Lake Odessa report

Joey Saldana Wins World of Outlaws Race at I-96 By Richard Day LAKE ODESSA, MI (July 24) - Joey Saldana became the 12th different driver to win a 1995 World of Outlaws "A" Feature Wednesday when he led...

Joey Saldana Wins World of Outlaws Race at I-96 By Richard Day LAKE ODESSA, MI (July 24) - Joey Saldana became the 12th different driver to win a 1995 World of Outlaws "A" Feature Wednesday when he led all 30 laps in the series' inaugural visit to I-96 Speedway. Saldana, the son of 1970 Knoxville Nationals champion Joe Saldana, won the Second Snap-on Tools Heat Race from the third row, then earned the right to start the main event on the pole by winning the Vivarin Dash. He led all 30 laps to claim the first World of Outlaws "A" Feature victory of his career. "I've won some races at this track before, but to win against these guys is really special," Saldana told the standing-room-only crowd from victory lane. Stevie Smith opened the festivities setting I-96's new one-lap record. He received his sixth EcoWater Fast-Time Award of the year after circling the semi-banked, 1/2-mile oval in 15.536 seconds, an average speed of 115.860 m.p.h. Saldana drove the #77W Wendt Trucking Stealth into the lead as the green flag fell in the main event. He opened a six-car-length advantage as Steve Kinser took the low road into turn three to pass Andy Hillenburg for third place late in the second lap. The leaders were approaching lapped traffic two laps later when Danny Lasoski allowed the #77 Cornwell Tools J&J to spin over the bank in the second corner. "The Dude" was credited with a 22nd-place finish when a broken front axle kept him from returning to the race. Ninth-starting Greg Hodnett raced into fifth place while Saldana increased his advantage to 10 car-lengths during the ninth lap. Saldana was catching the backmarkers again the next time around when Randy Hannagan hit an infield retaining tire in turn four. Hannagan was unable to continue racing as the collision broke the front end on his #1x sprinter. Jac Haudenschild's bid to regain first place in the Skoal Outlaw Series point standings took a blow on the ensuing restart when he stopped the #22 Pennzoil Maxim in turn one with a flat left rear tire. After having the tire replaced, "The Wild Child" raced into eighth place during the final 20 laps. Saldana ran away from the field while Hodnett and Andy Hillenburg exchanged third place twice during the 11th and 12th laps. Using his own route through turns one and two, Saldana increased his margin to 10 car-lengths midway through the "A" Feature. After catching the backmarkers again during the 16th lap, Saldana opened a half-straightaway advantage within two laps. He was taken out of lapped traffic with 10 laps remaining when a front-end problem forced Hillenburg to stop his #2 STP J&J in the fourth corner. Kinser drove his #11 Quaker State Maxim into second place with a low move past Smith as the race resumed. Saldana returned to his half- straightaway comfort zone within four laps as the battle for the runner-up spot raged. After regaining second place with a fourth-corner pass with five laps remaining, Kinser narrowed the gap to six car-lengths late in lap 28. Seconds later, Mark Christman's turn-four spin set up a three-lap dash to the checkered flag. Gus Wasson lined up between the leaders on the final restart, allowing Saldana to open a comfortable margin quickly. Kinser was 10 car-lengths behind when Saldana took the checkered flag. "We ran good," Saldana said after the race. "I don't know how close the other guys were to us. I knew not to let up because I knew they'd be coming." Smith finished the main event in