Hagerstown Speedway Race Report

Stevie Smith Dominates Hagerstown Feature By Richard Day HAGERSTOWN, MD (July 31) - Stevie Smith led the Pennzoil World of Outlaws Series with 13 "A" Feature victories and finished fourth in the point...

Stevie Smith Dominates Hagerstown Feature By Richard Day HAGERSTOWN, MD (July 31) - Stevie Smith led the Pennzoil World of Outlaws Series with 13 "A" Feature victories and finished fourth in the point standings last season. He tightened his hold on fourth place Saturday by leading all 30 laps in the "A" Feature at Hagerstown Speedway. "This is only the second time we've won this year, but we can't worry about that," Stevie said. "We'd like to think this is what we need to get us going for the big races. We'll just keep working and doing the best we can." Smith was definitely the best at Hagerstown Speedway Saturday, taking the lead from Channellock Dash winner Donny Schatz early in the opening lap and holding off series points leader Mark Kinser for the 49th "A" Feature victory of his career. Kinser opened the Pennzoil World of Outlaws Series' 48th event of the season by slicing .297 seconds off the single-lap record he set at Hagerstown May 30th. He received his 23rd Vivarin Fast-Time Award of the season for pacing the 24-car qualifying session with a 14.945- second, 120.442-m.p.h., lap around the semi-banked, 1/2-mile oval. Schatz, the 10th-fastest qualifier, won the Third NAPA Auto Parts Heat Race and beat Smith across the finish line in the Channellock Dash for the right to start the 30-lap "A" Feature on the pole. Smith and Schatz raced wheel-to-wheel down the front straightaway as the green flag fell in the main event. Smith drove his #19 Ingersoll-Rand Black Bandit ahead of Schatz in the second corner to take the lead. Kinser, who started outside the second row, passed Sammy Swindell during the opening lap and took the runner-up spot from Schatz with an inside move into turn two the next time around. Smith was less than a car-length ahead of Kinser when they entered lapped traffic during the fourth lap. Stevie increased his advantage to 12 car-lengths within the next six laps, however. Swindell, winner of four Pennzoil World of Outlaws "A" Features at Hagerstown, steered his #1 Channellock Stealth to the deepest point in the second corner to pass Schatz for third place early in lap eight. Sammy tried to pass Kinser in the same spot during the 14th lap, but was unable to surge ahead. Jeff Shepard and Tyler Walker were battling for 10th place midway through the race when they collided and flipped down the back stretch. Neither driver was injured, but their cars were severely damaged which kept them in the pit area for the remainder of the race. Greg Hodnett and Danny Lasoski relegated Schatz to seventh place within three laps after the green flag replaced the red. Smith was a straightaway ahead of Kinser when he caught a pack of backmarkers with 9 1/2 laps remaining. Mark narrowed the gap to eight car-lengths within six laps and was only two car-lengths behind in turn three late in the final lap. Smith took the checkered flag with six car-lengths to spare. "I figured Mark would be coming," Smith said. "He's been so fast lately, and he's been winning everything. Actually, traffic probably won the race for us. The Ingersoll-Rand car was so maneuverable, I could run the top or the bottom, and we were still fast. It's nice to win one here close to home." Swindell finished in third place, ahead of Johnny Herrera, Hodnett, Lasoski, Schatz, Lance Blevins, Tim Shaffer and 16th-starting Andy Hillenburg. The engine