Knoxville: Spring Classic finale report

'Dude' completes Knoxville Spring Classic sweep. KNOXVILLE, IA (April 26) -- Danny Lasoski loves Knoxville Raceway, so winning there is extra special. The seven-time Knoxville Raceway champion completed his sweep of the Spring Classic...

'Dude' completes Knoxville Spring Classic sweep.

KNOXVILLE, IA (April 26) -- Danny Lasoski loves Knoxville Raceway, so winning there is extra special.

The seven-time Knoxville Raceway champion completed his sweep of the Spring Classic Saturday, leading all 30 laps from the pole. The victory increased his O'Reilly World of Outlaws Series points lead to 60 points over defending and 17-time champion Steve Kinser.

"The first thing I want to do is thank all the people from J.D. Byrider who are here tonight supporting our team," Lasoski said following his 80th victory at Knoxville. "I owe this whole weekend to Jimmy Carr. He's the greatest crew chief in the world. I let him down here last August, and I promised him if I was healthy that would never happen again. Jimmy and Todd Splain work their tails off and never complain, even though I mess up sometimes and make mistakes.

"J.D. Byrider, Home Depot, Mopar, American Compressed Steel, Eagle Chassis, Kistler Engines and Hoosier Tires all do a great job for us, and I just have the lucky job of driving this car. This place is the sprint car capital of the world, and as far as I'm concerned, it will always be home to me, so winning here is always pretty special."

Lasoski, who also won Friday's Preliminary Feature, earned the privilege of starting the 30-lap main event on the pole by winning his fourth Dash Race of the season. He drove NASCAR Winston Cup champion Tony Stewart's #20 J.D. Byrider Eagle into the lead as flagman Doug Clark waved the green flag and was never challenged.

"B" Feature winner Joey Saldana, Second Heat Race winner Craig Dollansky and 19th-starting Tyler Walker passed Kevin Gobrecht Rookie of the Year candidate Jason Sides during the first five laps. Walker, whose crew replaced the engine in the #35 C&W Motorsports Maxim following the hot-lap session, missed his turn in the qualifying order and took one lap at the end.

"The Dude" was two seconds ahead of front row starter Donny Schatz when he entered lapped traffic seven laps into the race.

Kinser and Schatz exchanged the runner-up spot during laps nine and 14. "The King of the Outlaws" drove his #11 Quaker State Maxim past Schatz in the low groove between turns three and four, only to have the 1997 Rookie of the Year come back with an inside move in the second corner. Schatz's #15 Parker Stores J&J was within 1.2 seconds of Lasoski in dense lapped traffic during the race's middle stages.

Terry McCarl, who has won the Knoxville Raceway championship the last three years, took the low line into turn four to pass Lasoski's nephew, Brian Brown, for seventh place late in lap 16. Walker passed Brown for eighth place with a similar move the next time around.

Mark Kinser and Daryn Pittman passed Tim Shaffer for fourth and fifth place during the 18th and 21st laps. Walker and McCarl exchanged seventh place the next time around.

Brian Paulus and Fourth Heat Race winner Chris Walraven collided in turn four early in lap 23. Paulus kept P and P Motorsports' #28 Verdeilli Farms Maxim under control, but Walraven stopped, bringing out the caution flag.

Shaffer steered the #83 Beef Packers Eagle deep in the fourth corner to pass Mark Kinser and Pittman to claim fourth place within seconds after the green flag replaced the yellow. Kinser passed Shaffer in the low groove between turns one and two with 5 2/3 laps remaining.

Lasoski controlled the final restart, and was 6.1 seconds ahead of Schatz when he took the checkered flag. Steve Kinser finished in third place, ahead of cousin Mark Kinser, Shaffer, Pittman, McCarl, Walker, Saldana and 17th-starting Jeff Shepard. Skip Jackson, who won Knoxville Raceway championships in 1997 and 1998, raced into 14th place from outside the 12th row.

Mark Kinser was the fastest qualifier for the third time this season, pacing time trials with a 119.8-M.P.H. lap around the legendary half-mile oval. The three-time Knoxville Nationals champion also won the First Heat Race.

The O'Reilly World of Outlaws Series will sanction the Omaha Dodge Dealers Great Plains Shootout Friday and Saturday.


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series World of Outlaws
Drivers Tim Shaffer , Mark Kinser , Danny Lasoski , Steve Kinser , Tyler Walker , Brian Brown , Brian Paulus , Daryn Pittman , Jason Sides , Joey Saldana