I-80 report 98-04-30

Stevie Smith Takes I-80 Speedway Opener By Richard Day GREENWOOD, NE (April 30) - Stevie Smith kept his ...

Stevie Smith Takes I-80 Speedway Opener By Richard Day GREENWOOD, NE (April 30) - Stevie Smith kept his #19 Ingersoll-Rand sprinter up front and out of trouble Thursday when the Pennzoil World of Outlaws Series opened a $75,000 event at I- 80 Speedway. Unfortunately, the same couldn't be said for several other front-runners as Smith became the fifth different driver to win a World of Outlaws Preliminary Feature in the series' 20th Anniversary Season. "I know they've had quite a bit of rain here, and that made the track pretty tough," Smith said. "Actually, my car felt pretty good and the track was really fast." The 20-lap feature got off to a rather raucous start. Channellock Dash winner Andy Hillenburg, who started next to Smith on the front row, had problems getting his #2 J&J to pick up speed as the green flag fell. A seven-car crash sent Sammy Swindell, Dion Hindi and "B" Feature winner Johnny Herrera turning over while Mark Kinser, Greg Hodnett, Bill Robertson and Larry Neighbors were also involved. Kinser lost the Pennzoil World of Outlaws Series points lead when he and Herrera were unable to restart. Smith burst past Hillenburg when the green flag replaced the red and opened a three-car-length advantage within three laps. He entered lapped traffic two laps later and increased his lead to eight car-lengths by the sixth lap. Stevie was in dense lapped traffic when Neighbors stopped on the back straightaway with a blown engine late in lap eight. Terry McCarl delayed the race further when his #24 McCroskey Chevrolet Twister hit the wall in the third corner and flipped. World of Outlaws Rookie of the Year candidate Dale Blaney passed Steve Kinser for fourth place high in turn four as the race resumed, only to have a crash nullify the move. As Vivarin Fast-Time Award winner Tyler Walker slowed in the fourth corner, Lance Blevins hit him from behind and flipped. Blaney used a similar move to pass "The King of the Outlaws" after the green flag replaced the red, but a front-end malfunction caused the #93 Amoco J&J to flip in turn two. Hillenburg challenged Smith for the lead as the race resumed, but was unable to keep pace with him. Stevie was 15 car-lengths ahead when he caught the backmarkers again with seven laps remaining and cruised to the $4,500 victory. "I just wanted to get this one over with," Smith said. "It kind of gets to you when you're sitting there under the red flag knowing everybody else is behind you waiting to take their shot. "My dad (Steve) and Devin (Delugio) work hard, and they're the ones who make this whole thing possible. We're pretty happy with the way things have gone so far and hopefully, things will continue to go our way." Jac Haudenschild finished in third place. Steve Kinser moved three points ahead of Mark in their battle for the lead in the World of Outlaws point standings with a fourth-place run. Completing the top 10 were Danny Lasoski, Donny Schatz, Hodnett, Danny Smith, Swindell and Third Racing Champions Heat Race winner Joe Gaerte. Walker received the first Vivarin Fast-Time Award of his career after circling the high-banked, 4/10-mile oval in 14.262 seconds, an average speed of 100.968 m.p.h. The lap trimmed .016 seconds off the qualifying standard Mark Kinser set at I-80 last September 26th. Schatz was more then a half-second off Walker's pace and was only the 18th-fastest qualifier in the 30-car field. The 1997 Pennzoil World of Outlaws Series Rookie of the Year atoned for his qualifying woes in the Preliminary Feature, however, passing 11 cars on his way to a sixth-place