Houston preview

World of Outlaws Return to Houston Raceway Park on Friday March 16 Baytown, TX--March 13 2007 -- After a trip east from the Arizona desert on Interstate 10, the World of Outlaws return to action on Friday March 16 at Houston Raceway Park for The...

World of Outlaws Return to Houston Raceway Park on Friday March 16

Baytown, TX--March 13 2007 -- After a trip east from the Arizona desert on Interstate 10, the World of Outlaws return to action on Friday March 16 at Houston Raceway Park for The Texas Shootout. The series last visited the state-of-the-art facility in 2005 when the track was a high-banked 4/10-mile oval. Recently the track has been reconfigured to a "big" ¼-mile, and that will certainly challenge each and every driver.

Leading the way will be reigning series champion Donny Schatz, who won the Outlaws last visit to Houston Raceway Park in 2005. He also was victorious on March 3 in the last World of Outlaws event this season. The native of Fargo, North Dakota is the current championship point leader, on the strength of six Top-Five finishes in the first seven events of the year. The 1997 Kevin Gobrecht Rookie of the Year is the only repeat winner in the first month of the season. He won on opening night, February 9 during the Florida DIRTcar Nationals, in addition to his win on March 3. He is currently second in laps led on the season, and also has a dash win and pole position to his credit.

Always strong at Houston Raceway Park is 20-time Champion Steve Kinser. He leads all drivers with five wins at the track, dating back to series inaugural two visits in 2000. The native of Bloomington, Indiana scored his first win of the 2007 campaign and the 534th of his career on March 2, and backed that up with his third Top-10 finish of the season the following night. Kinser has led 172 laps in his career at Houston Raceway Park, dating back to the 2000 season, the most of any driver that will be in attendance for the event.

Joey Saldana enters the event on Friday March 16 with plenty of momentum. The 1996 Kevin Gobrecht Rookie of the Year is currently second in championship points, only 24 markers out of the lead. He has six Top-10 finishes in the first seven races of the season, with four of those being in the Top-Five including runner-up finishes in the last two series events. The native of Brownsburg, Indiana is in his second season driving for Kasey Kahne Racing owned by NASCAR star Kasey Kahne.

Terry McCarl returns to Houston Raceway Park third in the standings, on the strength of five Top-10 finishes, with three of those being in the Top-Five. He began the season on a very strong note at the Florida DIRTcar Nationals, and carried that momentum to the West Coast, where he scored a runner-up finish in California on February 24. The always optimistic driver set fast time the last time the Outlaws visited Houston in 2005.

Brooke Tatnell, a native of San Souci, New South Wales, Australia has been one of the most consistent drivers over the course of the first month of the season. He has racked up six Top-10 finishes in the first seven events, including a solid third-place performance on March 3. He is in his first season driving for Larry Woodward Racing, and is currently fourth in points, just three markers out of third and only 71 out of the lead.

Daryn Pittman, who won the final night of the Florida DIRTcar Nationals to open the season, is currently fifth in points heading to Houston. The native of Owasso, Oklahoma has four Top-10 finishes in the first month of the season.

Tim Kaeding, who won at the end of February in his home state of California, will be returning to Houston Raceway Park this weekend. Kaeding, a third generation sprint car star, is behind the wheel of the No.11K for the second straight year for Steve Kinser Racing. The always enthusiastic driver won last weekend in his home state, before heading to Houston.

Paul McMahan, driving for two-time NASCAR Champion Tony Stewart's team has been gaining momentum the last couple weeks. He recently won his first dash of the season to earn his first pole position, and is currently in the Top-10 in points.

Other top contenders among the record number of cars following the series this season include: Becca Anderson of Delaware, the only full-time female driver with the World of Outlaws, second-year driver Jeremy Campbell of Michigan, veteran Brian Carlson of Indiana, 1995 Rookie of the Year Randy Hannagan of California, crowd favorite Jac Haudenschild of Ohio, second-year driver Justin Henderson of South Dakota, second generation driver Dion Hindi of New Mexico, reigning Rookie of the Year Chad Kemenah of Ohio, Jason Martin of Kansas, California native Jason Meyers, 1999 Rookie of the Year Tim Shaffer, and 2003 Rookie of the Year Jason Sides.

A number of rookies will be in action including: Tony Bruce Jr. of Kansas, Zach Chappell of Oklahoma, Sam Hafertepe Jr. the only series driver hailing from Texas, Chad Hillier of Washington, Kerry Madsen of Australia, and James Mosher of New Mexico.

The Texas Shootout brought to the fans by Joe Meyers Ford and O'Reilly Auto Parts will be the series only visit of the season to the Lone Star State.

Of the drivers that will be in action on Friday March 16 they have combined for over 830 career victories with the World of Outlaws and 22 series titles.

Adult advanced tickets for the event on Friday March 16 will be $30, with adult tickets $32 the day of the race. Tickets for children ages 6-12 will be just $15, and children 5-under will be admitted free of charge. There is a $5.00 discount for Service Men & Women (with Military ID). In addition, there is a $5.00 discount on adult tickets when you bring two Jolt Energy Gum packets. Pit pass combos will also be available which includes a grandstand ticket and pit pass for $35 (must be purchased in advanced).

For ticket information contact the Houston Raceway Park Ticket office at: 281-383-7223 or visit: www.houstonraceway.com or SLS Promotions at: 815-344-2023 or www.slspromotions.com.

-credit: woo

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series World of Outlaws
Drivers Tony Stewart , Tim Shaffer , Kasey Kahne , Donny Schatz , Steve Kinser , Brian Carlson , Brooke Tatnell , Daryn Pittman , Jason Sides , Joey Saldana , Kerry Madsen , Paul McMahan , Randy Hannagan , Becca Anderson , Jac Haudenschild , Chad Kemenah , Tim Kaeding , Sam Hafertepe Jr. , Tony Bruce Jr.