Lasoski performance profile 2004-04-13

World of Outlaws ...

World of Outlaws #20
2004 Performance Profile - Week 8
Danny Lasoski - 2001 World of Outlaws Champion

Where They've Been..

Fri., April 9 - Eldora Speedway Preliminary in Rossburg, Ohio (high-banked ½ mile oval)

Top-five: (1) Steve Kinser; (2) Danny Lasoski; (3) Joey Saldana; (4) Donny Schatz; (5) Daryn Pittman

Danny Lasoski Finish: 2nd (39 points earned)

Lasoski was the fourth-fastest qualifier, lapping the ½ mile oval in 13.343 seconds.

Lasoski won the first dash race, earning him the pole position for the preliminary.

Sat., April 10 - Eldora Speedway Feature

Top-five: (1) Steve Kinser; (2) Danny Lasoski; (3) Mark Kinser; (4) Craig Dollansky; (5) Joey Saldana

Danny Lasoski Finish: 2nd (150 points earned)

Lasoski's second-place finish in Friday's preliminary qualified him for the feature.

Lasoski won the night's only dash race, earning him the pole position for the feature.

Lasoski's second-place finish in the feature moved him from sixth to second in the point standings.

Lasoski led the first 29 laps of the 30-lap race before lapped traffic allowed Kinser to take the lead on the last lap.

Where They're Going.

Fri., April 16 - Sedalia's State Fair Speedway Feature in Sedalia, Mo., (semi-banked ½ mile oval)

Lasoski is a three-time "A" Feature winner at Sedalia (June 26, 2002; June 27, 2001; July 23, 1999)

The single lap record at Sedalia is 15.676 seconds - held by Craig Dollansky (March 23, 2001)

Sat., April 17 - I-55 Raceway Feature in Pevely, Mo., (high-banked 1/3rd mile oval)

The single lap record at I-55 Raceway is 10.189 seconds - held by Stevie Smith (March 30, 2002)

In the 11 races run thus far in 2004, Lasoski has been the fastest qualifier five times. No other driver has scored multiple fast times.

In 2003, Lasoski was the fastest qualifier 28 times, 20 more times than his nearest challenger - Steve Kinser.

Quote Log


On rebounding with two strong second-place finishes last week:

"We were disappointed that we weren't able to get a win, but we needed some good runs and we finally got 'em at Eldora. It helped us in the points, but as well as Steve (Kinser) is running, we've still got a lot of work to do. We've got some good tracks ahead of us beginning with Sedalia, and we need to make the most of our opportunities. This Tony Stewart Motorsports team is used to winning and we want to get back to doing just that."

Nuts and Bolts.

Lasoski runs an Eagle chassis in the World of Outlaws with horsepower supplied by Paul Kistler-built Mopar engines.

The #20 team's sponsors are.

J.D. Byrider, The Home Depot, Mopar, Massey Motorsports, Coca-Cola, Old Spice, American Compressed Steel, Hoosier Tire and Eagle Chassis

Team Principles: Danny Lasoski - driver; Tony Stewart - owner; Jimmy Carr - crew chief

The Outdoor Channel will produce and telecast 35 World of Outlaws events on a tape-delayed basis in 2004. The one-hour telecasts will air Wednesdays at 8 p.m. ET between late March and mid-November as part of The Outdoor Channel's "Wednesday Night Horsepower." Most telecasts will air within 14 days of each race. Additional replays will be presented Saturdays at 8 p.m. ET and Thursdays at 10 p.m. PT.

Danny Lasoski At A Glance.

Lasoski in his fourth year with Tony Stewart Motorsports. He won the World of Outlaws championship in 2001, and finished second to 18-time champion Steve Kinser in 2002 and 2003.

Lasoski is in his third straight year of IROC competition. He and Kinser represent the World of Outlaws.

Lasoski won his first IROC race at Texas Motor Speedway on April 2, 2004, becoming only the second World of Outlaws driver to win an IROC race since Kinser won at Talladega (Ala.) Superspeedway in April of 1994.

Lasoski is a three-time Knoxville Nationals champion (2003, 2001 & 1998).

Lasoski is a seven-time track champion at Knoxville Raceway (1996, 1994, 1993, 1992, 1990, 1989 & 1986), and he is also the winningest driver in Knoxville track history with a total of 82 victories.

Lasoski was recognized as the Most Improved Driver following the 1998 World of Outlaws season.

Before joining the World of Outlaws full-time in 1998, Lasoski won three championships at the Jayhawk Nationals.

For More Information.
Log onto, or


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series World of Outlaws
Drivers Tony Stewart , Mark Kinser , Danny Lasoski , Donny Schatz , Steve Kinser , Craig Dollansky , Daryn Pittman , Joey Saldana