Lasoski weekly performance 2004-04-20

Tony Stewart Motorsports World of Outlaws ...

Tony Stewart Motorsports
World of Outlaws #20
2004 Performance Profile - Week 9
Danny Lasoski - 2001 World of Outlaws Champion

Where They've Been..

Fri., April 16 - Sedalia's State Fair Speedway Feature in Sedalia, Mo., (semi-banked ½ mile oval)

Top-five: (1) Steve Kinser; (2) Shane Stewart; (3) Jason Meyers; (4) Joey Saldana; (5) Kraig Kinser

Danny Lasoski Finish: 7th (136 points earned)

Lasoski was the 10th fastest qualifier, lapping the ½ mile oval in 16.312 seconds.

Sat., April 17 - I-55 Raceway Feature in Pevely, Mo., (high-banked 1/3rd mile oval)

Top-five: (1) Craig Dollansky; (2) Daryn Pittman; (3) Tim Shaffer; (4) Tyler Walker; (5) Jason Sides

Danny Lasoski Finish: 11th (128 points earned)

Lasoski was the ninth-fastest qualifier, lapping the 1/3rd mile oval in 10.663 seconds.

Where They're Going.

Thurs., April 22 - Batesville Speedway Feature in Batesville, Ark., (high-banked 3/8th mile oval)

The single lap record at Batesville is 12.043 seconds - held by Bobby Davis Jr. (July 26, 1993)

Sat., April 24 - Talladega Short Track Feature in Talladega, Ala., (high-banked 1/3rd mile oval)

The single lap record at the Talladega Short Track is 10.926 seconds - held by Danny Lasoski (Oct. 19, 2001)

Lasoski is a two-time "A" Feature winner at the Talladega Short Track (April 5, 2003 & April 20, 2002)

In the 13 races run thus far in 2004, Lasoski has been the fastest qualifier five times. No other driver has scored multiple fast times.

In 2003, Lasoski was the fastest qualifier 28 times, 20 more times than his nearest challenger - Steve Kinser.

Quote Log

Danny Lasoski:

On racing at the Talladega Short Track on the same weekend the NASCAR NEXTEL Cup Series is racing across the street at Talladega Superspeedway:

"We need a good race, and the Talladega Short Track is as good an opportunity as any. We've won two races there, including the one last April. It's one of the few races that's right near the Nextel Cup race, so I'm looking forward to having my buddy and car owner Tony Stewart over there with me. We've been able to give him a win the last couple times he's been there and we'd really like to give him another one."

Tony Stewart:

On this weekend's race at the Talladega Short Track:

"I really like the Talladega Short Track. Its location is probably the biggest reason. Any time I get the chance to see Danny and the team race, I'm going to be there. And with the Outlaws running over at the short track while we're over at the big track, it makes it easy. Danny's been really good there in the past, and even with the way the season has been going, I know he's got a lot of confidence heading in there. Obviously, we're hoping for good things."

Nuts and Bolts.

Lasoski runs an Eagle chassis in the World of Outlaws with horsepower supplied by Paul Kistler-built Mopar engines.

The #20 team's sponsors are.

J.D. Byrider, The Home Depot, Mopar, Massey Motorsports, Coca-Cola, Old Spice, American Compressed Steel, Hoosier Tire and Eagle Chassis

Team Principles: Danny Lasoski - driver; Tony Stewart - owner; Jimmy Carr - crew chief

The Outdoor Channel will produce and telecast 35 World of Outlaws events on a tape-delayed basis in 2004. The one-hour telecasts will air Wednesdays at 8 p.m. ET between late March and mid-November as part of The Outdoor Channel's "Wednesday Night Horsepower." Most telecasts will air within 14 days of each race. Additional replays will be presented Saturdays at 8 p.m. ET and Thursdays at 10 p.m. PT.

Danny Lasoski At A Glance.

Lasoski in his fourth year with Tony Stewart Motorsports. He won the World of Outlaws championship in 2001, and finished second to 18-time champion Steve Kinser in 2002 and 2003.

Lasoski is in his third straight year of IROC competition. He and Kinser represent the World of Outlaws.

Lasoski won his first IROC race at Texas Motor Speedway on April 2, 2004, becoming only the second World of Outlaws driver to win an IROC race since Kinser won at Talladega (Ala.) Superspeedway in April of 1994.

Lasoski is a three-time Knoxville Nationals champion (2003, 2001 & 1998).

Lasoski is a seven-time track champion at Knoxville Raceway (1996, 1994, 1993, 1992, 1990, 1989 & 1986), and he is also the winningest driver in Knoxville track history with a total of 82 victories.

Lasoski was recognized as the Most Improved Driver following the 1998 World of Outlaws season.

Before joining the World of Outlaws full-time in 1998, Lasoski won three championships at the Jayhawk Nationals.

For More Information.
Log onto, or


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series World of Outlaws
Drivers Tony Stewart , Tim Shaffer , Danny Lasoski , Steve Kinser , Craig Dollansky , Tyler Walker , Daryn Pittman , Jason Meyers , Jason Sides , Joey Saldana , Kraig Kinser , Shane Stewart