Lebanon Valley Monday report

BLANEY DOESN'T NEED ANY HELP AT LEBANON VALLEY By Richard Day WEST LEBANON, NY (June 5) - While Christmas came early for Dave Blaney Sunday night at Orange County, he didn't need any gifts to win...

BLANEY DOESN'T NEED ANY HELP AT LEBANON VALLEY By Richard Day WEST LEBANON, NY (June 5) - While Christmas came early for Dave Blaney Sunday night at Orange County, he didn't need any gifts to win the "A" Feature Monday at Lebanon Valley Speedway. "Nobody gave us this one," said Beverly Luna, co-owner of the #10 Vivarin J&J. "The Buckeye Bullet" started on the outside pole and led all 25 laps for his third victory this year, his second straight before a capacity crowd on the World of Outlaws' annual spring tour of New York. Blaney won the Fourth Snap-on Tools Heat Race and earned the right to start the "A" Feature on the front row by following Jac Haudenschild across the finish line in the Vivarin Dash. He took the high groove into the lead as the green flag fell in the main event, only to have the start called back when Brian Paulus and Tim Kuhn collided and spun in the second corner before the first lap was completed. When the green flag replaced the yellow, Blaney took the lead again with a high move in turn four. Steve Kinser drove the #11 Quaker State Maxim past his cousin, Mark, for third place later in the opening lap. "The Buckeye Bullet" opened a six-car-length lead within three laps, and caught the backmarkers two laps later. He kept the #10 in the high groove to maintain a comfortable advantage in lapped traffic. Haudenschild narrowed the gap during the ninth lap when Alan Cole slid in front of Blaney entering the second corner. "The Wild Child" attempted to take the lead deep in turn one the next time around, but Blaney was equal to the challenge. "The Buckeye Bullet," who also won a World of Outlaws "A" Feature at Lebanon Valley on June 5, 1989, made his way past Cole in the first corner the next time around. Lance Blevins stopped the #21L Citgo J&J in turn four with a blown engine later in the 11th lap. As the race resumed, Blaney took the high line into turn three, while Steve Kinser worked the low groove and Haudenschild was between them. They entered the fourth corner three-abreast, then returned to the previous running order - Blaney first, "The Wild Child" second and Kinser third. Mark Kinser threaded the #5M Wirtgen Maxim between Steve and the inside guard rail to regain third place early in lap 13. "The Buckeye Bullet" was five car-lengths ahead of Haudenschild when he reentered lapped traffic again during the 16th lap. He slowed behind Gus Wasson three laps later, however, allowing "The Wild Child" to catch him. Blaney made his way around Wasson within a lap, and increased his lead to eight car-lengths with seven laps remaining. Haudenschild was eight car-lengths behind when Blaney took the checkered flag. Mark Kinser held off Steve to finish third. Stevie Smith finished in fifth place, ahead of Billy Pauch, Danny Lasoski, Randy Hannagan, Jeff Swindell and Greg Hodnett. Smith was the fastest of 13 drivers breaking Lebanon Valley's previous one-lap record, circling the high-banked, 1/2-mile oval in 17.336 seconds. The effort earned him his second Ecowater Fast-Time Award in as many nights. Hodnett received his fifth Wells Lamont Hard Charger Award of the year for driving the #8TW Kele & Associates Maxim into 10th place from his seventh-row starting position. WoO 1995 WORLD OF OUTLAWS/SKOAL OUTLAW SERIES Lebanon Valley Speedway, West Lebanon, NY Monday, June 5, Feature Program #23 Qualifications: 1. Stevie Smith, Motter 71M, 17.336 (new one-lap record); 2. Mark Kinser, Kinser 5M, 17.355; 3. Jac Haudenschild, Elden 22, 17.451; 4. Dave Blaney, Luna 10, 17.611; 5. Steve Kinser, Kinser 11, 17.612; 6. Billy Pauch, Zemaitis 