in the #83 Beef Packers Eagle exploded during the Second NAPA Auto Parts Heat Race. With all eight cars in the race qualifying for the main event, Lasoski - the fifth-fastest qualifier - still managed to start the Channellock Dash after his crew quickly replaced his power plant. Lasoski started outside the fourth row and finished in sixth place in the "A" Feature. The Pennzoil World of Outlaws Series will run a $42,100 event at Orange County Speedway in Middletown, NY, Monday, then sanction the "Night Before The Big One" race at Eldora Speedway Friday. WoO 1999 Pennzoil World of Outlaws Series Hagerstown Speedway, Hagerstown, MD Saturday, July 31, Feature Program #48 Vivarin qualifications: 1. Mark Kinser, Kinser 5M, 14.945 (new single-lap record); 2. Sammy Swindell, Swindell 1, 15.269; 3. Jeff Shepard, Zematis 1Z, 15.396; 4. Greg Hodnett, Apple Motorsports 12, 15.530; 5. Danny Lasoski, Roth 83, 15.533; 6. Tim Shaffer, Helm 11H, 15.589; 7. Johnny Herrera, DOCC Motorsports 1BK, 15.625; 8. Stevie Smith, Smith 19, 15.660; 9. Steve Kinser, Kinser 11, 15.671; 10. Donny Schatz, Schatz 15, 15.676; 11. Lance Blevins, Blevins 21, 15.792; 12. Daryn Pittman, Sonner 47, 15.794; 13. Garry Brazier, Dyer 461, 15.814; 14. Lance DeWease, Harz 88H, 15.836; 15. Dale Blaney, Holbrook 8H, 15.839; 16. Andy Hillenburg, Hillenburg 2, 15.870; 17. Brooke Tatnell, Tatnell 7K, 15.879; 18. Tyler Walker, Walker 35, 15.888; 19. Jeff Swindell, Two Winners 104+, 15.922; 20. Ed Lynch, Jr., Lynch 2L, 15.926; 21. Christine Karns, Karns 65.5, 17.010; 22. Niki Young, Young 17N, 17.136; 23. Jeff Miller, Miller 03, 17.907; 24. Keith McManus, McManus 29M, 18.754. First NAPA Auto Parts Heat Race (eight laps): 1. Johnny Herrera, 2. Mark Kinser, 3. Daryn Pittman, 4. Tim Shaffer, 5. Andy Hillenburg, 6. Garry Brazier, 7. Jeff Swindell, 8. Niki Young. (first eight qualified for the "A" Feature) Second NAPA Auto Parts Heat Race (eight laps): 1. Stevie Smith, 2. Sammy Swindell, 3. Lance DeWease, 4. Lance Blevins, 5. Ed Lynch, Jr., 6. Brooke Tatnell, 7. Jeff Miller, 8. Danny Lasoski. (first eight qualified for the "A" Feature) Third NAPA Auto Parts Heat Race (eight laps): 1. Donny Schatz, 2. Steve Kinser, 3. Greg Hodnett, 4. Jeff Shepard, 5. Tyler Walker, 6. Dale Blaney, 7. Christine Karns, 8. Keith McManus. (first eight qualified for the "A" Feature) Channellock Dash (five laps): 1. Donny Schatz, 2. Stevie Smith, 3. Sammy Swindell, 4. Mark Kinser, 5. Johnny Herrera, 6. Greg Hodnett, 7. Jeff Shepard, 8. Danny Lasoski. (finish determined the first eight starting positions in the "A" Feature) A Feature (30 laps): 1. Stevie Smith ($8,000); 2. Mark Kinser ($4,000); 3. Sammy Swindell ($3,000); 4. Johnny Herrera ($2,500); 5. Greg Hodnett ($2,300); 6. Danny Lasoski ($2,200); 7. Donny Schatz ($2,100); 8. Lance Blevins ($2,000); 9. Tim Shaffer ($1,800); 10. Andy Hillenburg ($1,700); 11. Steve Kinser ($1,400); 12. Lance DeWease ($1,200); 13. Dale Blaney ($1,100); 14. Ed Lynch, Jr. ($1,050); 15. Daryn Pittman ($1,000); 16. Brooke Tatnell ($900); 17. Jeff Swindell ($700); 18. Garry Brazier ($550); 19. Niki Young ($550); 20. Christine Karns ($550); 21. Jeff Shepard ($550); 22. Tyler Walker ($550); 23. Jeff Miller ($550); 24. Keith McManus ($550). Lap leader: Stevie Smith 1-30 Vivarin Fast-Time Award winner: Mark Kinser

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series World of Outlaws
Drivers Andy Hillenburg , Tim Shaffer , Mark Kinser , Danny Lasoski , Donny Schatz , Steve Kinser , Sammy Swindell , Jeff Miller , Tyler Walker , Brooke Tatnell , Daryn Pittman , Johnny Herrera , Jeff Swindell