LaSalle Friday report

'Bullet' Bolts to Victory at LaSalle Speedway By Richard Day LASALLE, IL (July 14) - Dave Blaney raced past polesitter Jeff Swindell late in the 32nd lap and led the final 8 1/4 laps to win the World of...

'Bullet' Bolts to Victory at LaSalle Speedway By Richard Day LASALLE, IL (July 14) - Dave Blaney raced past polesitter Jeff Swindell late in the 32nd lap and led the final 8 1/4 laps to win the World of Outlaws "A" Feature Friday before a capacity crowd at LaSalle Speedway. The $6,000 victory, the sixth of the year for "The Buckeye Bullet," was the 46th of his career, tying him with Bobby Davis, Jr., for fourth place on the World of Outlaws' all-time list. It was Blaney's first visit to victory lane since June 28th when he won the Second Annual STP Classic at Huset's Speedway. Blaney and crew chief Kenny Woodruff have been desperately searching for the right setup for the #10 Vivarin J&J in recent weeks. After qualifying a disappointing 10th in the 26-car field - more than .25 seconds off Randy Hannagan's record-setting pace - they found it. Blaney beat Swindell and Andy Hillenburg across the finish line in the First Snap-on Tools Heat Race. Then, after Jeff won the Vivarin Dash, "The Buckeye Bullet" lined up outside the fifth row for the main event. Swindell drove the #7TW Gold Eagle Maxim into the lead from the pole as the green flag fell in the 40-lap "A" Feature. Stevie Smith passed outside polesitter Jac Haudenschild deep in the second corner, and battled Jeff for the lead while Steve Kinser and "The Wild Child" exchanged third place twice in the first three laps. Smith raced wheel-to-wheel with Swindell through the fourth corner two laps later, but was unable to drive the #71M EcoWater Maxim around him for the lead. He followed Jeff into lapped traffic early in the seventh lap. Kinser steered his #11 Quaker State Maxim into the high groove in the second corner to pass "The Wild Child" for third place early in lap 11. Then, after Pat Moore spun in turn three and Marlon Jones flipped in the first corner, Kinser passed Smith deep in turn one for the runner-up spot. Blaney blazed a trail past Danny Lasoski, Hannagan, Gus Wasson and Mark Kinser during the first 15 laps. He passed Hillenburg for fourth place with a high move into turn four two laps later as Kinser battled Swindell for the lead. Scott Young allowed his #1Y sprinter to spin in front of the leaders in turn one midway through the race. While Blaney managed to dodge him, Kinser slid to avoid Young and only bumped him with his right rear tire. The #11 stalled, however, and Kinser was forced to restart the race at the back of the pack. "The Buckeye Bullet" restarted the race in third place, and took the high road around Smith for the runner-up spot as the green flag replaced the yellow. Racing in the high groove, Blaney caught Swindell two laps later and followed him into lapped traffic the next time around. The leaders were approaching a pack of backmarkers late in the 28th lap when Moore and Jerrod Hull tangled in turn three. The collision sent Hull flipping, and brought out the red flag. Blaney challenged Swindell in every corner for three laps before taking the lead with a high move into the fourth corner with nine laps remaining. Running the high line in turns one and two and the low groove through the third and fourth corners, "The Buckeye Bullet" opened a six-car-length advantage within three laps. "The race track was pretty even," Blaney said after beating Swindell under the checkered flag by 10 car-lengths. "You could run high or low. The low groove might have been faster. I know one thing; the fastest car definitely won the race." Along with his winner's share of the $34,485 purse, "The Buckeye Bullet" received his fourth Wells Lamont Hard Charger Award of the year. Haudenschild steered the #22 Pennzoil Maxim