Magic City report 96-08-21

Mark Kinser Continues Winning Ways at Magic City By Richard Day BILLINGS, MT (August 21) - It wasn't enough that Mark Kinser accepted a pair of $100,000 checks on consecutive weekends after winning "The...

Mark Kinser Continues Winning Ways at Magic City By Richard Day BILLINGS, MT (August 21) - It wasn't enough that Mark Kinser accepted a pair of $100,000 checks on consecutive weekends after winning "The Historic Big One" and The Amoco Knoxville Nationals. When the Skoal Outlaw Series opened its Third Annual Wild Wild Northwest Tour Wednesday at Magic City Speedway, he wanted to extend his lead in the point standings and pick up another $6,000 first prize. Although it was something of an upset when Kinser failed to win the EcoWater Quick-Time Award for only the 19th time this season, he won his 23rd Vivarin Dash for the right to start the "A" Feature on the pole, then led all 40 laps for his 21st victory this year. Dave Blaney, who trailed Mark by 388 points after following him across the finish line in the second straight event, received his third EcoWater Quick-Time Award of the year after setting Magic City's one-lap record. "The Buckeye Bullet," the fastest of nine drivers breaking the one-lap standard Sammy Swindell set two years ago, circled the semi-banked, 3/8-mile oval in 11.826 seconds. Blaney started inside Kinser on the front row of the seven- lap dash, but followed him under the checkered flag. Mark burst into the lead from the pole in the main event, and got some help from some timely red and caution periods to maintain the lead throughout. Kinser entered lapped traffic within four laps after the green flag fell in the "A" Feature, only to have a clear track ahead of him after "B" Feature winner Shane Liebig flipped on the front stretch two laps later. The red flag also nullified Blaney's second-corner move into the lead seconds earlier. Brian Paulus' best qualifying night of the year was marred by a turn-three spin during the sixth-lap restart and a lap-eight flip in the fourth corner. A turn-one collision involving Jim Carr and Jesse Mota sent Carr's #7M American Fire Extinguishers Maxim flipping into Fourth Quaker State Heat Race winner Johnny Herrera the next time around. Jeff Swindell, winner of the World of Outlaws' inaugural race at Magic City two years ago, was running second during the 15th lap when the #7TW Gold Eagle Maxim suffered a broken left rear shock absorber. Jeff somehow managed to keep the ill-handling machine under control and finished in seventh place. Blaney returned to the runner-up spot and executed his second apparent pass for the lead midway through the race high in the second corner. Unfortunately for him, Rob Johnson's turn-two spin nullified the pass, and "The Buckeye Bullet" returned to the runner-up spot as the race resumed. Steve Kinser, winner of the Skoal Outlaw Series at Magic City last August 22nd, was challenging Blaney for third place with six laps remaining when he allowed the #11 Quaker State Maxim to hit the inside retaining wall. The impact with the wall flattened his left rear tire and allowed Andy Hillenburg, Second Quaker State Heat Race winner Stevie Smith and Sammy Swindell to race past. Mark maintained a comfortable advantage during the final 20 laps of the race and took the checkered flag with 10 car-lengths to spare. Blaney held off Hillenburg for his 13th second-place finish of the year. Smith finished fourth, ahead of Sammy Swindell, Steve Kinser, Jeff Swindell, 13th-starting Joey Saldana, Lance Blevins and Joe Gaerte. Tim Gee, racing with the World of Outlaws for the first time in eight years, won the First Quaker State Heat Race and passed five sprinters to finish 15th in the main event. Kevin Gobrecht, fresh from his third-place run in Knoxville Raceway's $56,000 Sunday-night race, qualified 16th quick and finished sixth in the Fourth Quaker State Heat Race. The #22 Pennzoil Maxim was unable to start the "B" Feature, however. WoO 1996 World of Outlaws/Skoal Outlaw Series Magic City Speedway, Billings, MT Wednesday, August 21, 1996, Feature Program #50 Qualifications: 1. Dave Blaney, Luna 10, 11.826 (new one-lap record); 2. Mark Kinser, Kinser 5M, 11.905; 3. Brian Paulus, P&P Motorsports 28, 11.973; 4. Steve Kinser, Kinser 11, 11.997, 5. Jeff Swindell, Two Winners 7TW, 12.075; 6. Joe Gaerte, Gaerte 3G, 12.108; 7. Sammy Swindell, Swindell 1, 12.114; 8. Andy Hillenburg, Hillenburg 2, 12.129; 9. Jim Carr, McCarr 7M, 12.260; 10. Stevie Smith, Motter 71M, 12.294; 11. Lance Blevins, Blevins 21, 12.311; 12. Johnny Herrera, Sonner 47, 12.349; 13. Joey Saldana, Stanton 75, 12.445; 14. Steve Beitler, Beitler 21, 12.454; 15. Travis Cram, Cram 92, 12.562; 16. Kevin Gobrecht, Elden 22, 12.664; 17. Shane Liebig, Liebig 10L, 12.872; 18. Rob Johnson, Johnson 17x, 12.954; 19. Butch Gilbert, Gilbert 04, 13.100; 20. Ivan Worden, Worden 63, 13.103; 21. Tim Gee, Gee & Gee Racing 4, 13.227; 22. Doug Strong, Ostermiller 12, 13.235; 23. Roger Crocket, Crocket 11C, 13.237; 24. Gary Lynch, Helm 49, 13.252; 25. Mike Wasina, Jr., Wasina 7W, 13.256; 26. Jesse Mota, White 2D, 13.305; 27. Mike Wasina, Sr., Wasina 9A, 13.353; 28. Richie Peterson, Peterson 23, 13.407; 29. Mike Quigley, Quigley 75M, 13.428; 30. Ned Powers, Powers 0, 13.568; 31. Greg Weiss, Weiss 11W, 13.625; 32. Travis Albert, Albert 73, 13.745; 33. Jerry Miller, Miller/Evans 2ME, 13.876. First Quaker State Heat Race (10 laps): 1. Tim Gee, 2. Dave Blaney, 3. Jim Carr, 4. Jeff Swindell, 5. Joey Saldana, 6. Shane Liebig, 7. Jerry Miller, 8. Mike Wasina, Jr., 9. Mike Quigley ($10). (first five qualified for the "A" Feature) Second Quaker State Heat Race (10 laps): 1. Stevie Smith, 2. Mark Kinser, 3. Joe Gaerte, 4. Rob Johnson, 5. Steve Beitler, 6. Doug Strong, 7. Ned Powers, 8. Jesse Mota. (first five qualified for the "A" Feature) Third Quaker State Heat Race (10 laps): 1. Lance Blevins, 2. Travis Cram, 3. Sammy Swindell, 4. Brian Paulus, 5. Roger Crocket, 6. Butch Gilbert, 7. Mike Wasina, Sr., 8. Greg Weiss. (first five qualified for the "A" Feature) Fourth Quaker State Heat Race (10 laps): 1. Johnny Herrera, 2. Andy Hillenburg, 3. Steve Kinser, 4. Ivan Worden, 5. Gary Lynch, 6. Kevin Gobrecht ($10); 7. Travis Albert, 8. Richie Peterson ($10). (first five qualified for the "A" Feature) Vivarin Dash (seven laps): 1. Mark Kinser, 2. Dave Blaney, 3. Steve Kinser, 4. Jeff Swindell, 5. Joe Gaerte, 6. Sammy Swindell, 7. Andy Hillenburg, 8. Brian Paulus. (finish determined the first eight starting positions in the "A" Feature) B Feature (12 laps): 1. Shane Liebig, 2. Mike Wasina, Jr., 3. Jesse Mota, 4. Butch Gilbert, 5. Doug Strong ($210); 6. Mike Wasina, Sr. ($185); 7. Ned Powers ($160); 8. Greg Weiss ($110); 9. Travis Albert ($100); 10. Jerry Miller ($90). DNS - Kevin Gobrecht, Mike Quigley, Richie Peterson. (first four qualified for the "A" Feature) A Feature (40 laps): 1. Mark Kinser ($4,010); 2. Dave Blaney ($3,510); 3. Andy Hillenburg ($2,510); 4. Stevie Smith ($2,210); 5. Sammy Swindell ($2,110); 6. Steve Kinser (2,010); 7. Jeff Swindell ($1,610); 8. Joey Saldana ($1,510); 9. Lance Blevins ($1,410); 10. Joe Gaerte ($1,310); 11. Steve Beitler ($1,160); 12. Butch Gilbert ($1,130); 13. Ivan Worden ($1,060); 14. Mike Wasina, Jr. ($1,030); 15. Brian Paulus ($710); 16. Tim Gee ($510); 17. Travis Cram ($410); 18. Rob Johnson ($410); 19. Roger Crocket ($410); 20. Jim Carr ($410); 21. Johnny Herrera ($410); 22. Gary Lynch ($410); 23. Jesse Mota ($430); 24. Shane Liebig ($430). Lap leader: Mark Kinser 1-40 EcoWater Quick-Time Award winner: Mark Kinser WoO

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series World of Outlaws
Drivers Andy Hillenburg , Mark Kinser , Steve Kinser , Sammy Swindell , Brian Paulus , Joey Saldana , Dave Blaney , Butch Gilbert , Johnny Herrera , Jeff Swindell