I-55 report 96-06-12

Mark Kinser Wins I-55 Event as Smith Crashes By Richard Day PEVELY, MO (June 12) - Leading a Skoal Outlaw Series race has been more precarious this season than any in recent memory. Sammy Swindell has crashed out...

Mark Kinser Wins I-55 Event as Smith Crashes By Richard Day PEVELY, MO (June 12) - Leading a Skoal Outlaw Series race has been more precarious this season than any in recent memory. Sammy Swindell has crashed out of first place in three "A" Features. Mark and Steve Kinser collided while racing for the lead at Eldora Speedway in April. A loose coil wire forced Andy Hillenburg to surrender the lead in the Spring Nationals at Devil's Bowl Speedway in March. The fickle finger of fate pointed at Stevie Smith when the World of Outlaws returned to I-55 Raceway for the first time in four years Wednesday. The series' 1990 Rookie of the Year gave the lead back to points leader Mark Kinser when the #71M EcoWater Systems Maxim flipped in the first corner midway through the 40-lap main event. Kinser held off defending Skoal Outlaw Series champion Dave Blaney to win his ninth "A" Feature of the year. The $6,000 victory increased his advantage in the point standings to a season-high 101 points. After the qualifying session was delayed 30 minutes by rain, Randy Kinser broke I-55's one-lap record with a 10.707-second trip around the high-banked, 1/3-mile oval. Mark won the Vivarin Dash from outside the second row for the right to start the "A" Feature on the pole. Mark, who also won the Third Quaker State Heat Race, burst into the lead as the green flag fell in the main event. He was five car- lengths ahead of the field when cousin Kelly Kinser and Todd Kane collided in turn two and flipped. Mother Nature intervened again before the race resumed and delayed the action another hour. Kinser drove the #5M Wirtgen Maxim into the lead again when the green flag replaced the red, and opened a five-car-length advantage within two laps. Smith caught Mark as they entered lapped traffic during the fifth lap, and challenged him for the lead for six laps. Stevie took the lead with a low move in turn four late in the 12th lap. He increased his advantage to a full straightaway during the next seven laps, only to have disaster strike. Smith was taking the high line around a pack of backmarkers during the 18th lap when the #71M clipped the outside retaining wall. The impact broke the front suspension and caused Smith to flip in the first corner early in lap 19. With a backmarker restarting between the leader and Andy Hillenburg, Mark quickly opened a comfortable advantage as the race resumed. He was five car-lengths ahead when he caught the backmarkers again during the 23rd lap. Blaney, the Fourth Quaker State Heat Race winner, drove the #10 Vivarin J&J past seven cars during the first 22 laps. He joined Randy Kinser and Joe Gaerte in their battle for third place the next time around. After getting by Kinser and Gaerte, "The Buckeye Bullet" claimed his sixth second-place finish of the year with a 39th-lap pass of Hillenburg. Blaney was racing into turn four when Mark took the checkered flag. Hillenburg kept his #2 STP J&J ahead of Randy Kinser for third place. Completing the top 10 in the main event were Gaerte, Johnny Herrera, Jac Haudenschild, Jim Carr, Jeff Swindell and Sammy Swindell. Haudenschild, only the 22nd-fastest qualifier in the 33-car field, drove the #22 Pennzoil Maxim past 15 cars to finish seventh. Carr won the "B" Feature, then raced to a season-best eighth-place finish from outside the eighth row. Jeff Swindell and Steve Kinser left the I-55 event tied for fourth in the World of Outlaws point standings. Kinser, winner of three "A" Features at I-55, hit the retaining wall in turn three and flipped during the Vivarin Dash. His 12th-place run in the main event marked the seventh time this season "The King of the Outlaws" has finished out of the top 10. Sammy Swindell moved one point ahead of Smith in