finish. WoO 1998 Pennzoil World of Outlaws Series I-80 Speedway, Greenwood, NE Thursday, April 30, Preliminary program Qualifications: 1. Tyler Walker, Walker 35, 14.262 (new one-lap record); 2. Mark Kinser, Kinser 5M, 14.278; 3. Jac Haudenschild, Elden 22, 14.302; 4. Danny Lasoski, Roth 83, 14.310; 5. Dale Blaney, Hylton-Blaney 93, 14.368; 6. Stevie Smith, Smith Racing 19, 14.380; 7. Andy Hillenburg, Hillenburg 2, 14.396; 8. Sammy Swindell, Swindell 1, 14.432; 9. Steve Kinser, Kinser 11, 14.482; 10. Lance Blevins, Blevins 21, 14.502; 11. Don Droud Jr., DOCC Motorsports 1BK, 14.575; 12. Greg Hodnett, Helm 11H, 14.579; 13. Craig Dollansky, Stanton 75, 14.671; 14. Danny Smith, Brazier 21S, 14.724; 15. Joe Gaerte, Holbrook 8H, 14.741; 16. Marlon Jones, Jones 6, 14.757; 17. Jeff Swindell, Two Winners 104+, 14.802; 18. Donny Schatz, Schatz 15, 14.803; 19. Leonard Lee, Lee 16L, 14.825; 20. Dion Hindi, Hindi 18, 14.964; 21. Johnny Herrera, Sonner 47, 14.988; 22. Larry Neighbors, Neighbors 29N, 15.004; 23. Matt Moro, Moro 2M, 15.029; 24. Jaymie Moyle, Vanderecken 10, 15.041; 25. Terry McCarl, McCarl 24, 15.142; 26. Bill Robertson, Eckley 16, 15.180; 27. Nick Bellino, Bellino 41B, 15.273; 28. Gerald Cressman, Cressman 56C, 15.613; 29. Kevin Hulse, Hulse 15x, 16.117; 30. Jeff Lowery, Lowery 45L, 16.509. First Racing Champions Heat Race (eight laps): 1. Craig Dollansky, 2. Andy Hillenburg, 3. Tyler Walker, 4. Larry Neighbors, 5. Lance Blevins, 6. Marlon Jones, 7. Danny Lasoski, 8. Leonard Lee, 9. Terry McCarl, 10. Gerald Cressman. (first six qualified for the Preliminary Feature) Second Racing Champions Heat Race (eight laps): 1. Jeff Swindell, 2. Danny Smith, 3. Dale Blaney, 4. Sammy Swindell, 5. Mark Kinser, 6. Bill Robertson, 7. Matt Moro, 8. Kevin Hulse, 9. Don Droud, Jr., 10. Dion Hindi. (first six qualified for the Preliminary Feature) Third Racing Champions Heat Race (eight laps): 1. Joe Gaerte, 2. Donny Schatz, 3. Greg Hodnett, 4. Steve Kinser, 5. Jac Haudenschild, 6. Stevie Smith, 7. Johnny Herrera, 8. Jaymie Moyle, 9. Nick Bellino, 10. Jeff Lowery. (first six qualified for the Preliminary Feature) Channellock Dash (five laps): 1. Andy Hillenburg, 2. Stevie Smith, 3. Dale Blaney, 4. Jac Haudenschild, 5. Mark Kinser, 6. Steve Kinser, 7. Sammy Swindell, 8. Tyler Walker. (finish determined the first eight starting positions in the Preliminary Feature) B Feature (12 laps): 1. Johnny Herrera, 2. Danny Lasoski, 3. Dion Hindi, 4. Leonard Lee, 5. Matt Moro, 6. Terry McCarl, 7. Gerald Cressman ($150); 8. Nick Bellino ($125); 9. Kevin Hulse ($100); 10. Jeff Lowery ($75) 11. Jaymie Moyle ($60); 12. Don Droud, Jr. ($50). (first six qualified for the Preliminary Feature) A Feature (20 laps): 1. Stevie Smith ($4,500); 2. Andy Hillenburg ($2,500); 3. Jac Haudenschild ($1,700); 4. Steve Kinser ($1,500); 5. Danny Lasoski ($1,370); 6. Donny Schatz ($1,250); 7. Greg Hodnett ($1,200); 8. Danny Smith ($1,100); 9. Sammy Swindell ($1,075); 10. Joe Gaerte ($1,050); 11. Jeff Swindell ($1,000); 12. Marlon Jones ($800); 13. Craig Dollansky ($700); 14. Leonard Lee ($650); 15. Dion Hindi ($420); 16. Matt Moro ($320); 17. Dale Blaney ($300); 18. Tyler Walker ($300); 19. Lance Blevins ($300); 20. Terry McCarl ($320); 21. Larry Neighbors ($300); 22. Bill Robertson ($300); 23. Mark Kinser ($300); 24. Johnny Herrera ($320). Lap leader: Stevie Smith 1-20 Vivarin Fast-Time Award winner: Tyler Walker WoO

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series World of Outlaws
Drivers Andy Hillenburg , Mark Kinser , Danny Lasoski , Donny Schatz , Steve Kinser , Sammy Swindell , Craig Dollansky , Tyler Walker , Larry Neighbors , Jac Haudenschild , Johnny Herrera , Jeff Swindell