LaSalle: Race report

Lasoski Runs Winning Streak to Three at LaSalle LASALLE, IL (June 9) -- Danny Lasoski is the hottest driver in auto racing. "The Dude" won his third straight World of Outlaws Sprint Series "A" Feature Wednesday at LaSalle Speedway, passing ...

Lasoski Runs Winning Streak to Three at LaSalle

LASALLE, IL (June 9) -- Danny Lasoski is the hottest driver in auto racing.

"The Dude" won his third straight World of Outlaws Sprint Series "A" Feature Wednesday at LaSalle Speedway, passing pole-sitter Brooke Tatnell late in the 13th lap and taking the checkered flag with 15 car-lengths to spare. The $10,000 victory pushed Lasoski to within 91 points of Steve Kinser in their battle for first place in the World of Outlaws Sprint Series standings.

Lasoski also won three successive main events early in 2000 and swept the feature races in the 2003 Harvest Classic at Calistoga Speedway. Stevie Smith was the last driver to win three straight single-program events, winning at Hagerstown Speedway, Orange County Speedway and Eldora Speedway during the summer of 1999. The last driver to win four consecutive "A" Features was Sammy Swindell in August of 1997.

The World of Outlaws Sprint Series' 24th event of the season, run amid threatening weather, was the series' first at LaSalle Speedway since July of 1999.

Lasoski, who leads the World of Outlaws Sprint Series with seven fast-times, was the 11th-fastest qualifier, was .275 seconds off Brandon Wimmer's record pace of 10.368 seconds around the high-banked, ¼-mile oval. "The Dude" earned the right to start the 35-lap main event outside the second row by following Craig Dollansky across the finish line in the Second Dash Race.

Tatnell, who won the First Dash Race, drove Guy Forbrook's #5 Wirtgen Maxim into the lead as the green flag fell in the "A" Feature. Lasoski passed Dollansky for second place with an inside move in turn four late in the opening lap. First Heat Race winner Jason Johnson brought out the first caution flag in the main event when he spun into the infield in the fourth corner early in lap two.

Kinser, a two-time winner at LaSalle Speedway, exchanged fourth place with Jason Meyers during the two laps after the green flag replaced the yellow. "The King of the Outlaws" passed Meyers in the low groove between the third and fourth corners, only to have Meyers regain the position with a high move in turn three the next time around.

Lasoski was just inches from Tatnell's rear bumper when they entered lapped traffic six laps into the race. "The Dude" raced wheel-to-wheel with Tatnell through the fourth corner late in lap six, but was unable to surge ahead. Lasoski drove 2002 NASCAR Nextel Cup champion Tony Stewart's #20 J.D. Byrider Eagle to the lowest point in turn four to pass Tatnell for the lead the next time around.

Dollansky lost third place several seconds later when he collided with a lapped car and spun in turn two. Mike Reinke collided with Kerry Madsen and flipped on the back straightaway half a lap after the race resumed, bringing out the red flag. Third Heat Race winner Jesse Gianetto's second-corner spin forced another restart midway through the race.

Kinser steered his #11 Quaker State Maxim into the high groove in turn two to pass Tatnell for the runner-up spot two laps after the green flag replaced the yellow.

Kevin Gobrecht Rookie of the Year leader Kraig Kinser used an identical move to pass Paul McMahan for seventh place early in the 22nd lap, but lost one lap later when the #11K Delco Remy International Maxim hit the retaining wall and flipped in the first corner.

Lasoski controlled the ensuing restart, and was eight car-lengths ahead of "The King of the Outlaws" when he entered lapped traffic during lap 26.

Meyers and Donny Schatz exchanged fourth place during lap 29. Meyers drove the #14 Elite Landscaping Maxim past Schatz deep in turn two, but the 1997 Rookie of the Year steered his family's #15 Parker Store J&J into the low groove between the third and fourth corners to regain the position.

"The Dude" entered dense lapped traffic with a straightaway advantage with four laps remaining and coasted to the 64th "A" Feature victory of his World of Outlaws Sprint Series career.

Tatnell finished in third place, ahead of Schatz, Meyers, Daryn Pittman, 12th-starting Randy Hannagan, McMahan, Jonathan Allard and Tim Shaffer. Meyers passed Dollansky for fifth place in the point standings with his 11th top-five finish of the season. The seventh-place finish was Hannagan's best in a World of Outlaws Sprint Series main event since the Texas Shootout at Houston Raceway Park on March 22, 2003. Allard's ninth-place run was his second straight in the top 10.

Shaffer, making his debut in the #6 Casey's General Stores Maxim, won the Second Heat Race and passed 12 cars to finish 10th in the main event. Joey Saldana drove the #2 Volcano Joe's Coffee Maxim to victory in the "B" Feature and into 11th place from outside the ninth row in the main event.

Wimmer persevered through a roller-coaster evening at LaSalle Speedway. After setting the qualifying standard, a fuel nozzle problem put Brandon out of the First Heat Race. Wimmer followed Saldana under the checkered flag in the "B" Feature, then drove the #7TW Two Winners Maxim into 15th place in the "A" Feature.


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series World of Outlaws
Drivers Tim Shaffer , Danny Lasoski , Donny Schatz , Sammy Swindell , Craig Dollansky , Brooke Tatnell , Daryn Pittman , Jason Meyers , Joey Saldana , Jonathan Allard , Kerry Madsen , Kraig Kinser , Paul McMahan , Randy Hannagan , Jason Johnson