LM: Billy Moyer - 2005 Late Model champion

Moyer Wins Third World of Outlaws' Championship BATESVILLE, AR (November 1, 2005) -- Billy Moyer and the ...

Moyer Wins Third World of Outlaws' Championship

BATESVILLE, AR (November 1, 2005) -- Billy Moyer and the #21 Banner Valley Hauling/Petroff Towing/J&J Steel/McCarthy's One Hour/Pro Power Engines' Rayburn team won the 2005 Stacker 2® World of Outlaws' Late Model Series Championship after a runner-up performance at the series' finale -- "The Gator 100".

Moyer entered into the two-day Volusia Raceway Park hosted event two scant points behind fellow competitor Steve Francis of Ashland, KY. Moyer started the main event from the eleventh place berth and was running in third place in the closing laps of the one-hundred lap finale. On the last lap, Moyer was able to pilot his #21 CJ Rayburn entry around Francis in a dramatic move for the runner-up honors as Scott Bloomquist claimed the $30,000 victory.

Moyer needed to finish two positions ahead of Francis in order to seal the championship quest but with just one spot separating the two, the series' had to use their tie-breaking criteria. Both drivers won five events on the 2005 World of Outlaws' trail so the number of second place finishes determined the champ. Moyer's five 2nd place finishes bested Francis' two runner-ups and Moyer was officially crowned the 2005 Stacker 2® World of Outlaws' Late Model Series Champion.

In addition to the championship honors and $120,000 check from the $540,000 point fund, Moyer also claimed another record in the history books of dirt late model racing. While the World of Outlaws' name is synonymous with sprint car racing, the series operated a highly competitive late model tour in the late 1980s for two years before going dormant until DIRT Motorsports resurrected the series in 2004. While power player Scott Bloomquist won the WoO title in 2004, Billy Moyer is the only other competitor to hold the title and is the only repeat titlist with three World of Outlaws' Late Model Series championships. After dominating the USAC tour in the mid-1980s, Moyer won his first World of Outlaws' crown in 1988 over two dirt racing legends -- Willy Kraft and Larry Phillips. Ironically, Moyer bested the field in 1989 for a repeat title over a young Steve Francis and Willy Kraft.

Moyer, still holding the most wins ever on the WoO late model trail (33), gives full credit to his crew and loyal sponsors for making this moment possible.

"I can't say enough about my guys that have helped me do it. Because without them and the sponsorships and my family I just wouldn't be able to do it. My praise is to them. All the hard work and the long hours they've done, there's a lot of outside people who just don't realize all the hours these people have put in. I get to do the fun part and that's drive the car," stated a proud Moyer. "I have sponsors that have stuck by me through good and bad times and they help make this all possible. Their products and support allowed us to chase the World of Outlaws and win races. CJ Rayburn, Johnny Johnson, Ed Petroff, Bill Schlieper, John McCarthy and my dad and uncles -- they have been with me for years and their support cannot be summed up in a few words. They are the ones that are there for you when you are down and out as much as when you are on top. CJ Rayburn Race Cars, J&J Steel, Banner Valley Hauling, McCarthy's One Hour, Petroff Towing, Car City, Karl Chevrolet, Watters Autoland, Platinum Motors, Pro Power Engines, Sunoco Race Fuels, all of my awesome product sponsors -- thank you."

Two different eras but Billy Moyer Racing again reigns supreme once again on the World of Outlaws' circuit. We would like to thank all of our generous sponsors; our dedicated crew -- Steve Norris, Tim Lucas, Jeff Humphrey and Billy Moyer, Jr.; the amazing competitors we have raced against during this season; the promoters that welcomed us and the fans for their continued support and enthusiasm.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series World of Outlaws
Drivers Scott Bloomquist , Steve Francis