I-80 report 97-05-06

Mark Kinser Maintains Winning Streak at I-80 By Richard Day GREENWOOD, NE (July 6) - Mark Kinser is still the only driver to win a Pennzoil World of Outlaws Series "A" Feature at I-80 Speedway. The defending World...

Mark Kinser Maintains Winning Streak at I-80 By Richard Day GREENWOOD, NE (July 6) - Mark Kinser is still the only driver to win a Pennzoil World of Outlaws Series "A" Feature at I-80 Speedway. The defending World of Outlaws champion extended his streak to four Sunday with a flag-to-flag victory when the series completed what was originally scheduled to be a double-feature event in early May. "I think we blew a motor here one time (in a Preliminary Feature) and ran fifth, but other than that, things have gone our way," Kinser said. "We've won at Eagle and at the State Fairgrounds. It makes it real nice because Phil Durst and Midway Auto Auctions is just down the road here. He's been a big anchor for our team for many years. I can't wait to get back here." Kinser and the rest of the Pennzoil World of Outlaws Series' fire-breathing, mudslinging sprint car racing teams are scheduled to return to I-80 Speedway September 26-27. Mark narrowly missed a clean sweep, earning his 18th Channellock Fast-Time Award, then winning his seventh Vivarin Dash and his 14th main event of the year. His third-place finish in the First Heat Race was the only blemish on an otherwise perfect performance. Kinser drove the #5M Wirtgen Maxim into the lead from the pole as the green flag fell in the 30-lap "A" Feature. His cousin, outside polesitter Steve Kinser, tried to pass him with a high move through turns one and two, but Mark was equal to the challenge. Mark was six car-lengths ahead of Steve when Jerry Vandenhul brought out the caution flag with a second-corner spin late in the fourth lap. After the restart, Steve steered his #11 Quaker State Maxim into the low groove, but was unable to gain on Mark. A low move through the third and fourth corners allowed Danny Lasoski to pass Sammy Swindell and Dave Blaney for fourth place late in the eighth lap. The leaders entered lapped traffic nine laps into the race, and Mark opened a six-car-length advantage within 1 1/2 laps. Lasoski reeled in Jac Haudenschild by lap 11, and passed him for third place with a low move in turn one three laps later. Steve made another run at the lead midway through the race, and Mark opened a 10-car-length advantage within two laps as Lasoski challenged "The King of the Outlaws" for second place. Steve stayed in the low groove and pressured Mark again with 10 laps remaining, only to have his cousin race away from him in the high groove. The caution flag was flying with seven laps remaining when Travis Cram stopped in turn four with a blown engine. Mark raced away from the 24-car field as the race resumed, and returned to his 10-car-length comfort zone within two laps. Haudenschild challenged "The Dude" for a couple of laps before steering the #22 Pennzoil Maxim high into the third corner to regain third place late in lap 27. Steve narrowed the gap as the leaders caught the backmarkers again with two laps remaining, but was four car-lengths behind when Mark took the checkered flag. "There were definitely two lines out there," Mark explained. "You just had to be careful on the bottom to make sure you hit the line, and you had to be careful not to bump the fence too hard on the top. "My crew signaled me to run the bottom in (turns) three and four until I got my momentum built back up on that last