Memphis Saturday results

'DUDE' PUTS NIGHTMARE TO REST, WINS PIKE COUNTY THRILLER By Richard Day MAGNOLIA, MS (April 2) - What a difference 24 hours can make. Danny Lasoski was less than a quarter-mile from winning the...

'DUDE' PUTS NIGHTMARE TO REST, WINS PIKE COUNTY THRILLER By Richard Day MAGNOLIA, MS (April 2) - What a difference 24 hours can make. Danny Lasoski was less than a quarter-mile from winning the World of Outlaws' "A" Feature at Memphis Motorsports Park Saturday night when a momentary engine malfunction allowed Dave Blaney to pass him for the victory. Sunday night, when the Skoal Outlaw Series tried for a third time to run its $34,485 event at Pike County Speedway, "The Dude" held off Mark Kinser by half a car-length for his first victory of the year. The Pike County event was originally scheduled for March 15th and postponed to March 29th, but both dates were rained out. There was no raining to Lasoski's parade Sunday. "I really like this race track," he said in victory lane. "It's wide enough that you can run high, low and in the middle." Lasoski's green-to-checker victory marked the second time in as many visits the World of Outlaws has made to Pike County that a capacity crowd has been treated to a caution-free main event. He became the sixth different winner in the six "A" Features the Skoal Outlaw Series has run this season. "The Dude" opened the festivities by chopping almost a full second off the one-lap record Kenny Jacobs set at Pike County last year. Besides Lasoski's 14.689-second record-setting lap, 17 other drivers bettered the previous single-lap standard. Lasoski also earned the right to start the 30-lap "A" Feature on the pole by beating Blaney, Kinser, Jeff Swindell, Stevie Smith, Jac Haudenschild and Joe Gaerte across the finish line in the Vivarin Dash. Terry McCarl was scheduled to race in the five-lap race, but a broken rear end suffered in the Third Snap-on Tools Heat Race kept him in the pits. "The Dude" burst into the lead as the green flag fell and immediately steered the #47 Casey's General Stores Maxim to the rim of the semi-banked, 3/8-mile oval. Blaney, racing in the low groove, ran wheel-to-wheel with Lasoski through turn three the next time around, but was unable to make the pass for the lead. Kinser made it a three-car battle for first place during the third lap, passing "The Buckeye Bullet" for the runner-up spot. Blaney regained second place deep in turn two, only to have Mark return the favor high in the fourth corner. Lasoski entered lapped traffic with a six-car-length advantage five laps into the race. Noticing the high groove was losing its bite, "The Dude" dropped down low five laps later. Lasoski caught backmarkers Steve Smith, Tim Engler and Second Snap-on Tools Heat Race winner Rickey Hood during the 15th lap. Kinser narrowed the gap as Danny battled for three laps to pass 1992 World of Outlaws Rookie of the Year Aaron Berryhill. "The Dude" took the high road into the turn one and crossed in front of Berryhill in the second corner to increase his lead to six car-lengths with 11 laps remaining. Kinser cleared Berryhill five laps later, and quickly reeled in the leader. With the white flag flying, Kinser steered the #5M Wirtgen Maxim into the middle groove and threatened to make Lasoski settle for the runner-up spot for the second time in 24 hours. "The Dude" wasn't about to relive that nightmare, however. They headed out of turn four side-by-side, and Lasoski took the checkered flag half a car-length ahead of Mark. "That was the kind of race I expected here," Lasoski said. "I heard somebody back there. I didn't know who it was, but I knew I couldn't slow down. These are the kind of races I enjoy. I hope