LaSalle Saturday report

Blaney Dominates Tri-City for Second Straight Victory By Richard Day GRANITE CITY, IL (July 15) - Dave Blaney picked up where he left off from the LaSalle event, and led all 30 laps in the World...

Blaney Dominates Tri-City for Second Straight Victory By Richard Day GRANITE CITY, IL (July 15) - Dave Blaney picked up where he left off from the LaSalle event, and led all 30 laps in the World of Outlaws' "A" Feature at Tri-City Speedway Saturday. "I want to thank Casey and Beverly Luna, Kenny Woodruff and the rest of the crew," Blaney told the capacity crowd in victory lane. "We've really been working hard trying to find some consistency. Maybe this will get us going." Blaney's second victory in as many nights left him 50 points behind Jac Haudenschild in their battle for the lead in the Skoal Outlaw Series point standings. "The Buckeye Bullet," the fourth-fastest qualifier, earned the right to start the "A" Feature on the pole by winning the Vivarin Dash. He burst into the lead as the green flag fell in the main event, and raced away from the field as Steve Kinser passed outside polesitter Greg Hodnett for second place during the opening lap. Blaney had the #10 Vivarin J&J 10 car-lengths ahead of his closest pursuers when Jeff Swindell passed Hodnett, his Two Winners Racing teammate, for third place midway through the fourth lap. The leaders caught the backmarkers five laps into the race, but were taken out of lapped traffic the next time around when Mike Stefka allowed his #35S sprinter to flip in the first corner. "The Buckeye Bullet" opened an eight-car-length advantage within two laps after the green flag replaced the red. Andy Hillenburg steered his #2 STP J&J deep into turn two to pass Hodnett for fourth place a lap later. Kinser, who has won 17 World of Outlaws "A" Features at Tri-City, caught Blaney during the 11th lap. They raced wheel-to-wheel from the first corner to turn three the next time around before "The Buckeye Bullet" surged ahead. Racing in and out of lapped traffic during the race's middle stages, Blaney put a half-straightaway between himself and Kinser during the next two laps, only to have "The King of the Outlaws" narrow the gap by lap 17. "The Buckeye Bullet" caught another pack of backmarkers four laps later, allowing Kinser to catch him by lap 25. He was attempting to lap a backmarker deep in the first corner with four laps remaining when the #10 turned sideways, allowing Kinser to catch him. Blaney recovered quickly, however, and returned to his 10-car- length comfort zone with two laps remaining. After escaping another pack of backmarkers late in lap 29, Blaney cruised to a 10-car-length victory. "I made some mistakes in lapped traffic tonight," Blaney admitted after the race, "but we managed to hang on and win anyway." Swindell's third-place finish pushed him into a tie with Stevie Smith for fourth place in the Skoal Outlaw Series points race. Hillenburg finished fourth in the main event, ahead of Hodnett, Bobby Davis, Jr., Haudenschild, 10th-starting Randy Hannagan, Lance Blevins and Danny Lasoski. Jerrod Hull received the Wells Lamont Hard Charger Award for racing into 14th place from his ninth-row starting position. Kinser's 17.358-second qualifying lap - only .186 seconds off the track record - earned him his fifth EcoWater Fast-Time Award of the year. TNN: The Nashville Network is televising the Amoco Knoxville Nationals "Live in '95." Be sure to tune in for the August 19th telecast between 10 p.m. and midnight (EDT). WoO 1995 World of Outlaws/Skoal Outlaw Series Tri-City Speedway, Granite City, IL Saturday, July 15, Feature Program #42 Qualifications: 1. Steve Kinser, Kinser 11, 17.358; 2. Jeff Swindell, Two Winners 7TW, 17.446; 3. Greg Hodnett, Two Winners 8TW, 17.575; 4. Dave Blaney, Luna 10, 17.666; 5. Andy Hillenburg, Hillenburg 2, 17.752; 6. Jac Haudenschild, Elden 22, 17.766; 7. Bobby Davis, Jr., Davis 4, 17.769; 8. Lance Blevins, Blevins 21L, 17.779; 9. Jimmy Carr, Black 1C, 18.163; 10. Randy Hannagan, Hannagan 1x, 18.174; 11. Bobby Hawks, Hawks 5H, 18.187; 12. Danny Lasoski, Sonner 47, 18.341; 13. Jimmy Brewer, Brewer 32, 18.370; 14. Stevie Smith, Motter 71M, 18.389; 15. Van Gurley Jr., Gurley 3B, 18.430; 16. Tommy Scott, Scott 4S, 18.438; 17. Gus Wasson, Wasson 4G, 18.506; 18. Jerrod Hull, Hull 11H, 18.976; 19. Mike Stefka, Stefka 35S, 18.995; 20. Rich Bubak, Bubak 9B, 19.305; 21. Babes Rouland, Richardson 24, 19.537; 22. Wayne Sternbergh, Sternbergh 14S, 19.784; 23. George Schell, Schell 17, 20.258; 24. Dean Adams, Potosi 3, 24.693. First Snap-on Tools Heat Race (eight laps): 1. Jimmy Brewer, 2. Bobby Davis, Jr., 3. Steve Kinser, 4. Tommy Scott, 5. Dave Blaney, 6. Randy Hannagan, 7. Mike Stefka, 8. Wayne Sternbergh. (first eight qualified for the "A" Feature) Second Snap-on Tools Heat Race (eight laps): 1. Stevie Smith, 2. Lance Blevins, 3. Andy Hillenburg, 4. Jeff Swindell, 5. Bobby Hawks, 6. Gus Wasson, 7. Rich Bubak, 8. George Schell. (first eight qualified for the "A" Feature) Third Snap-on Tools Heat Race (eight laps): 1. Van Gurley Jr., 2. Jimmy Carr, 3. Jac Haudenschild, 4. Greg Hodnett, 5. Jerrod Hull, 6. Dean Adams, 7. Danny Lasoski, 8. Babes Rouland. (first eight qualified for the "A" Feature) Vivarin Dash (five laps): 1. Dave Blaney, 2. Greg Hodnett, 3. Jeff Swindell, 4. Steve Kinser, 5. Jac Haudenschild, 6. Andy Hillenburg, 7. Bobby Davis, Jr., 8. Lance Blevins. (finish determined the first eight starting positions in the "A" Feature) A Feature (30 laps): 1. Dave Blaney ($6,010); 2. Steve Kinser ($3,510); 3. Jeff Swindell ($2,510); 4. Andy Hillenburg ($2,210); 5. Greg Hodnett ($2,110); 6. Bobby Davis, Jr. ($2,010) 7. Jac Haudenschild ($1,610); 8. Randy Hannagan ($1,510); 9. Lance Blevins ($1,410); 10. Danny Lasoski ($1,310); 11. Stevie Smith ($1,160); 12. Jimmy Carr ($1,110); 13. Tommy Scott ($1,060); 14. Jerrod Hull (1,010); 15. Jimmy Brewer ($710); 16. Rich Bubak ($510); 17. Gus Wasson ($410); 18. Van Gurley Jr. ($410); 19. Wayne Sternbergh ($410); 20. Dean Adams ($410); 21. Mike Stefka ($410); 22. George Schell ($410); 23. Bobby Hawks ($410); 24. Babes Rouland ($410). Laps leader: Dave Blaney 1-30 EcoWater Fast-Time Award winner: Steve Kinser Wells Lamont Hard Charger Award winner: Jerrod Hull WoO

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series World of Outlaws
Drivers Andy Hillenburg , Danny Lasoski , Steve Kinser , Gus Wasson , Randy Hannagan , Dave Blaney , Jac Haudenschild , Jeff Swindell