Oklahoma City Sunday report

JEFF SWINDELL WINS STATE FAIR'S BUD CARSON MEMORIAL By Richard Day OKLAHOMA CITY, OK (June 18) - If there was a driver who needed to win the Bud Carson Memorial, the Father's Day matinee at State Fair...

JEFF SWINDELL WINS STATE FAIR'S BUD CARSON MEMORIAL By Richard Day OKLAHOMA CITY, OK (June 18) - If there was a driver who needed to win the Bud Carson Memorial, the Father's Day matinee at State Fair Speedway, it was Jeff Swindell. Jeff, who almost lost his father to a heart attack in March, was the only driver ranking among the World of Outlaws' top seven who hadn't won an "A" Feature this year. Swindell thrilled the standing-room-only crowd with a flag-to-flag victory Sunday. Running his streak of top-five finishes to six pushed him to within three points of Andy Hillenburg in their battle for fifth place in the Skoal Outlaw Series point standings. Jeff, the fourth-fastest qualifier, earned the right to start the main event on the front row by following Steve Kinser across the finish line in the Vivarin Dash. Kinser, a seven-time winner at State Fair Speedway, burst into the lead with a low move into turn four as the green flag fell in the "A" Feature. Swindell steered the #7TW Gold Eagle Maxim around Steve in the second corner, however, and took over first place on the back straightaway. Jeff staved off Kinser's attempted pass in turn three the next time around, and opened a three-car-length advantage during the third lap. He increased his margin to 10 car-lengths by lap five, and entered lapped traffic six laps into the race. Danny Wood's second-corner spin early in the seventh lap took the leaders out of lapped traffic. While three lapped cars separated Swindell and Kinser when the race resumed, Steve passed them quickly and continued to challenge Jeff for first place. Swindell raced away from Kinser, however, and opened a 15-car-length advantage as Mark Kinser pressured Steve for the runner-up spot during the 11th lap. Jeff was a half-straightaway ahead of the Kinser cousins when he caught the backmarkers two laps later. Steve narrowed the gap to 10 car-lengths in traffic midway through the race, and caught Swindell with 11 laps remaining. A quick move around Randy Hannagan in the second corner the next time around gave Jeff some breathing room. Jeff increased his lead to 15 car-lengths with daring moves between the backmarkers during the 25th lap, and cruised to a 10-car-length victory. "We've been running good - we won four (Wells Lamont) Hard Charger Awards going into this race," Jeff said. "We got a good starting position tonight, and that's what we needed." Steve and Mark Kinser finished second and third, respectively, and Hillenburg won a five-lap battle with Dave Blaney to claim fourth place. Rounding out the top 10 in the main event were Jac Haudenschild, fast- qualifier Stevie Smith, Greg Hodnett, Danny Lasoski and Second Snap-on Tools Heat Race winner Mike Peters. Smith's 16.535-second qualifying run clipped .092 seconds off the previous one-lap record and earned him his fourth Ecowater Fast-Time Award this season. Joe Gaerte received his third Wells Lamont Hard Charger Award of the year for driving the #77 Cornwell Tools J&J into 12th place from his ninth- row starting position. Gary Wright, who finished 10th when State Fair Speedway hosted the World of Outlaws' Spring Nationals, was forced to watch the "A" Feature from the pits. Wright, the main event winner at the Devil's Bowl in March, was running fourth in the First Snap-on Tools Heat Race when he hit the turn-three guard rail and flipped. His crew was unable to get the mangled #9 Action Rent-to-Own Schnee ready to start the "B" Feature. TNN: The Nashville