around Smith in turn four to claim third place with four laps remaining. Eleventh-starting Greg Hodnett finished fifth. Kinser raced back through the field during the final 20 laps, and took the high road around Hillenburg for sixth place with the checkered flag flying. Rounding out the top 10 in the main event were Hannagan, Mark Kinser and Joe Roe. Hannagan was presented the EcoWater Fast-Time Award after circling LaSalle's high-banked, 1/4-mile oval in 11.739 seconds. The record-setting lap sliced .146 seconds off the one-lap standard Mark Kinser set last July 15th. WoO 1995 World of Outlaws/Skoal Outlaw Series LaSalle Speedway, LaSalle, IL, Friday, July 14, Feature Program #41 Qualifications: 1. Randy Hannagan, Hannagan 1x, 11.739 (new one- lap record); 2. Stevie Smith, Motter 71M, 11.769; 3. Jac Haudenschild, Elden 22, 11.780; 4. Jeff Swindell, Two Winners 7TW, 11.834; 5. Mark Kinser, Kinser 5M, 11.855; 6. Steve Kinser, Kinser 11, 11.867; 7. Andy Hillenburg, Hillenburg 2, 11.911; 8. Gus Wasson, Wasson 4G, 11.942; 9. Danny Lasoski, Sonner 47, 11.967; 10. Dave Blaney, Luna 10, 11.996; 11. Greg Hodnett, Two Winners 8TW, 12.011; 12. Lance Blevins, Blevins 21L, 12.095; 13. Marlon Jones, Oswalt J1, 12.149; 14. Jerrod Hull, Hull 11H, 12.186; 15. Bill Waite, Jr., Waite 3JR, 12.267; 16. Tom Musgrave, Musgrave 56, 12.272; 17. Joe Roe, Roe 61, 12.344; 18. Doug Cameron, Cameron 65C, 12.405; 19. Shawn Moore, Moore 2x, 12.457; 20. Van Gurley, Jr., Gurley 3B, 12.477; 21. Rich Bubak, Bubak 9B, 12.706; 22. Mike Frost, Frost 88, 12.739; 23. Pat Moore, Stroud 9S, 12.769; 24. Terry Starks, Starks 18, 12.859; 25. Mike Stefka, Stefka 35S, 12.924; 26. Scott Young, Young 1Y, 12.954. First Snap-on Tools Heat Race (10 laps): 1. Dave Blaney, 2. Jeff Swindell, 3. Andy Hillenburg, 4. Tom Musgrave, 5. Mike Frost, 6. Randy Hannagan, 7. Marlon Jones, 8. Mike Stefka, 9. Shawn Moore. (first six qualified for the "A" Feature) Second Snap-on Tools Heat Race (10 laps): 1. Joe Roe, 2. Mark Kinser, 3. Jerrod Hull, 4. Greg Hodnett, 5. Gus Wasson, 6. Stevie Smith, 7. Van Gurley, Jr., 8. Scott Young, 9. Pat Moore. (first six qualified for the "A" Feature) Third Snap-on Tools Heat Race (10 laps): 1. Steve Kinser, 2. Jac Haudenschild, 3. Lance Blevins, 4. Danny Lasoski, 5. Rich Bubak, 6. Terry Starks, 7. Doug Cameron, 8. Bill Waite, Jr. (first six qualified for the "A" Feature) Vivarin Dash (seven laps): 1. Jeff Swindell, 2. Jac Haudenschild, 3. Stevie Smith, 4. Steve Kinser, 5. Andy Hillenburg, 6. Mark Kinser, 7. Gus Wasson, 8. Randy Hannagan. (finish determined the first eight starting positions in the "A" Feature) B Feature (eight laps): 1. Van Gurley, Jr., 2. Marlon Jones, 3. Pat Moore, 4. Scott Young, 5. Doug Cameron, 6. Shawn Moore, 7. Mike Stefka ($210); 8. Bill Waite, Jr. ($175). (first six qualified for the "A" Feature) A Feature (40 laps): 1. Dave Blaney ($6,010); 2. Jeff Swindell ($3,510); 3. Jac Haudenschild ($2,510); 4. Stevie Smith ($2,210); 5. Greg Hodnett ($2,110); 6. Steve Kinser ($2,010); 7. Andy Hillenburg ($1,610); 8. Randy Hannagan ($1,510); 9. Mark Kinser ($1,410); 10. Joe Roe ($1,310); 11. Danny Lasoski ($1,160); 12. Gus Wasson ($1,110); 13. Mike Frost ($1,060); 14. Lance Blevins ($1,010); 15. Rich Bubak ($710); 16. Van Gurley, Jr. ($530); 17. Doug Cameron ($430); 18. Jerrod Hull ($410); 19. Terry Starks ($410); 20. Pat Moore ($430); 21. Shawn Moore ($430); 22. Tom Musgrave ($410); 23. Scott Young ($430); 24. Marlon Jones ($430). Lap leaders: Jeff Swindell 1-31, Dave Blaney 32-40 EcoWater Fast-Time Award winner: Randy Hannagan Wells Lamont Hard Charger Award winner: Dave Blaney WoO

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series World of Outlaws
Drivers Andy Hillenburg , Mark Kinser , Danny Lasoski , Steve Kinser , Gus Wasson , Randy Hannagan , Dave Blaney , Scott Young , Jac Haudenschild , Jeff Swindell