third place, ahead of Skoal Outlaw Series point standings leader Dave Blaney, Hodnett, Kenny Jacobs, Hillenburg, Haudenschild, Keith Kauffman and Tommie Estes, Jr. Jacobs received the Wells Lamont Hard Charger Award for racing into sixth place from his seventh-row starting position. TNN: The Nashville Network is televising the Amoco Knoxville Nationals "Live in '95." Be sure to tune in for the August 19th telecast between 10 p.m. and midnight (EDT). WoO 1995 World of Outlaws/Skoal Outlaw Series I-96 Speedway, Lake Odessa, MI, Monday, July 24, Feature Program #45 Qualifications: 1. Stevie Smith, Motter 71M, 15.536 (new one-lap record); 2. Steve Kinser, Kinser 11, 15.619; 3. Joey Saldana, Wendt 77W, 15.681; 4. Jac Haudenschild, Elden 22, 15.823; 5. Andy Hillenburg, Hillenburg 2, 15.882; 6. Keith Kauffman, Sonner 47, 15.918; 7. Danny Lasoski, Hamilton 77, 15.942; 8. Tommie Estes, Jr., Gray 51, 16.033; 9. Greg Hodnett, Two Winners 8TW, 16.056; 10. Randy Hannagan, Hannagan 1x, 16.068; 11. Dave Blaney, Luna 10, 16.113; 12. Tim Kuhn, Kuhn 11A, 16.120; 13. Jeff Swindell, Two Winners 7TW, 16.197; 14. Kenny Jacobs, Johnson U2, 16.204; 15. Gus Wasson, Wasson 4G, 16.344; 16. Mark Slade, Slade 1, 16.420; 17. Van Gurley, Jr., Gurley 3B, 16.451; 18. Byron Reed, B&S Racing 5, 16.456; 19. Kevin Bloomstran, Bloomstran 5W, 16.612; 20. Bill Jacoby, Jacoby 44J, 16.653; 21. Brett Mann, Mann 19, 16.680; 22. Tim Deming, Deming 02, 17.112; 23. Mark Christman, Christman 34, 17.151; 24. Jody Hunt, Hunt 00, 17.683; 25. Davy Brown, Brown 13, no time. First Snap-on Tools Heat Race (eight laps): 1. Mark Slade, 2. Jeff Swindell, 3. Jac Haudenschild. 4. Randy Hannagan, 5. Stevie Smith, 6. Danny Lasoski; 7. Kevin Bloomstran, 8. Tim Deming, 9. Davy Brown. (first six qualified for the "A" Feature) Second Snap-on Tools Heat Race (eight laps): 1. Dave Blaney, 2. Steve Kinser, 3. Tommie Estes, Jr., 4. Kenny Jacobs, 5. Andy Hillenburg, 6. Mark Christman, 7. Bill Jacoby, 8. Van Gurley, Jr. (first six qualified for the "A" Feature) Third Snap-on Tools Heat Race (eight laps): 1. Joey Saldana, 2. Keith Kauffman, 3. Byron Reed, 4. Greg Hodnett, 5. Gus Wasson, 6. Tim Kuhn, 7. Brett Mann, 8. Jody Hunt. (first five qualified for the "A" Feature) Vivarin Dash (five laps): 1. Joey Saldana, 2. Kenny Jacobs, 3. Keith Kauffman, 4. Andy Hillenburg, 5. Jac Haudenschild, 6. Steve Kinser, 7. Danny Lasoski, 8. Tommie Estes, Jr. (finish determined the first eight starting positions in the "A" Feature) B Feature (12 laps): 1. Brett Mann, 2. Kevin Bloomstran, 3. Van Gurley, Jr., 4. Bill Jacoby, 5. Jody Hunt, 6. Tim Deming, 7. Davy Brown ($210). (first six qualified for the "A" Feature) A Feature (30 laps): 1. Joey Saldana ($6,010); 2. Steve Kinser ($3,510); 3. Stevie Smith ($2,510); 4. Dave Blaney ($2,210); 5. Greg Hodnett ($2,110); 6. Kenny Jacobs ($2,010); 7. Andy Hillenburg ($1,610); 8. Jac Haudenschild ($1,510); 9. Keith Kauffman ($1,410); 10. Tommie Estes, Jr. ($1,310); 11. Jeff Swindell ($1,160); 12. Byron Reed ($1,110); 13. Brett Mann ($1,080); 14. Gus Wasson ($1,010); 15. Mark Christman ($710); 16. Van Gurley, Jr. ($530); 17. Kevin Bloomstran ($430); 18. Bill Jacoby ($430); 19. Randy Hannagan ($410); 20. Mark Slide ($410); 21. Tim Kuhn ($410); 22. Danny Lasoski ($410); 23. Tim Deming ($430); 24. Jody Hunt ($430). Lap leader: Joey Saldana 1-30 EcoWater Fast-Time Award winner: Stevie Smith Wells Lamont Hard Charger Award winner: Kenny Jacobs WoO*eot

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series World of Outlaws
Drivers Andy Hillenburg , Danny Lasoski , Steve Kinser , Kenny Jacobs , Gus Wasson , Joey Saldana , Randy Hannagan , Dave Blaney , Jac Haudenschild , Jeff Swindell