their battle for sixth place in the points race when Stevie was credited with a 19th- place finish. WoO 1996 World of Outlaws/Skoal Outlaw Series I-55 Raceway, Pevely, MO Wednesday, June 12, Feature Program #24 Qualifications: 1. Randy Kinser, Kinser 14, 10.707 (new one-lap record); 2. Stevie Smith, Motter 71M, 10.766; 3. Mark Kinser, Kinser 5M, 10.779; 4. Steve Kinser, Kinser 11, 10.852; 5. Andy Hillenburg, Hillenburg 2, 10.860; 6. Jeff Swindell, Two Winners 7TW, 10.893; 7. Joe Gaerte, Gaerte 3G, 10.902; 8. Johnny Herrera, Sonner 47, 10.915; 9. Terry McCarl, Gray 51, 10.920; 10. Sammy Swindell, Swindell 1, 10.945; 11. Danny Lasoski, Forbrook 5, 11.007; 12. Dave Blaney, Luna 10, 11.030; 13. Lee Dunn, Dunn 81, 11.039; 14. Joey Saldana, Roth 83, 11.067; 15. Tim Montgomery, Montgomery 32T, 11.074; 16. Jim Carr, McCarr 7M, 11.079; 17. Lance Blevins, Blevins 21, 11.098; 18. Greg Hodnett, Helm 11H, 11.139; 19. Todd Kane, Holbrook 8J, 11.156; 20. J.C. Sulawske, Hobgood 12, 11.228; 21. Jerrod Hull, Hull 11x, 11.243; 22. Jac Haudenschild, Elden 22, 11.251; 23. Kelly Kinser, Kinser 4K, 11.252; 24. Travis Cram, Cram 92, 11.262; 25. Dennis Moore, Jr., Cahill 7, 11.282; 26. Tommie Estes, Jr., Threatt 29, 11.335; 27. Clark Bollinger, Bollinger 4Z, 11.390; 28. Kevin Stepter, Stepter 38, 11.430; 29. Jimmy Brewer, Brewer 32, 11.467; 30. Justin Via, Vye 24V, 11.543; 31. Bob Thomas, Campbell 7C, 12.132; 32. Brian Paulus, P&P Motorsports 28, no time; 33. Terry Babb, Babb 3x, no time. First Quaker State Heat Race (10 laps): 1. Lance Blevins, 2. Jerrod Hull, 3. Andy Hillenburg, 4. Randy Kinser, 5. Terry McCarl, 6. Lee Dunn, 7. Dennis Moore, Jr., 8. Jimmy Brewer. (first five qualified for the "A" Feature) Second Quaker State Heat Race (10 laps): 1. Greg Hodnett, 2. Jac Haudenschild, 3. Sammy Swindell, 4. Stevie Smith, 5. Joey Saldana, 6. Jeff Swindell, 7. Tommie Estes, Jr., 8. Justin Via. (first five qualified for the "A" Feature) Third Quaker State Heat Race (10 laps): 1. Mark Kinser, 2. Kelly Kinser, 3. Todd Kane, 4. Tim Montgomery, 5. Danny Lasoski, 6. Clark Bollinger, 7. Terry Babb, 8. Joe Gaerte. (first five qualified for the "A" Feature) Fourth Quaker State Heat Race (10 laps): 1. Dave Blaney, 2. J.C. Sulawske, 3. Steve Kinser, 4. Johnny Herrera, 5. Travis Cram, 6. Jim Carr, 7. Kevin Stepter, 8. Bob Thomas, 9. Brian Paulus. (first five qualified for the "A" Feature) Vivarin Dash (seven laps): 1. Mark Kinser, 2. Stevie Smith, 3. Andy Hillenburg, 4. Randy Kinser, 5. Sammy Swindell, 6. Terry McCarl, 7. Johnny Herrera, 8. Steve Kinser. (finish determined the first eight starting positions in the "A" Feature) B Feature (12 laps): 1. Jim Carr, 2. Joe Gaerte, 3. Jeff Swindell, 4. Lee Dunn, 5. Tommie Estes, Jr. ($210); 6. Dennis Moore, Jr. ($185); 7. Jimmy Brewer ($160); 8. Kevin Stepter ($110); 9. Terry Babb ($100); 10. Justin Via ($90); 11. Clark Bollinger ($70); 12. Bob Thomas ($60); 13. Brian Paulus ($60). (first four qualified for the "A" Feature) A Feature (40 laps): 1. Mark Kinser ($6,010); 2. Dave Blaney ($3,510); 3. Andy Hillenburg ($2,510); 4. Randy Kinser ($2,210); 5. Joe Gaerte ($2,130); 6. Johnny Herrera ($2,010); 7. Jac Haudenschild ($1,610); 8. Jim Carr ($1,530); 9. Jeff Swindell ($1,430); 10. Sammy Swindell ($1,310); 11. Danny Lasoski ($1,160); 12. Steve Kinser ($1,110); 13. Joey Saldana ($1,060); 14. Lee Dunn ($1,030); 15. Jerrod Hull ($710); 16. Travis Cram ($510); 17. J.C. Sulawske ($410); 18. Terry McCarl ($410); 19. Stevie Smith ($410); 20. Greg Hodnett ($410); 21. Tim Montgomery ($410); 22. Lance Blevins ($410); 23. Todd Kane ($410); 24. Kelly Kinser ($410). Lap leaders: Mark Kinser 1-11, 21-40; Stevie Smith 12-20 EcoWater Quick-Time Award winner: Randy Kinser WoO

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series World of Outlaws
Drivers Andy Hillenburg , Mark Kinser , Danny Lasoski , Steve Kinser , Sammy Swindell , Brian Paulus , Joey Saldana , Dave Blaney , Jac Haudenschild , Johnny Herrera , Jeff Swindell