I-80 report 96-05-02

Steve Kinser Snaps Winless Streak in I-80 Prelim By Richard Day GREENWOOD, NE (May 2) - Here's a phrase Skoal Outlaw Series fans haven't heard very often in 18 1/2 years: Steve Kinser has gone six weeks between ...

Steve Kinser Snaps Winless Streak in I-80 Prelim By Richard Day GREENWOOD, NE (May 2) - Here's a phrase Skoal Outlaw Series fans haven't heard very often in 18 1/2 years: Steve Kinser has gone six weeks between victories. It's true. When "the King of the Outlaws" won the Preliminary Feature at I-80 Speedway Thursday, it was his first visit to victory lane since March 23rd at the Devil's Bowl. "It's been a while since we won one," Kinser admitted following his second victory in a World of Outlaws Preliminary Feature this season. It was anybody's race during the first lap, as three different drivers raced ahead of the 24-car field. After Randy Hannagan's fourth-corner spin brought out the caution flag on the original start, Sammy Swindell burst into the lead from the pole. Kinser passed Swindell deep in turn one, only to have cousin Mark Kinser take the inside line in the second corner to pass him for the lead. Mark won a drag race to the finish line by inches to lead the first lap, but Steve steered the #11 Quaker State Maxim into the high groove to pass him in turn one. Steve opened an eight-car-length advantage during the third lap, and entered lapped traffic two laps later. He was a half-straightaway ahead of his closest pursuers by lap eight. Mark narrowed the gap to six car-lengths midway through the race, only to have Swindell divert his attention from the leader for the next three laps. Sammy steered his #1 ChannelLock Gambler to the lowest point in turn one early in the 12th lap, but Mark was equal to the challenge. The battle for fourth place between Dave Blaney and Danny Lasoski raged for 11 laps before "The Buckeye Bullet" put five car-lengths between himself and Lasoski during the 13th lap. Five laps later, however, "The Dude" caught the defending Skoal Outlaw Series champion and returned the favor. Andy Hillenburg drove his #2 STP J&J past five cars during the first 15 laps, and took sixth place from Joey Saldana the next time around. Jeff Swindell won a front-straightaway drag race to the finish line to relegate Saldana to eighth place later in lap 16. Mark closed to within three car-lengths of the leader with three laps remaining, only to have the engine in the #5M Wirtgen Maxim start smoking. Mark's loss of power allowed Sammy, Lasoski and Blaney to relegate him to fifth place by the end of the race. Swindell raced to within two car-lengths of the leader during the 19th lap, but was five car-lengths behind when Kinser took the checkered flag. Lasoski held off Blaney to finish in third place. Rounding out the top 10 in the Preliminary Feature were Mark Kinser, Hillenburg, Jeff Swindell, Saldana, Stevie Smith and Johnny Herrera. Mark, who won the Skoal Outlaw Series' first "A" Feature at I-80 last May, opened the festivities by claiming his sixth EcoWater Quick- Time Award of the year. His 14.549-second qualifying lap was only .054 seconds off one-lap record he set at the high-banked, 1/4-mile oval last season. He also won the First Quaker State Heat Race. Brian Paulus was battling Dion Hindi for the lead with four laps remaining in the "B" Feature when his #28 Charles Field Dentistry Gambler clipped the turn-two guardrail and flipped. Hindi went on to win the race, while Paulus was credited with a 12th-place finish. WoO 1996 World of Outlaws/Skoal Outlaw Series I-80 Speedway, Greenwood, NE Friday, May 2, Preliminary Program Qualifications: 1. Mark