Knoxville: Preliminary race report

'The King' regains points lead in Knoxville prelim KNOXVILLE, IA (April 26) - Steve Kinser has won Pennzoil World of Outlaws Series races at Knoxville Raceway in almost every conceivable fashion - from overcoming a broken top wing mount to ...

'The King' regains points lead in Knoxville prelim

KNOXVILLE, IA (April 26) - Steve Kinser has won Pennzoil World of Outlaws Series races at Knoxville Raceway in almost every conceivable fashion - from overcoming a broken top wing mount to starting outside the seventh row. "The King of the Outlaws" regained the series points lead Friday with his second preliminary feature victory of the year.

Former Knoxville Raceway regular Craig Dollansky took the lead from outside the second row during the opening lap, but a fuel leak cost him first place. Kinser passed Australian Kerry Madsen on the ensuing restart and held off defending Mopar Parts Knoxville Nationals champion Danny Lasoski for the $5,000 victory.

"I was trying to pace it there at the end so I didn't get stuck on the bottom in traffic," Kinser explained. "I kept looking at the scoreboard, and trying to judge it so I didn't catch that big bunch of cars right at the end. I got up to Joey (Saldana) right on the last lap, but he moved to the bottom and gave me the room I needed. I was getting a little tight there at the end, but I probably could have run a little faster. You can't complain anytime you win a race."

Kinser, the third-fastest qualifier in the season-high 54-car field, followed Dollansky across the finish line in the Third Heat Race and earned the right to start the 25-lap feature inside the second row by finishing second in the First O'Reilly Auto Parts Dash.

Madsen, who won the First O'Reilly Auto Parts Dash, raced into the lead from the pole as the green flag fell in the preliminary feature. Dollansky steered Karavan Racing's #7 V-Mac/ Polydome Maxim into the high groove between turns one and two to pass Kinser for second, then took the lead with an inside move in the third corner.

Jac Haudenschild, who started outside the fifth row, drove seven-time Knoxville Raceway champion Guy Forbrook's #5 Wirtgen Maxim around Danny Wood in the high groove between turns three and four for fifth place late in the second lap.

Jeff Mitrisin brought out the only caution flag of the fast-paced feature early in lap five when he spun in the second corner. Dollansky was forced to pit with a fuel leak, while Wood lost sixth place as his crew repaired a throttle problem in the #6 Casey's General Stores Maxim.

Kinser chased Madsen as the green flag replaced the yellow, then steered his #11 Quaker State Maxim into the low groove between turns three and four to pass Madsen for the lead. "The King of the Outlaws" was 1.7 seconds ahead of his closest pursuers when he entered lapped traffic 10 laps into the race.

Madsen closed to within .6 seconds of Kinser in dense lapped traffic three laps later. Lasoski steered NASCAR Winston Cup star Tony Stewart's #20 J.D. Byrider Eagle deep in the third corner to pass Madsen for the runner-up spot late in lap 14.

Haudenschild tried a similar move to pass Madsen for third place the next time around. They collided slightly, however, turning Madsen's #82 sprinter sideways and allowing Tim Shaffer to take over fourth place.

Dollansky raced back into 12th place by the 18th lap, but was unable to pass Mark Kinser, who entered Knoxville's double-feature event as the Pennzoil World of Outlaws Series points leader.

"The King of the Outlaws," who has won 25 "A" Features -- including 11 Nationals championships - at Knoxville Raceway, was .82 seconds ahead of Lasoski when he took the checkered flag. Shaffer raced wheel-to-wheel with "The Wild Child" through turns three and four, but was unable to drive the #83 Beef Packers Eagle into third place. Haudenschild passed Randy Hannagan for 10th in the point standings with the third-place finish.

Madsen finished fifth, ahead of Fourth Heat Race winner Paul McMahan, Stevie Smith Donny Schatz, Daryn Pittman and defending Knoxville Raceway champion Terry McCarl.

Schatz, who started on the pole in last year's Mopar Parts Knoxville Nationals championship feature, drove the #15 Parker Stores J&J into eighth place from outside the 12th row.

Lasoski, who has won seven Knoxville Raceway championships, paced the qualifying session for the fifth time this season. "The Dude" circled the legendary semi-banked, ½-mile oval in 15.020 seconds, an average speed of 119.840 M.P.H.

Engine problems in Bill Wilburn's #2W Heintz Brothers Maxim caused Johnny Herrera to miss his turn in the qualifying session. After qualifying 40th-quick with his lone lap, the Pennzoil World of Outlaws Series 1986 Rookie of the Year won the "C" Feature and finished sixth in the "B" Feature.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series World of Outlaws
Drivers Tim Shaffer , Mark Kinser , Danny Lasoski , Donny Schatz , Steve Kinser , Craig Dollansky , Jeff Mitrisin , Daryn Pittman , Kerry Madsen , Randy Hannagan , Jac Haudenschild , Johnny Herrera