K-C: Race report

Jason Meyers Passes 11 Cars to Win Freedom 40 CHILLICOTHE, OH (May 11) -- Neither inclement weather nor the 11 drivers starting ahead of him could keep Jason Meyers from winning the 14th Annual Freedom 40 at K-C Raceway Tuesday. The...

Jason Meyers Passes 11 Cars to Win Freedom 40

CHILLICOTHE, OH (May 11) -- Neither inclement weather nor the 11 drivers starting ahead of him could keep Jason Meyers from winning the 14th Annual Freedom 40 at K-C Raceway Tuesday.

The 25-year-old driver from Clovis, CA, patiently waited through a two-hour rain and fog delay, then drove the #14 Elite Landscaping Maxim to his third World of Outlaws Sprint Series victory of the season from outside the sixth row.

"People say these (World of Outlaws Sprint Series) races are won from the first three rows, but we proved them wrong tonight," Meyers yelled to the standing-room-only crowd. "I just want to thank all of you in the stands for sticking with us tonight. We had rain and we had fog, but you guys are still here and we love you for it!

"This is a great racetrack. Any time it's wide enough to race four wide and still have some room, you know it's a great track. My guys -- Steve (Swenson) and Bob (Curtis) -- put a RD-15 (Hoosier tire) on the car tonight, and it worked perfectly. This car was awesome all night long. We've had some good finishes this year and some that haven't been as good, but as long as we keep finishing up front sometimes we'll take it."

The $10,000 victory pushed Meyers past Paul McMahan and Kevin Gobrecht Rookie of the Year leader Kraig Kinser into fourth place in the point standings. No driver has passed as many cars to win a World of Outlaws Sprint Series "A" Feature since Jason Johnson raced to victory from the 13th starting position in the Cheaper Than Dirt Shootout at the Texas Motor Speedway Dirt Track last October.

Second Dash Race winner Jason Sides beat pole-sitter Donny Schatz out of the fourth corner as the green flag fell in the main event. Kerry Madsen, who swept the World of Outlaws Down Under Preliminary Features in January, exchanged second place with Schatz three times during the third and fourth laps.

Sides was 12 car-lengths ahead of Madsen when he entered lapped traffic six laps into the 40-lap race. Kraig Kinser, whose right rear tire lost air pressure as he lined up for the First Dash Race, brought out the caution flag five laps later when he suffered another flat tire. Sides raced away from the field when the green flag replaced the yellow, and opened an eight-car-length advantage by the 17th lap.

Schatz challenged Madsen for second place for three laps before steering the #15 Parker Store J&J into the low groove between the third and fourth corners to complete the pass late in lap 23.

Meyers, who raced past seven cars during the first 25 laps, took the high line around Mark Kinser in turn four to take over fourth place three laps later. Meyers raced four abreast with Kinser, Schatz and Madsen through most of the 29th lap before surging into second place. Meyers continued his run to the front two laps later when he rode the rim around Sides in the fourth corner.

Schatz passed Mark Kinser with an inside move through turns one and two three laps later, only to have the two-time World of Outlaws Sprint Series champion regain second place heading into the fourth corner the next time around. Kinser steered father Karl Kinser's #5M Sabko Maxim into the high groove in turn one to pass Sides for second place early in lap 38.

Mechanical problems in the #20 J.D. Byrider Eagle forced "B" Feature winner Danny Lasoski to stop in the second corner as the leaders took the white flag, setting up a two-lap dash to the checkered flag. Meyers controlled the ensuing restart, and took the checkered flag with six car-lengths to spare.

Sides finished in third place, ahead of Schatz, Madsen, Craig Dollansky, Dale Blaney, World of Outlaws Sprint Series points leader Steve Kinser, fast qualifier Chad Kemenah and Paul McMahan. Dollansky moved past defending Freedom 40 champion Daryn Pittman and Tim Shaffer into seventh place in the standings with his eighth top-10 finish of the season.

Danny Smith, who won his first World of Outlaws Sprint Series "A" Feature in almost 19 years at Lawrenceburg Speedway last Thursday, raced past seven cars to finish 12th.

Kemenah paced the 44-car qualifying session with a 115.890-M.P.H. lap around Chillicothe's high-banked, 3/8-mile oval.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series World of Outlaws
Drivers Tim Shaffer , Mark Kinser , Danny Lasoski , Donny Schatz , Steve Kinser , Craig Dollansky , Daryn Pittman , Jason Meyers , Jason Sides , Kerry Madsen , Kraig Kinser , Paul McMahan , Chad Kemenah , Jason Johnson