the fans enjoyed it, too." Blaney finished the main event in third place, ahead of Swindell, Haudenschild, Stevie Smith, Sammy Swindell, Gaerte, First Snap-on Tools Heat Race winner Greg Hodnett and Johnny Herrera. Rookie of the Year candidate Randy Hannagan earned the Wells Lamont Hard Charger Award for passing five cars and finishing in 11th place. The World of Outlaws' fire-breathing, mud-slinging sprint car racing teams will take a couple of weeks off before invading Eldora Speedway for a double-feature event April 14-15. WoO 1995 WORLD OF OUTLAWS/SKOAL OUTLAW SERIES Pike County Speedway, Magnolia, MS, Sunday, April 2, Feature Program #6 Qualifications: 1. Danny Lasoski, Sonner 47, 14.689 (new one-lap record); 2. Dave Blaney, Luna 10, 14.904; 3. Mark Kinser, Kinser 5M, 14.982; 4. Jeff Swindell, Two Winners 7TW, 15.017; 5. Jac Haudenschild, Elden 22, 15.035; 6. Terry McCarl, Hall 24, 15.043; 7. Joe Gaerte, Hamilton 77, 15.097; 8. Stevie Smith, Motter 71M, 15.100; 9. Sammy Swindell, Swindell 1, 15.115; 10. Johnny Herrera, Forbrook 5, 15.124; 11. Bobby Davis, Jr., Davis 4, 15.207; 12. Andy Hillenburg, Hillenburg 2, 15.279; 13. Greg Hodnett, Two Winners 8TW, 15.328; 14. Rickey Hood, Herrera 45x, 15.329; 15. Jeff Shepard, Poston 4A, 15.425; 16. Stevie Randy Hannagan, Hannagan 1x, 15.429; 17. Aaron Berryhill, Berryhill 97, 15.474; 18. Tim Engler, Engler 73, 15.565; 19. Keith Kauffman, Wahlie 1K, 15.736; 20. John Bankston, Bankston 8, 15.968; 21. Ronald Laney, Laney 52, 16.182; 22. Mike Herrington, Jr., Herrington 7, 16.202; 23. Richard Thornhill, Thornhill 23T, 16.702; 24. Steve Smith, Smith 85, 17.054; 25. Harold Henderson, Jr., Anderson 11, 17.182. First Snap-on Tools Heat Race (eight laps): 1. Greg Hodnett, 2. Johnny Herrera, 3. Danny Lasoski, 4. Randy Hannagan, 5. Jeff Swindell, 6. Joe Gaerte, 7. Keith Kauffman, 8. Mike Herrington, Jr., 9. Harold Henderson, Jr. (first nine qualified for the "A" Feature) Second Snap-on Tools Heat Race (eight laps): 1. Rickey Hood, 2. Dave Blaney, 3. Aaron Berryhill, 4. Bobby Davis, Jr., 5. Jac Haudenschild, 6. John Bankston, 7. Stevie Smith, 8. Richard Thornhill. (first eight qualified for the "A" Feature) Third Snap-on Tools Heat Race (eight laps): 1. Mark Kinser, 2. Sammy Swindell, 3. Jeff Shepard, 4. Andy Hillenburg, 5. Tim Engler, 6. Ronald Laney, 7. Steve Smith, 8. Terry McCarl. (first eight qualified for the "A" Feature) Vivarin Dash (five laps): 1. Danny Lasoski, 2. Dave Blaney, 3. Mark Kinser, 4. Jeff Swindell, 5. Stevie Smith, 6. Jac Haudenschild, 7. Joe Gaerte, 8. Terry McCarl. (finish determined the first eight starting positions in the "A" Feature) A Feature (30 laps): 1. Danny Lasoski ($6,010); 2. Mark Kinser ($3,510); 3. Dave Blaney ($2,510); 4. Jeff Swindell ($2,210); 5. Jac Haudenschild ($2,110); 6. Stevie Smith ($2,010); 7. Sammy Swindell ($1,610); 8. Joe Gaerte ($1,510); 9. Greg Hodnett ($1,410); 10. Johnny Herrera ($1,310); 11. Randy Hannagan ($1,160); 12. Andy Hillenburg ($1,110); 13. Bobby Davis, Jr. ($1,060); 14. Keith Kauffman ($1,010); 15. Jeff Shepard ($710); 16. Terry McCarl ($510); 17. Rickey Hood ($410); 18. Aaron Berryhill ($410); 19. Tim Engler ($410); 20. John Bankston ($410); 21. Ronald Laney ($410); 22. Richard Thornhill ($410); 23. Steve Smith ($410); 24. Mike Herrington, Jr. ($410). Lap leader: Danny Lasoski 1-30 Ecowater Fast-Time Award winner: Danny Lasoski Wells Lamont Hard Charger Award winner: Randy Hannagan WoO*eof

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series World of Outlaws
Drivers Steve Smith , Andy Hillenburg , Mark Kinser , Danny Lasoski , Sammy Swindell , Kenny Jacobs , Aaron Berryhill , Randy Hannagan , Dave Blaney , Jac Haudenschild , Johnny Herrera , Jeff Swindell