really hard, and Dennis Roth has given me the very best equipment. This new Wesmar engine was great tonight." By finishing second and leading 22 of the 30 laps in the "A" Feature, "The Wild Child" maintained a 13-point advantage over Lasoski as the series takes a weekend off before its first visit to Joplin 66 Speedway in Joplin, MO, March 24-25. Lasoski, the third-fastest qualifier in the 46-car field, finished second in the Third NAPA AUTO PARTS Heat Race and the First Channellock Dash for the right to start the main event inside the second row. Haudenschild steered the #22 Elden Racing Maxim around pole-sitter Joey Saldana as the green flag fell in the "A" Feature. Lasoski passed Saldana later in the first lap and immediately started battling "The Wild Child." "The Dude" steered the #83 Beef Packers Eagle all over the semi- banked, 1/2-mile oval, but was unable to surge past Haudenschild. The leaders entered lapped traffic early in the sixth lap. Lasoski increased the pressure as the leaders sliced through dense lapped traffic, and took the inside line through turn two for the lead early in the 23rd lap. Ironically, Haudenschild executed a similar move to pass Second NAPA AUTO PARTS Heat Race winner Randy Hannagan for first place on his way to winning the Second Channellock Dash. "The Dude" was four car-lengths ahead of Haudenschild when Brian Paulus took the #28 Verdelli Farms Maxim for a spin in the second corner five laps later, setting up a two-lap dash to the checkered flag. Paul McMahan, who was running 12th, Donny Schatz and Brad Furr joined Paulus in the pit area with mechanical problems during the caution period and were unable to restart the race. "The Wild Child" made several runs at Lasoski, but was four car- lengths behind when they took the checkered flag. The victory was the second of the year for "The Dude," who also won the main event at Perris Auto Speedway. Saldana climbed four positions in the point standings by finishing in third place, ahead of Vivarin Fast-Time Award winner Mark Kinser, Third NAPA AUTO PARTS Heat Race winner Sammy Swindell, Johnny Herrera, Steve Kinser, Hannagan, Lance Blevins and 17th-starting Stevie Smith. Mark Kinser, who held the single-lap record at the Pennzoil World of Outlaws Series birthplace before Saldana broke it last October, paced the qualifying session with a 14.022-second, 128.370-m.p.h. lap. Shane Stewart hit a retaining tire in the first corner late in the Second Channellock Dash and flipped over the bank between turns one and two. The crash destroyed the #9H Holbrook Motorsports Maxim and kept Stewart from starting the "A" Feature. Ricky Logan replaced him the main event lineup. Andy Hillenburg won the "C" Feature but, despite passing five cars in the "B" Feature, failed to qualify for the main event. He replaced Donnie Crawford in the #1H sprinter in the "A" Feature. Terry McCarl took recuperating Dennis Moore's place in the #7TW Two Winners Racing J&J and finished seventh in he "B" Feature. WoO

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series World of Outlaws
Drivers Andy Hillenburg , Brad Furr , Mark Kinser , Danny Lasoski , Donny Schatz , Steve Kinser , Sammy Swindell , Joey Saldana , Paul McMahan , Randy Hannagan , Shane Stewart , Mark Ellis , Jac Haudenschild , Johnny Herrera