Lasoski weekly performance 2004-05-12

Tony Steward Motorsports World of Outlaws ...

Tony Steward Motorsports
World of Outlaws #20
2004 Performance Profile - Week 11
Danny Lasoski - 2001 World of Outlaws Champion

Where They've Been..

Thurs., May 6 - Lawrenceburg Speedway Feature in Lawrenceburg, Ind., (semi-banked ¼ mile oval)

Top-five: (1) Danny Smith; (2) Joey Saldana; (3) Donny Schatz; (4) Paul McMahan; (5) Jason Meyers

Danny Lasoski Finish: 5th (138 points earned)

Lasoski was the fastest qualifier, lapping the ¼ mile oval in a new single-lap record 10.136 seconds to notch his sixth fast time of the year.

This race can be seen May 26 at 8 p.m. EDT on The Outdoor Channel.

Sat., May 8 - Bluegrass Classic at Kentucky Lake Motor Speedway in Calvert City, Ky., (high-banked 3/8th mile oval)

Top-five: (1) Paul McMahan; (2) Danny Lasoski; (3) Joey Saldana; (4) Kraig Kinser; (5) Jason Meyers

Danny Lasoski Finish: 2nd (146 points earned)

Tues., May 11 - Freedom 40 at K-C Raceway in Chillicothe, Ohio (high-banked 3/8th mile oval)

Top-five: (1) Jason Meyers; (2) Mark Kinser; (3) Jason Sides; (4) Donny Schatz; (5) Kerry Madsen

Danny Lasoski Finish: 13th (124 points earned)

Lasoski was the 10th fastest qualifier, lapping the 3/8th mile oval in 11.785 seconds.

Lasoski won the "B" Feature to advance into the "A" Feature.

Where They're Going.

Fri., May 14 - Terre Haute Action Track Feature in Terre Haute, Ind., (semi-banked ½ mile oval)

The single lap record at Terre Haute is 16.487 seconds - held by Mark Kinser (May 22, 1999)

Lasoski is a five-time feature winner at Terre Haute (May 9 & July 13, 2003; June 8 & July 14, 2002; July 17, 2000)

This race can be seen June 2 at 8 p.m. EDT on The Outdoor Channel.

Sat., May 15 - Tri-City Speedway Feature in Granite City, Ill., (semi-banked ½ mile oval)

The single lap record at Tri-City is 15.917 seconds - held by Mark Kinser (June 16, 1999)

In the 18 races run thus far in 2004, Lasoski has been the fastest qualifier six times. Only two other drivers have scored multiple fast times, and that's Steve Kinser and Chad Kemenah with two apiece.

In 2003, Lasoski was the fastest qualifier 28 times, 20 more times than his nearest challenger - Steve Kinser.

Quote Log

Danny Lasoski.

On gaining ground on point leader Steve Kinser and the upcoming races at Terre Haute and Tri-City:

"We're getting closer to Steve (Kinser) in the points, but this is a long season and there's plenty of racing left. In all reality, it doesn't really do us any good to look at the points. We're focused on winning races, and when you win races the points take care of themselves. I know last year that Steve and I swapped the point lead a couple of times before it was all said and done, and that had a lot to do with who was winning when.

"Terre Haute has been a really good place for this J.D. Byrider/Home Depot/Mopar team, and it's as good a place as any to finally get a win. Winning races is why we're here, and that's all we're really looking at this weekend at Terre Haute and Tri-City."

Nuts and Bolts.

Lasoski runs an Eagle chassis in the World of Outlaws with horsepower supplied by Paul Kistler-built Mopar engines.

The #20 team's sponsors are J.D. Byrider, The Home Depot, Mopar, Massey Motorsports, Coca-Cola, Old Spice, American Compressed Steel, Hoosier Tire and Eagle Chassis

Team Principles: Danny Lasoski - driver; Tony Stewart - owner; Jimmy Carr - crew chief

The Outdoor Channel will produce and telecast 35 World of Outlaws events on a tape-delayed basis in 2004. The one-hour telecasts will air Wednesdays at 8 p.m. ET between late March and mid-November as part of The Outdoor Channel's "Wednesday Night Horsepower." Most telecasts will air within 14 days of each race. Additional replays will be presented Saturdays at 8 p.m. ET and Thursdays at 10 p.m. PT.

Danny Lasoski At A Glance.

Lasoski in his fourth year with Tony Stewart Motorsports. He won the World of Outlaws championship in 2001, and finished second to 18-time champion Steve Kinser in 2002 and 2003.

Lasoski is in his third straight year of IROC competition. He and Kinser represent the World of Outlaws.

Lasoski won his first IROC race at Texas Motor Speedway on April 2, 2004, becoming only the second World of Outlaws driver to win an IROC race since Kinser won at Talladega (Ala.) Superspeedway in April of 1994.

Lasoski is a three-time Knoxville Nationals champion (2003, 2001 & 1998).

Lasoski is a seven-time track champion at Knoxville Raceway (1996, 1994, 1993, 1992, 1990, 1989 & 1986), and he is also the winningest driver in Knoxville track history with a total of 82 victories.

Lasoski was recognized as the Most Improved Driver following the 1998 World of Outlaws season.

Before joining the World of Outlaws full-time in 1998, Lasoski won three championships at the Jayhawk Nationals.


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series World of Outlaws