1Z, 17.615; 7. Randy Hannagan, Hannagan 1x, 17.708; 8. Danny Lasoski, Sonner 47, 17.750; 9. Jeff Swindell, Two Winners 7TW, 17.771; 10. Joe Gaerte, Hamilton 77, 17.838; 11. Todd Shaffer, Beam 88, 17.894; 12. Andy Hillenburg, Hillenburg 2, 17.909; 13. Greg Hodnett, Two Winners 8TW, 17.917; 14. Brian Paulus, Paulus 28, 18.275; 15. Donnie Kreitz, Jr., Kreitz 69K, 18.361; 16. Aaron Berryhill, Berryhill 97, 18.398; 17. Gus Wasson, Wasson 4G, 18.648; 18. Tim Kuhn, Kuhn 11K, 18.648; 19. Lance Blevins, Blevins 21L, 18.726; 20. Alan Cole, Cole 17, 18.751; 21. Bob Bennett, Mickle 3, 18.967; 22. George Koerber, Koerber 5K,, 18.975; 23. Brice Karkos, Karkos 10K, 19.068; 24. John Karklin, Jr., Karklin 1K, 19.214; 25. Tom Toedter, Toedter 14, 19.476; 26. Dick Spararo, Spararo 29, 19.612; 27. Denny Soltis, Soltis 1T, 19.682; 28. Ken Hyatt, Hyatt 4, 19.804; 29. Chuck Roan, Jr., Roan 22R, 19.852; 30. Wayne Patterson, Patterson 33, 19.967; 31. Doug Sanborn, Sanborn 93, 20.428; 32. Rob Hart, Hart 55, 20.435; 33. Larry Hoyt, Hoyt 27, 21.198; 34. John Bridge, Bridge 53, no time; 35. Rob Laraway, Laraway 51, no time; 36. Dave Bolton, Bolton 11B, no time. First Snap-on Tools Heat Race (eight laps): 1. Gus Wasson, 2. Steve Kinser, 3. Stevie Smith, 4. Greg Hodnett, 5. Jeff Swindell, 6. Bob Bennett, 7. Tom Toedter, 8. Chuck Roan, Jr., 9. Larry Hoyt ($10). (first five qualified for the "A" Feature) Second Snap-on Tools Heat Race (eight laps): 1. Mark Kinser, 2. Brian Paulus, 3. Billy Pauch, 4. George Koerber, 5. Joe Gaerte, 6. Tim Kuhn, 7. Dick Spararo, 8. Wayne Patterson, 9. John Bridge. (first five qualified for the "A" Feature) Third Snap-on Tools Heat Race (eight laps): 1. Jac Haudenschild, 2. Todd Shaffer, 3. Lance Blevins, 4. Donnie Kreitz, Jr., 5. Randy Hannagan, 6. Brice Karkos, 7. Doug Sanborn, 8. Dave Bolton ($10); 9. Denny Soltis. (first five qualified for the "A" Feature) Fourth Snap-on Tools Heat Race (eight laps): 1. Dave Blaney, 2. Aaron Berryhill, 3. Alan Cole, 4. Danny Lasoski, 5. Andy Hillenburg, 6. John Karklin, Jr., 7. Ken Hyatt, 8. Rob Hart. DNS - Rob Laraway. (first five qualified for the "A" Feature) Vivarin Dash (five laps): 1. Jac Haudenschild, 2. Dave Blaney, 3. Mark Kinser, 4. Steve Kinser, 5. Stevie Smith, 6. Billy Pauch, 7. Danny Lasoski, 8. Randy Hannagan. (finish determined the first eight starting positions in the "A" Feature) B Feature (12 laps): 1. Brice Karkos, 2. John Karklin, Jr., 3. Tim Kuhn, 4. Bob Bennett, 5. Dick Spararo ($210); 6. Denny Soltis ($185); 7. Ken Hyatt ($160); 8. Wayne Patterson ($110); 9. Tom Toedter ($100); 10. Chuck Roan, Jr. ($90); 11. Rob Hart ($70); 12. John Bridge ($60); 13. Doug Sanborn ($60). DNS - Larry Hoyt, Rob Laraway, Dave Bolton. (first four qualified for the "A" Feature) A Feature (25 laps): 1. Dave Blaney ($6,010); 2. Jac Haudenschild ($3,510); 3. Mark Kinser ($2,510); 4. Steve Kinser ($2,210); 5. Stevie Smith ($2,110); 6. Billy Pauch ($2,010); 7. Danny Lasoski ($1,610); 8. Randy Hannagan ($1,510); 9. Jeff Swindell ($1,410); 10. Greg Hodnett ($1,310); 11. Andy Hillenburg ($1,160); 12. Todd Shaffer ($1,110); 13. Aaron Berryhill ($1,060); 14. Joe Gaerte ($1,010); 15. Alan Cole ($710); 16. Gus Wasson ($510); 17. Brian Paulus ($410); 18. George Koerber ($410); 19. Brice Karkos ($430); 20. John Karklin, Jr. ($430); 21. Donnie Kreitz, Jr. ($410); 22. Lance Blevins ($410); 23. Bob Bennett ($430); 24. Tim Kuhn ($430). Lap leader: Dave Blaney 1-25 Wells Lamont Hard Charger Award winner: Greg Hodnett Ecowater Fast-Time Award winner: Stevie Smith WoO

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series World of Outlaws
Drivers Andy Hillenburg , Mark Kinser , Danny Lasoski , Steve Kinser , Gus Wasson , Aaron Berryhill , Brian Paulus , Randy Hannagan , Billy Pauch , Dave Blaney , Jac Haudenschild , Jeff Swindell