Network is televising the Knoxville Nationals "Live in '95." Be sure to tune in for the August 19th telecast between 10 p.m. and midnight (EDT). WoO 1995 WORLD OF OUTLAWS/SKOAL OUTLAW SERIES Bud Carson Memorial, State Fair Speedway, Oklahoma City, OK Sunday, June 18, Feature Program #31 Qualifications: 1. Stevie Smith, Motter 71M, 16.535 (new one-lap record); 2. Steve Kinser, Kinser 11, 16.539; 3. Mark Kinser, Kinser 5M, 16.584; 4. Jeff Swindell, Two Winners 7TW, 16.623; 5. Andy Hillenburg, Hillenburg 2, 16.655; 6. Tommie Estes, Jr., Gray 61, 16.724; 7. Dave Blaney, Luna 10, 16.793; 8. Jac Haudenschild, Elden 22, 16.845; 9. Greg Hodnett, Two Winners 8TW, 16.858; 10. Gary Wright, White 9, 16.863; 11. Danny Lasoski, Sonner 47, 16.876; 12. Aaron Berryhill, Berryhill 97, 16.895; 13. Randy Hannagan, Hannagan 1x, 16.916; 14. Mike Peters, Grandstaff 66, 16.928; 15. Lance Blevins, Blevins 21L, 17.218; 16. Shane Stewart, Stewart 9S, 17.250; 17. Shane Carson, Helms 12$, 17.321; 18. Joe Gaerte, Hamilton 77, 17.413; 19. Larry Neighbors, Neighbors 29, 17.457; 20. Clay Bontrager, Bontrager 7B, 17.479; 21. Donnie Crawford, Hillenburg 2C, 17.511; 22. Danny Wood, Jarnigan 1N, 17.606; 23. Aaron Lemmons, Lemmons 12, 17.657; 24. Gary Flatt, Bishop 9F, 18.052; 25. Tracy Cramer, Edmonson 2E, 18.192; 26. Ken Whitehouse, Whitehouse 21, 18.207; 27. Ron Souter, Souter 33, 18.230; 28. Bruce Jennings, Howeth 75, 18.331. First Snap-on Tools Heat Race (eight laps): 1. Dave Blaney, 2. Jeff Swindell, 3. Randy Hannagan, 4. Shane Stewart, 5. Stevie Smith, 6. Tracy Cramer, 7. Bruce Jennings, 8. Larry Neighbors, 9. Gary Wright, 10. Danny Wood. (first six qualified for the "A" Feature) Second Snap-on Tools Heat Race (eight laps): 1. Mike Peters, 2. Jac Haudenschild, 3. Danny Lasoski, 4. Steve Kinser, 5. Andy Hillenburg, 6. Shane Carson, 7. Aaron Lemmons, 8. Clay Bontrager, 9. Ken Whitehouse. (first six qualified for the "A" Feature) Third Snap-on Tools Heat Race (eight laps): 1. Joe Gaerte, 2. Lance Blevins, 3. Mark Kinser, 4. Greg Hodnett, 5. Tommie Estes, Jr., 6. Aaron Berryhill, 7. Donnie Crawford, 8. Gary Flatt, 9. Ron Souter. (first six qualified for the "A" Feature) Vivarin Dash (five laps): 1. Steve Kinser, 2. Jeff Swindell, 3. Stevie Smith, 4. Mark Kinser, 5. Andy Hillenburg, 6. Tommie Estes, Jr., 7. Dave Blaney, 8. Jac Haudenschild. (finish determined the first eight starting positions in the "A" Feature) B Feature (12 laps): 1. Donnie Crawford, 2. Clay Bontrager, 3. Danny Wood, 4. Aaron Lemmons, 5. Ken Whitehouse, 6. Gary Flatt, 7. Bruce Jennings ($210). DNS - Gary Wright, Ron Souter, Larry Neighbors. (first six qualified for the "A" Feature) A Feature (30 laps): 1. Jeff Swindell ($6,010); 2. Steve Kinser ($3,510); 3. Mark Kinser ($2,510); 4. Andy Hillenburg ($2,210); 5. Dave Blaney ($2,110); 6. Jac Haudenschild ($2,010); 7. Stevie Smith ($1,610); 8. Greg Hodnett ($1,510); 9. Danny Lasoski ($1,410); 10. Mike Peters ($1,310); 11. Tommie Estes, Jr. ($1,160); 12. Joe Gaerte ($1,110); 13. Lance Blevins ($1,060); 14. Shane Stewart ($1,010); 15. Randy Hannagan ($710); 16. Aaron Berryhill ($510); 17. Aaron Lemmons ($410); 18. Danny Wood ($410); 19. Clay Bontrager ($410); 20. Donnie Crawford ($410); 21. Ken Whitehouse ($410); 22. Tracy Cramer ($410); 23. Gary Flatt ($410); 24. Shane Carson ($410). Lap leader: Jeff Swindell 1-30 Wells Lamont Hard Charger Award winner: Joe Gaerte Ecowater Fast-Time Award winner: Stevie Smith WoO*eof

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series World of Outlaws
Drivers Andy Hillenburg , Mark Kinser , Danny Lasoski , Steve Kinser , Larry Neighbors , Aaron Berryhill , Randy Hannagan , Shane Stewart , Dave Blaney , Jac Haudenschild , Jeff Swindell