restart. I could feel the pressure, but we hung on." Haudenschild held off Lasoski to finish third. Completing the top 10 in the Pennzoil World of Outlaws Series' 41st event of the year were Blaney, Swindell, Greg Hodnett, Andy Hillenburg and heat race winners Don Droud, Jr., and Johnny Herrera. The World of Outlaws will take a week off before making its only visit of the year to Red River Valley Speedway in West Fargo, ND. A $75,000, double-feature event is scheduled for Friday and Saturday at the high-banked, 1/2-mile oval. WoO 1997 Pennzoil World of Outlaws Series I-80 Speedway, Greenwood, NE Sunday, July 6, Feature Program #41 Qualifications: 1. Mark Kinser, Kinser 5M, 14.612; 2. Steve Kinser, Kinser 11, 14.815; 3. Jac Haudenschild, Elden 22, 14.850; 4. Sammy Swindell, Swindell 1, 15.034; 5. Paul McMahan, Stanton 75, 15.092; 6. Dave Blaney, Blaney/Hylton 10, 15.117; 7. Stevie Smith, Smith 19, 15.146; 8. Danny Lasoski, Wahlie 1W, 15.224; 9. Andy Hillenburg, Hillenburg 2, 15.227; 10. Greg Hodnett, Helm 11H, 15.264; 11. Donny Schatz, Schatz 15, 15.322; 12. Jeff Swindell, Two Winners 7TW, 15.331; 13. Craig Dollansky, Lindsey 2D, 15.369; 14. Skip Jackson, Serace 55, 15.398; 15. Johnny Herrera, Sonner 47, 15.414; 16. Joe Gaerte, Gaerte 3G, 15.485; 17. Don Droud, Jr., DOCC Racing 1BK, 15.643; 18. Dion Hindi, Hindi 11D, 15.716; 19. Tim Baker, Vandenheem 29, 15.922; 20. Matt Moro, Moro 2M, 15.923; 21. Jaymie Moyle, Vanderecken 10V, 15.973; 22. Rich Bubak, Bubak 9, 16.038; 23. Travis Cram, Nickel/Roebuck 12, 16.167; 24. Jerry Vandenhul, Vandenhul 7V, 17.679; 25. Rob Lipker, Lipker 7L, 17.902. First Heat Race (eight laps): 1. Stevie Smith, 2. Sammy Swindell, 3. Mark Kinser, 4. Craig Dollansky, 5. Greg Hodnett, 6. Joe Gaerte, 7. Rich Bubak, 8. Tim Baker, 9. Rob Lipker. (first nine qualified for the "A" Feature) Second Heat Race (eight laps): 1. Don Droud, Jr., 2. Danny Lasoski, 3. Skip Jackson, 4. Steve Kinser, 5. Donny Schatz, 6. Paul McMahan, 7. Matt Moro, 8. Travis Cram. (first eight qualified for the "A" Feature) Third Heat Race (eight laps): 1. Johnny Herrera, 2. Andy Hillenburg, 3. Jac Haudenschild, 4. Dave Blaney, 5. Jeff Swindell, 6. Dion Hindi, 7. Jaymie Moyle, 8. Jerry Vandenhul. (first eight qualified for the "A" Feature) Vivarin Dash (five laps): 1. Mark Kinser, 2. Steve Kinser, 3. Sammy Swindell, 4. Jac Haudenschild, 5. Stevie Smith, 6. Danny Lasoski, 7. Dave Blaney, 8. Paul McMahan. (finish determined the first eight starting positions in the "A" Feature) A Feature (30 laps): 1. Mark Kinser ($7,000); 2. Steve Kinser ($4,000); 3. Jac Haudenschild ($3,000); 4. Danny Lasoski ($2,500); 5. Dave Blaney ($2,300); 6. Sammy Swindell ($2,200); 7. Greg Hodnett ($2,100); 8. Andy Hillenburg ($2,000); 9. Don Droud, Jr. ($1,700); 10. Johnny Herrera ($1,600); 11. Joe Gaerte ($1,200); 12. Donny Schatz ($1,150); 13. Stevie Smith ($1,100); 14. Jeff Swindell ($1,050); 15. Dion Hindi ($1,000); 16. Paul McMahan ($700); 17. Jaymie Moyle ($600); 18. Tim Baker ($500); 19. Rich Bubak ($500); 20. Matt Moro ($500); 21. Skip Jackson ($500); 22. Travis Cram ($500); 23. Craig Dollansky ($500); 24. Rob Lipker ($500); 25. Jerry Vandenhul ($500). Lap leader: Mark Kinser 1-30 Channellock Fast-Time Award winner: Mark Kinser WoO

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series World of Outlaws
Drivers Tim Baker , Andy Hillenburg , Mark Kinser , Danny Lasoski , Donny Schatz , Steve Kinser , Sammy Swindell , Craig Dollansky , Paul McMahan , Dave Blaney , Jac Haudenschild , Johnny Herrera , Jeff Swindell