Kinser, Kinser 5M, 14.549; 2. Joey Saldana, Roth 83, 14.830; 3. Steve Kinser, Kinser 11, 14.918; 4. Dave Blaney, Luna 10, 14.953; 5. Sammy Swindell, Swindell 1, 14.964; 6. Randy Hannagan, Stanton 75, 15.054; 7. Danny Lasoski, Forbrook 5, 15.075; 8. Don Droud, Jr., Kormack 1BK, 15.112; 9. Johnny Herrera, Sonner 47, 15.121; 10. Stevie Smith, Motter 71M, 15.129; 11. Jeff Swindell, Two Winners 7TW, 15.130; 12. Andy Hillenburg, Hillenburg 2, 15.173; 13. Joe Gaerte, Gaerte 3G, 15.177; 14. Aaron Berryhill, Berryhill 97, 15.275; 15. Jac Haudenschild, Elden 22, 15.288; 16. Gary Wright, Action Motorsports 9, 15.317; 17. Skip Jackson, Vanderecken 10v, 15.358; 18. Terry McCarl, Gray 51, 15.378; 19. Lance Blevins, Blevins 21, 15.439; 20. Marlon Jones, Oswalt 1J, 15.478; 21. Brian Paulus, P&P Motorsports 28, 15.630; 22. Dion Hindi, Hindi 11H, 15.659; 23. Jim Carr, McCarr 7M, 15.661; 24. John Hunt, Crown Enterprises 63, 15.873; 25. Randy Smith, Ball 3B, 15.922; 26. Travis Cram, Cram 92, 16.134; 27. Gerald Cressman, Cressman 56C, 16.336; 28. Jeff Griffis, Morris 91, 16.388; 29. Todd Splain, Splain 1x, 16.442; 30. Mark Finnell, Finnell 44, 18.064; 31. Chad Mellenberndt, Mellenberndt 97, no time. First Quaker State Heat Race (eight laps): 1. Mark Kinser, 2. Gary Wright, 3. Danny Lasoski, 4. Stevie Smith, 5. Dave Blaney, 6. Joe Gaerte, 7. Lance Blevins, 8. Dion Hindi, 9. Jeff Griffis, 10. Randy Smith. DNS - Chad Mellenberndt. (first six qualified for the Preliminary Feature) Second Quaker State Heat Race (eight laps): 1. Skip Jackson, 2. Jeff Swindell, 3. Sammy Swindell, 4. Joey Saldana, 5. Don Droud, Jr., 6. Aaron Berryhill, 7. Marlon Jones, 8. Jim Carr, 9. Travis Cram, 10. Todd Splain. (first four qualified for the Preliminary Feature) Third Quaker State Heat Race (eight laps): 1. Terry McCarl, 2. Andy Hillenburg, 3. Steve Kinser, 4. Jac Haudenschild, 5. Johnny Herrera, 6. Randy Hannagan, 7. John Hunt, 8. Gerald Cressman, 9. Mark Finnell, 10. Brian Paulus. (first four qualified for the Preliminary Feature) Vivarin Dash (five laps): 1. Sammy Swindell, 2. Steve Kinser, 3. Randy Hannagan, 4. Mark Kinser, 5. Dave Blaney, 6. Joey Saldana, 7. Danny Lasoski, 8. Don Droud, Jr. (finish determined the first eight starting positions in the Preliminary Feature) B Feature (12 laps): 1. Dion Hindi, 2. John Hunt, 3. Lance Blevins, 4. Marlon Jones, 5. Gerald Cressman, 6. Randy Smith, 7. Jim Carr ($160); 8. Travis Cram ($135); 9. Jeff Griffis ($110); 10. Todd Splain ($85); 11. Mark Finnell ($70); 12. Brian Paulus ($60); 13. Chad Mellenberndt ($40). (first six qualified for the Preliminary Feature) Preliminary Feature (20 laps): 1. Steve Kinser ($4,010); 2. Sammy Swindell ($2,310); 3. Danny Lasoski ($1,610); 4. Dave Blaney ($1,410); 5. Mark Kinser ($1,260); 6. Andy Hillenburg ($1,160); 7. Jeff Swindell ($1,110); 8. Joey Saldana ($1,060); 9. Stevie Smith ($1,035); 10. Johnny Herrera ($1,010); 11. Joe Gaerte ($910); 12. Jac Haudenschild ($710); 13. Terry McCarl ($610); 14. Gary Wright ($510); 15. Dion Hindi ($330); 16. Lance Blevins ($330); 17. Skip Jackson ($260); 18. Randy Hannagan ($260); 19. Don Droud, Jr. ($260); 20. John Hunt ($280); 21. Marlon Jones ($280); 22. Gerald Cressman ($280); 23. Aaron Berryhill ($260); 24. Randy Smith ($280). Lap leaders: Mark Kinser 1, Steve Kinser 2-20 EcoWater Quick-Time Award winner: Mark Kinser WoO

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series World of Outlaws
Drivers Andy Hillenburg , Mark Kinser , Danny Lasoski , Steve Kinser , Sammy Swindell , Aaron Berryhill , Brian Paulus , Joey Saldana , Randy Hannagan , Dave Blaney , Jac Haudenschild , Johnny Herrera , Jeff Swindell